Customer Reviews for

How to Speak Dog: Mastering the Art of Dog-Human Communication

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Conversations with Canines

Despite the cover illustration, dogs do not play chess. But they talk: they talk with one another, they talk to their human friends and acquaintances, and they even talk with cats! Canadian academic psychologist Stanley Coren explains how much human language dogs can...
Despite the cover illustration, dogs do not play chess. But they talk: they talk with one another, they talk to their human friends and acquaintances, and they even talk with cats! Canadian academic psychologist Stanley Coren explains how much human language dogs can absorb, and describes how they use sounds, facial expressions, ears, tails, and body language to talk with each other.



¿Doggish¿ is a surprisingly complex language, so don¿t expect to become fluent by skimming the book. Coren makes things easier by including a Doggish phrasebook, but you¿ll need to study and practice¿as you would any foreign language¿before you can really understand what your dog is saying.

The book is well-written in a friendly but precise way. It¿s sprinkled with anecdotes that make it fun to read while demonstrating important points. Coren obviously understands how to use English at least as well as Doggish, easily avoiding the stilted academic style researchers can fall into.

Coren¿s understanding of his audience¿dog owners and lovers¿matches his understanding of dogs, and results is a wonderful read and a practical guide.

posted by The_Incompleat_Curmudgeon on February 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very scientific

Very tiny print and an enormous amount of techinical and scientific information. I'm sure I will learn a lot but this is not exactly what I was looking for.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Conversations with Canines

    Despite the cover illustration, dogs do not play chess. But they talk: they talk with one another, they talk to their human friends and acquaintances, and they even talk with cats! Canadian academic psychologist Stanley Coren explains how much human language dogs can absorb, and describes how they use sounds, facial expressions, ears, tails, and body language to talk with each other.<BR/> <BR/><BR/><BR/>¿Doggish¿ is a surprisingly complex language, so don¿t expect to become fluent by skimming the book. Coren makes things easier by including a Doggish phrasebook, but you¿ll need to study and practice¿as you would any foreign language¿before you can really understand what your dog is saying.<BR/><BR/>The book is well-written in a friendly but precise way. It¿s sprinkled with anecdotes that make it fun to read while demonstrating important points. Coren obviously understands how to use English at least as well as Doggish, easily avoiding the stilted academic style researchers can fall into.<BR/><BR/>Coren¿s understanding of his audience¿dog owners and lovers¿matches his understanding of dogs, and results is a wonderful read and a practical guide.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Wonderful Insights

    Great book on the evolution of human-canine relationships. I was looking for a reference guide of canine body language in order to understand the nuanaces of what my dog was telling me. This book not only gave me that information (along with illustrated cheat sheets at the end for easy reference), but explained the reasons why the signals had evolved to represent the meanings that they currently had. It's a great read, and a must for any dog-owner who wants to be able to communicate effectively with his/her pet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is perhaps the most helpful in learning to understand the language of dogs. The book comes with illustrations and descriptions of what to look for in a dogs body language. After reading this, i understand if a dog is dominant aggressive or fear aggressive. I can read dogs i have never met, and feel extremely confident because this book has helped me catch the small signs of what a dog is "saying". I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    I Can Understand My Dogs!!

    This book is awesome and has tons of useful information. If you are wanting to learn to train your dog or just to understand it, then get this book. It will help you learn the body language of dogs and how to understand when your dog is upset or bored. It has helped me a tremendous amount with training my dogs, even the older ones. I now have a better understanding and respect for Canines.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Outstanding!

    This book has taught me so much about dog communication. I run a small doggy daycare/boarding facility and it is now mandatory that all of our employees read this book. We have also referred some of our clients as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    Very Helpful!

    I recently adopted an American Pit Bull Terrier and this book has helped me understand more what she's saying with her body language and miscellaneous whines, barks, etc. It's been extraordinarily helpful!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    Backyard or front, these stories are wonderful!

    I felt as if my dog and I could actually start communicating, instead of guessing after reading this book, it is wonderful. Clear and concise answers to many of my questions, very well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    I know how to 'HEAR' dog now!

    I have no understanding over my dog's emotions before. With the help of this book, I believe I can communicate better with my dog and understand her needs. This book really helps me grasp the essence of dog language! I can 'Hear' and understand dog language now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    Amazing - the gap between dog and owner has finally been filled!

    This book really grasps the way dogs think and "speak" The chapter about cats and dogs is fascinating; it answers questions I never knew I had!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    I love this book!

    Whenever I have been frustrated with my dog, this book helps figure out what his problem is and solve it. This is a must have with a puppy in the family, it really made life alot easier and helped us understand each other better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    'Dog Lovers - READ IT!!!'

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read!!! If you love your baby (or babies if you have more than one) enough to want to truly communication with him/her/them, you just got to read this! This book is truly for dog lovers! ^-^

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    I highly recomend this book.

    This is a great book; I really enjoy the way the author gives his opinion without preaching a philosophy. He looks at situations from an analytical point of view and then discusses the different conclusions that one could make. I have also read The Intelligence of dogs by Stanley Coren and I thought that was a great book as well. He is a great author to look for if you love dogs. ¿Dogs Talking to Cats¿ is one of the more interesting chapters in this book it bounces around some interesting ideas about why cats and dogs don¿t get along (most of the time). By the way, I really didn't like the Monks of New Skete their ideas seemed very dated to me and not very helpful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    The Dog-Human Translation Guide!

    I love all of Stanley Coren's books, but this is my favorite one so far. It was fascinating and informative and covered many canine behavior and communication issues. If you ever needed a translation guide for your dog, this is it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Very scientific

    Very tiny print and an enormous amount of techinical and scientific information. I'm sure I will learn a lot but this is not exactly what I was looking for.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Nova scotia girl

    I WANT IT SO BAD!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Dogs

    Its an awsome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Good?

    I just av a question is this book good? Tell me thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Really helpful!!!

    Now i know everything about my dog and i can understand her so well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Elizibeth

    So cool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Cool

    Cool

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2