Customer Reviews for

How to Seduce a Scoundrel

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Is love strong enough to survive the truth that is setting you free?

Lady Julianne Gatewick's fourth and hopefully her last come-out season was to be magical and glorious not vexing and frustrating. Julianne has since childhood been in love with Marc Darcett, Earl of Hawkfield and is determined to show him her heart and expose the feeli...
Lady Julianne Gatewick's fourth and hopefully her last come-out season was to be magical and glorious not vexing and frustrating. Julianne has since childhood been in love with Marc Darcett, Earl of Hawkfield and is determined to show him her heart and expose the feelings she held since childhood toward him. Hawk still sees her as the younger sister to his best friend, but Julianne is a grown woman and ready to fly away from the nest and hopefully into his arms.

When Julianne's brother must leave her in the guardianship of Hawk the idea is appealing to her and devastating to him. Julianne sees this as the opportunity to win his heart over and Hawk is crushed that he has to give up his Rakish behavior until this duty is concluded. Good behavior does not become Hawk but no real man turns down the wishes of their best friend regardless of the cost to their libido.

Julianne is a handful to keep track of, and out of trouble especially when Hawk's aunt is encouraging her to express her feelings in the most inappropriate of ways and help get his attention. Julianne is listening to Hawk's aunt and decides rules be damned when Hawk cannot open his eyes and see what she has to offer. Since her heart can only take one more rejection, she is going full force to win him or walk away with one of the other cubs sitting in her parlor. Julianne may not be the worldly woman others that draw Hawk's attention are but she can learn The Secrets of Seduction and give him an education.

When the scars of Hawk's past comes knocking on the door will he let him in or continue to believe that he is not worthy of anyone's love? Julianne is teaching him to walk away from what has hurt him and embrace the future she is offering even after he reveals all the dark rooms he has lurked in.

Lovely is an understated word for this book but it is difficult to describe how much love has been written into this story. Julianne is sweet but not naïve and her affection for Hawk does not overtake her it empowers her to free him from the demons controlling his emotions. Both Hawk and Julianne deal with the past, move on to the future and win over each other day-by-day.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad, but not great...

The idea behind How to Seduce a Scoundrel was intriguing and I was looking forward to my first Vicky Dreiling read, but when it came to the actual story I found it sorely lacking.

The first three hundred plus pages dragged and I had to fight not to put it down and mo...
The idea behind How to Seduce a Scoundrel was intriguing and I was looking forward to my first Vicky Dreiling read, but when it came to the actual story I found it sorely lacking.

The first three hundred plus pages dragged and I had to fight not to put it down and move on to another book. I liked the main character of Marc, the Earl of Hawkfield, a.k.a. Hawk. I found him to be a dashing rogue with a mysterious past and dark torment that intrigued me. There were hints throughout the novel of a past scandal that had devastating consequences but the suspense of it was too drawn out, it ultimately lost its appeal and was brought to the point of, 'Can we just get to it already?'
His absolute obliviousness over Julianne's feelings towards him was believable and somewhat laughable in a typical male kind of way; and then when he finally saw her as a woman instead of the girl he had a teasing relationship with I could feel the tension in him, and his fight between his sense of duty and his burgeoning feelings for her. Though he did come off sometimes as domineering, it was his jealousy that drove him to this. Hawk's character had multiple dimensions that I felt were unexplored and neglected by the author, I would of loved for Dreiling to have dived more into him than the subplot of the novel.

Lady Julianne Gatewick on the other hand I just could not get into. I couldn't get over this view I had of her as a teenage with a bad crush on her older brother's best friend. I thought that she might mature into more of a woman throughout the story and though she did somewhat grow in her reactions to the world around her and her feelings I never came to see her as a grown woman with substance, her character fell flat.
I also found the idea and sub plot of Julianne writing a pamphlet on seduction just silly. How is a naïve girl with no experience and who believes everything to be scandalous writing a pamphlet on seducing a rake to the alter? Her back and forth mentality drove me crazy and had the biggest influence in dragging the plot down.

It was a very drawn out process of Hawk coming to terms with his feelings and past guilt and Julianne deciding on whether she still had feelings for Hawk or not. When the sexual tension between these two finally reached its peak I was left feeling frustrated and bereft.
The last fifty pages was by far the most interesting, where key points in the plot finally clicked into place and the ending was happy and heartwarming. The whole story was well detailed with elaborate world building and you could tell that the author really did her research before compiling the novel, which I appreciate.

I did like the fact that I was able to dive into this novel without any confusion despite the fact that this is a second in a series. I was also intrigued by Marc's brother Tristan, whose story is the first novel, How to Marry a Duke. But because of my disappointment with this installment I won't be rushing to read that one or the next in the series.

