Customer Reviews for

How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Inspiring & Informative, Perfect Holiday Gift!

Reading through the introduction and the "Meet the Grandmothers" section, I was inspired by the author's willingness to admit that we (herself included) take a lot for granted these days and to "meet" real women who remember what it means to do-it-yourself before the DI...
Reading through the introduction and the "Meet the Grandmothers" section, I was inspired by the author's willingness to admit that we (herself included) take a lot for granted these days and to "meet" real women who remember what it means to do-it-yourself before the DIY craze. And, surprise! - it's actually fun and rewarding! Especially liked the relaxed and irreverent tone. If I'm going to make gravy myself, I want to be reminded to sip wine between steps. This is a perfect gift for your girlfriends and moms,
already bought a bunch as stocking stuffers.

posted by dm120472 on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

How To Sew A Button - Review

The writer thinks she's funny but she's not. Written in a very stupid way. Did not like this book at all. Would return it for a refund if I could.

posted by 2993050 on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    Fun, Inspiring & Informative, Perfect Holiday Gift!

    Reading through the introduction and the "Meet the Grandmothers" section, I was inspired by the author's willingness to admit that we (herself included) take a lot for granted these days and to "meet" real women who remember what it means to do-it-yourself before the DIY craze. And, surprise! - it's actually fun and rewarding! Especially liked the relaxed and irreverent tone. If I'm going to make gravy myself, I want to be reminded to sip wine between steps. This is a perfect gift for your girlfriends and moms,
    already bought a bunch as stocking stuffers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Charming, Funny, and Useful

    I got this book as a gift from my aunt for Christmas. I admit, I didn't even plan to read it. But, yesterday I was making dinner, and I wanted to add some gravy to my mashed potatoes. I flipped to the cooking chapter, read the gravy recipe, and kept reading! Not only did I make good gravy (mine is usually too lumpy) but I found myself chuckling at many of the tips, and charmed by the grandmother quotes. This book makes a great gift for anyone setting up their own house, or graduating and moving out on their own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    How To Sew A Button - Review

    The writer thinks she's funny but she's not. Written in a very stupid way. Did not like this book at all. Would return it for a refund if I could.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    SIMPLER TIMES

    I find that there are so many young ladies, and young men out there that don't know the basic fundamentals of taking care of yourself; or life is going so fast that why be bothered. I'm giving my daughter and her friend's this book as a high school graduation gift. Hopefully, this book of humor and guidance will inspire them to be more frugal. One can only hope.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    Great Book With A Wealth Of Information

    This is one of those books that you keep for yourself and give as a gift to everyone of your children. It is a treasure trove of information. I'd also recommend another book getting a lot of buzz, it's called When God Stopped Keeping Score. I found it here on BN. It is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How to Do So Much More Than Sew a Button

    After accidentally using Swiss chard instead of rhubarb in her pie, senior staff writer for SELF magazine Erin Bried became aware of some shortages in her knowledge. She met with ten grandmothers from around the country to hear their stories and seek their wisdom. This book teaches techniques for gardening, cooking, and cleaning with attention to cost and work efficiency, also known as the thrift and understanding of what really matters in life grandmothers tend to possess in large amounts. This alone would not be that original-many books offer suggestions for how to can fruits and use vinegar to clean the kitchen sink-but How to Sew a Button also has sections devoted to "Thriving," "Loving," and "Joining," which offer advice on "How to Deal with a Problem in Your Neighborhood" and "How to Be a Strong Partner." These pearls of wisdom come best from grandmothers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    this is for those who dont know

    i got this book because i want my daughter to learn what she needs to know, and my son, too. he's not exempt from taking care of himself.
    thankfully my mom taught me a lot of this stuff. a lack of desire or interest have my teens without the abilities to be able to take care of themselves and these kind of home arts. it is art. and needs to be known.
    by everybody. next: the husband.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Easy reading

    I enjoyed this book...had some very useful tips in there. It is one of those books that you keep & refer to it when you need something. It would make a great gift for young people starting out or really anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Xrl

    Jm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Damien

    Runs in and attatches the weapon to the tank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Love it!

    I love this book. Full great helpful tips, recipes, etc. It's simply fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    mediocre at best.

    no information I did not already know and remember. Rather boring reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out.

    This book had some helpful advice regarding cleaning and cooking. However, some of the information really doesn't apply to apartment dwellers. Therefore, some info was not applicable to me. The writing was witty and entertaining. I mean, you're reading a book written by one of Self Magazine's chief editors, not a literature professor! It really was a helpful book and I would definitely recommend it to the 20 somethings and 30 somethings homeowners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2