All in all, this wasn't a bad novel but it wasn't great either. I think it had potential but missed its mark. If you are a fan of historical romances and have an abundance of patience then I would recommend this to you. If not, then you might want to pass it over until a rainy day.

posted by RBtWBC on July 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is love strong enough to survive the truth that is setting you free?

    Lady Julianne Gatewick's fourth and hopefully her last come-out season was to be magical and glorious not vexing and frustrating. Julianne has since childhood been in love with Marc Darcett, Earl of Hawkfield and is determined to show him her heart and expose the feelings she held since childhood toward him. Hawk still sees her as the younger sister to his best friend, but Julianne is a grown woman and ready to fly away from the nest and hopefully into his arms.

    When Julianne's brother must leave her in the guardianship of Hawk the idea is appealing to her and devastating to him. Julianne sees this as the opportunity to win his heart over and Hawk is crushed that he has to give up his Rakish behavior until this duty is concluded. Good behavior does not become Hawk but no real man turns down the wishes of their best friend regardless of the cost to their libido.

    Julianne is a handful to keep track of, and out of trouble especially when Hawk's aunt is encouraging her to express her feelings in the most inappropriate of ways and help get his attention. Julianne is listening to Hawk's aunt and decides rules be damned when Hawk cannot open his eyes and see what she has to offer. Since her heart can only take one more rejection, she is going full force to win him or walk away with one of the other cubs sitting in her parlor. Julianne may not be the worldly woman others that draw Hawk's attention are but she can learn The Secrets of Seduction and give him an education.

    When the scars of Hawk's past comes knocking on the door will he let him in or continue to believe that he is not worthy of anyone's love? Julianne is teaching him to walk away from what has hurt him and embrace the future she is offering even after he reveals all the dark rooms he has lurked in.

    Lovely is an understated word for this book but it is difficult to describe how much love has been written into this story. Julianne is sweet but not naïve and her affection for Hawk does not overtake her it empowers her to free him from the demons controlling his emotions. Both Hawk and Julianne deal with the past, move on to the future and win over each other day-by-day.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Skip this one!

    I didn't want to put down the first book - easy 5 stars! But sadly, like so many that books where the h & h already know each other, it's fairly predictable and just drags on and on! Pages and pages between dialog and often repeats the same thing.

    At page 123 and i give up! It has a great plot and parts are entertaining but it's not what i expected after reading the first book.

    I'm a huge Cheryl Holt, Anne Gracie, Gallen Folley and julia Quinn Fan. I had high hopes of adding another author to my favotites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad, but not great...

    The idea behind How to Seduce a Scoundrel was intriguing and I was looking forward to my first Vicky Dreiling read, but when it came to the actual story I found it sorely lacking.

    The first three hundred plus pages dragged and I had to fight not to put it down and move on to another book. I liked the main character of Marc, the Earl of Hawkfield, a.k.a. Hawk. I found him to be a dashing rogue with a mysterious past and dark torment that intrigued me. There were hints throughout the novel of a past scandal that had devastating consequences but the suspense of it was too drawn out, it ultimately lost its appeal and was brought to the point of, 'Can we just get to it already?'
    His absolute obliviousness over Julianne's feelings towards him was believable and somewhat laughable in a typical male kind of way; and then when he finally saw her as a woman instead of the girl he had a teasing relationship with I could feel the tension in him, and his fight between his sense of duty and his burgeoning feelings for her. Though he did come off sometimes as domineering, it was his jealousy that drove him to this. Hawk's character had multiple dimensions that I felt were unexplored and neglected by the author, I would of loved for Dreiling to have dived more into him than the subplot of the novel.

    Lady Julianne Gatewick on the other hand I just could not get into. I couldn't get over this view I had of her as a teenage with a bad crush on her older brother's best friend. I thought that she might mature into more of a woman throughout the story and though she did somewhat grow in her reactions to the world around her and her feelings I never came to see her as a grown woman with substance, her character fell flat.
    I also found the idea and sub plot of Julianne writing a pamphlet on seduction just silly. How is a naïve girl with no experience and who believes everything to be scandalous writing a pamphlet on seducing a rake to the alter? Her back and forth mentality drove me crazy and had the biggest influence in dragging the plot down.

    It was a very drawn out process of Hawk coming to terms with his feelings and past guilt and Julianne deciding on whether she still had feelings for Hawk or not. When the sexual tension between these two finally reached its peak I was left feeling frustrated and bereft.
    The last fifty pages was by far the most interesting, where key points in the plot finally clicked into place and the ending was happy and heartwarming. The whole story was well detailed with elaborate world building and you could tell that the author really did her research before compiling the novel, which I appreciate.

    I did like the fact that I was able to dive into this novel without any confusion despite the fact that this is a second in a series. I was also intrigued by Marc's brother Tristan, whose story is the first novel, How to Marry a Duke. But because of my disappointment with this installment I won't be rushing to read that one or the next in the series.

    All in all, this wasn't a bad novel but it wasn't great either. I think it had potential but missed its mark. If you are a fan of historical romances and have an abundance of patience then I would recommend this to you. If not, then you might want to pass it over until a rainy day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Wrong area

    I wanted how to books, instead these came up. I wish there was a way to block results.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Awesome

    A great book fantastic love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good sequel

    Hawk meets his soul mate in Lady Juliane. His best friend's little sister, Julianne, has always been Hawk's accomplice in mischief. She has grown into a desireable woman and a forbidden challenge for Hawk. He can only resist her for so long. These characters have good chemistry. Dreiling's story illustrates how reformed rakes eventally make the best husbands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    a so so book

    Wasnt impressed with the authors writing style, was expecting it to be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    I loved this book! Truly it had me giggling in spots and fuming in others. I went from one emotion to the next with the characters.

    The only drawback I had at all was that if you didn't read How to Marry a Duke first, you might get lost and confused in one introduction (Sally) and the interactions there momentarily. It isn't crucial to read them in order but it will make it that much easier to understand what these characters are talking about from "last year" in some spots.

    ***** from Katie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    What You Would Expect

    I am normally a fan of old-fashioned romances. I tend to enjoy a good Regency romance where the lovers struggle, and the end, everything works out the way you want it to. This book definitely falls into this predictable genre, and was definitely a light, fun read.

    The author created two very likeable characters. Hawk steals the show even though he is a rake. I love the fact that we get to see him grow and mature as he comes face to face with his desire for Julianne. I always love the passion that a man like Hawk brings to a story like this. I loved the genuine chemistry and relationship that he and Julianne enjoyed. I always love to see a couple who can play together like they do. I personally think that if a relationship does not have a degree of fun to it that you just may as well give it up. I often think of romances way back in the day were austere and emotionless. I am so grateful for authors like this one who can change that perception.

    Thankfully the adult words and mild profanity were not too horrible. I felt like I could basically stomach that since it was not too rampant. Do realize that there may be some offensive language but not nearly as much as many romances I have read this year.

    There are really only two things that keep this from being a 4-star rated book, in my opinion. I think that the blossoming romance between Hawk and Julianne is too rushed. But then again, I did not read the first book in the series. The main thing that rubbed me the wrong way was the intimate scenes between the two. Granted, my moral fiber never enjoys the fact that two characters have sex before marrisge. I was glad the intimate scenes were not any more detailed than they were, but I could have done with less detail. In the bedroom, less is always more. (I like the way that sounded!)

    In conclusion, I can definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good romance. I was glad to see some moral fortitude from the characters--Hawk especially.

    I won a copy of this book and was not financially compensated for my review. All opinions are 100% mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poetry and Seduction...

    Vicky Dreiling has done it again! I can't even begin to put into words how I feel about this book. Only that I can say: since downloading this galley, I've been grinning like a total idiot and my husband thinks I might be bound for Bedlam due to my sudden outbursts of laughter. Also, I wanted to start writing a review halfway through the book. I loved it THAT much! There's so much I want to say about this book but I don't want to give any spoilers.


    So I will sum it up with this limerick inspired by Hawk's unfinished one at a reading salon (I woke up this morning with it floating in my head and had to get it written down):


    There once was an Earl of Hawkfield
    Who used humor and wit as a shield
    He tried to keep up his guard
    But fell in love with his ward
    And in the end, they did yield.

    Top Reason to Read This Book: Rule Number ONE aka Only Rule of Friendship. Never fall in love with your best friend's sister. Well ain't that a kick in the pants, er breeches?

    This book was an emotional roller coaster ride that I never wanted to get off of (I may need to seek professional help). I laughed, I loved, I sighed, my heart ached, I gasped, I yelled, I fangirl squealed, and I felt like I was let into a fun little secret. Let me explain this last part. I follow Ms. Dreiling on Twitter , and I've stalked er, thoroughly read her author website so any references in the book I remember hearing about made me grin a little more. You must listen to the playlist for this book. The first song ("Everybody Loves a Clown" by Gary Lewis and the Playboys) fits so well with Hawk's personality. I could go on and on about this book because once again, Ms. Dreiling has me wanting to know more about her secondary characters, but I won't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    wonderful follow up

    Julianne is sweet but a handful and when she is scorned, she gets revenge! After being publicly disrespected by Marc, she starts an anonymous scandal sheet that reveals a lot of secrets. Marc has many secrets of his own and you wonder if he can ever see far enough to realize that Julianne is in love with him. I just thought this was a wonderful historical romance with wonderful contemporary touches. This book does contain some of the same characters as the first in the series, but I think it can stand on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    How to

    Boring. Not smart at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    SCOUNDRELS AND INNOCENCE! HOW TO SEDUCE A SCOUNDREL BY VICKY DREILING...

    RATING: 4.5)HOW TO SEDUCE A SCOUNDREL by Vicky Dreiling is an exciting historical romance set in 1817 Richmond,London.It is written with wit,depth and details.The plot is easy to follow.The characters are enchanting,witty,engaging and will capture your heart while they capture each others hearts also. It has wit,romance,sweet sensuality,love,rogues,scoundrels,rakes,guilt,family,secrets,friends,shenanigans,forbidden love,passion and the ability to follow your heart.Lady Julianne Gatewick is an innocent,beautiful,has longed for her brother's best friend for years,left in London for her fourth season with Hawk as her guardian and with his dear aunt Hester.The Earl of Hawkfield (Hawk),is handsome,sexy,a rogue,Julianne's brother's best friend and the one she is determined to win his heart. What follows is witty banter between the Hawk and Julianna.While Hawk knows Julianna is forbidden,she is up to mischief and he can not resist her.She has grown up and become a woman.Together they will learn that all is fair in love and war,or is it..Hawk will finally learn to forgive himself for past mistakes,learn to forgive his father for along sins and learn he is a good man and worthy of Julianna's love,heart and trust. Julianna will learn that there is more to love than just a physical attraction.This is this author's second book and a keeper.A must read.It will keep you turning the pages from beginning to end. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Forever,an imprint of Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    I think that i have found a new favorite author!

    I really enjoyed this book. I finished it within a day. Hawk was was really romantic character. Even though i thought that he beat himself up over his big secret for too long. I was really pulling for them in the end. I especially loved all the secondary characters that are sure to get their own stories. I cant wait til her next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Seduction is the name of the game!

    Lady Julianne Gatewick, Julie-girl as the Earl of Hawkfield called her, had a thing for Rogues. Scoundrels, Rakes and Rogues were the type of men she was attracted to. And as this was her fourth season, it was high time that she found herself a husband. Julianne had her eyes on Hawk, the Earl of Hawkfield. She had waited for him for years, loving him secretly as she watched him when he visited her older brother, Tristan. Yet on the fateful night of a ball, Hawk discarded her affections and announced to the world she was "practically a sister" to him!

    In Julianne's frustration with men and how they controlled how women are chosen for brides, she, her aunt Hester, and her two best friends, Amy and Georgette, decided to pen a pamphlet, The Secrets of Seduction.

    As the pamphlet is written and their theories tested, Hawk struggles with his feelings. Men lined up to court Julianne who flirts like a pro, teasing not the courters, but Hawk. Yet he is oblivious to the reasons for her actions.

    This is such a cute story, a cat and mouse tale of a woman intent on getting her man. Julianne has grown since we met her in How to Marry a Duke and is ready to seduce her scoundrel. Hawk is definitely a scoundrel in need of taming, but can Julianne tame him with her seductions?

    Passion doesn't play by the rules and neither should you. Put down what you are reading NOW and grab this book. You will be thrilled that you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun How To . Regency romance

    In 1817 a rake of the first order the Earl of Hawkfield is shocked when his best friend the Duke of Shelbourne Tristan Gatewick asks a favor of him. Marc Darcett would do almost anything for Tristan, but he feels put out when requested to serve as guardian to the Duke's sister for the season. Tristan explains that his mother will be with him while caring for his bed-ridden pregnant wife Tessa (see How to Marry a Duke) and the females in Marc's family are with his Grandmamma who suffers from heart palpitations.

    Lady Julianne Gatewick is attracted to Hawk, but assumes her regard is unrequited until he dances a waltz with her during the opening ball of the season. However, he busted her bubble when he simply walked away from her; making her the target of the whisperers. Julianne abetted by bodacious Lady Hester writes the outrageous A Lady's Guide to Enticing Unrepentant Rakes. She heeds her own advice to trap Hawk who arrogantly tells the rookies to stay away from her. As her temporary guardian he escorts her around town and sets the rules for her season's behavior, but she laughs at him except when he kisses her. SAs hawk falls in love but one dark secret keeps him from handing in his guardian hat to replace it with adoring husband hat.

    This is a fun How To . Regency romance as a scoundrel's code of conduct is broken once he dances a waltz with his friend's sister. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Shelbourne asks Hawk for a favor and never looks back. A subplot involving a young lad adds poignancy to an entertaining historical.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3