Customer Reviews for

How to Steal a Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!!

I can't lie - this book was really, really great! I grabbed it, not excepting a whole lot, but it turned out to be one of my favorite books! It's somewhat emotional because Georgina (the main character) faces many hardships that many face today. She is homeless, and her...
I can't lie - this book was really, really great! I grabbed it, not excepting a whole lot, but it turned out to be one of my favorite books! It's somewhat emotional because Georgina (the main character) faces many hardships that many face today. She is homeless, and her little brother, mother, and she have to live in their truck because they have no money, which leads to Georgina's father, who left years ago, along with all of their money. Georgina has to go to local restruants and stores just to wash her hair. It's sad to think that's how she - just a young girl - has to live her life in order to survive. Georgina has to watch over her little brother, Toby, a lot after school since her mom juggles two jobs. Eventually Georgina can't take it anymore. She doesn't want to live in a truck anymore. And she wants to help her mother and brother, so she crafts a plan to steal a rich woman's beloved dog....I don't want to spoil such a good book, so I'll stop there. How to Steal a Dog is a great, great, GREAT book! Go buy it!!! There a creative and clever twists and turns that will not leave you disappointed.

posted by xobookwormxo on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Read This Book.

Georgina did not like living in a car going from neighborhhod to neighborhood with her mom and brother. She decided she wanted to steal a dog and collect the reward money. She kept all of her thoughts in one of her note books. When she finally decided to steal the dog, ...
Georgina did not like living in a car going from neighborhhod to neighborhood with her mom and brother. She decided she wanted to steal a dog and collect the reward money. She kept all of her thoughts in one of her note books. When she finally decided to steal the dog, she found more problems. She got the dog and hid the dog, Willy, at an old abandoned house in the woods. When Georgina met the dog's owner, she started to feel bad for what she did. Would Georgina's guilt stop her from collecting the reward money? This is a good book, but it doesn't always fill in the blanks. There are some questions that don't get answered. I think this is book for anyone who wants to read about an amazing brave girl who tries to do whatever she can to help her family. The author, Barbara O'Connor, does a good job of taking a serious topic and making it into a realistic story that could happen to anyone anywhere.

posted by Anonymous on May 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Great book!!!

    I can't lie - this book was really, really great! I grabbed it, not excepting a whole lot, but it turned out to be one of my favorite books! It's somewhat emotional because Georgina (the main character) faces many hardships that many face today. She is homeless, and her little brother, mother, and she have to live in their truck because they have no money, which leads to Georgina's father, who left years ago, along with all of their money. Georgina has to go to local restruants and stores just to wash her hair. It's sad to think that's how she - just a young girl - has to live her life in order to survive. Georgina has to watch over her little brother, Toby, a lot after school since her mom juggles two jobs. Eventually Georgina can't take it anymore. She doesn't want to live in a truck anymore. And she wants to help her mother and brother, so she crafts a plan to steal a rich woman's beloved dog....I don't want to spoil such a good book, so I'll stop there. How to Steal a Dog is a great, great, GREAT book! Go buy it!!! There a creative and clever twists and turns that will not leave you disappointed.

    57 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    great read-aloud

    I am reading this book to my fourth grade class, and my students beg me to keep reading every day. The plot is entertaining, and I believe we all will take away two important truths: be thankful for the little things, and it's never too late to do the right thing.

    28 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Best Book ever

    I read this book in a day,it's what I call a 'page turner'. The girl in this book seems so real,everybody seems so real,the dogs that are described in the book make you almost feels as if your petting a real dog's smooth fur. You have gotta read this book!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Read This Book.

    Georgina did not like living in a car going from neighborhhod to neighborhood with her mom and brother. She decided she wanted to steal a dog and collect the reward money. She kept all of her thoughts in one of her note books. When she finally decided to steal the dog, she found more problems. She got the dog and hid the dog, Willy, at an old abandoned house in the woods. When Georgina met the dog's owner, she started to feel bad for what she did. Would Georgina's guilt stop her from collecting the reward money? This is a good book, but it doesn't always fill in the blanks. There are some questions that don't get answered. I think this is book for anyone who wants to read about an amazing brave girl who tries to do whatever she can to help her family. The author, Barbara O'Connor, does a good job of taking a serious topic and making it into a realistic story that could happen to anyone anywhere.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Peeps

    Should i buy it or not...............

    17 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    how to steal a dog

    i thought this was one of the best books i have read in my intire life! It is about a girl named Georgeiana and how she faces life in a car and without a dad.Then she has a fantastic idea.If she steals a dog that has been loved,they will put posters up for a lost dog.Then she can return the dog and get a $500 dollar reward.This book kept me hooked till the very end.I really hope you read it! love,summerstar

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    REALLY GOOD BOOK!!! Kids like it and so do adults, if you like mischevious characters, you got yourself a good book. So enjoy it!!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    How To Steal A Dog

    I am a 6th grade student in Glendale,AZ.I recomend this book to everyone who likes to read books about dogs.This is a book about a girl who steals a dog.Her name is Georgina and she lives in a car.Georgina was desparate for money and she moved to this house with a horrible background.Her old friend ditched her for a rich and snotty red-headed girl with a huge pool!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Liked it a lot!

    How to Steal a Dog was a good book. The suspense kept me wanting to keep reading.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Looks pathetic

    Does it really teach u how to steal a dog?

    6 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I

    I hate this book its really sad and made me cry. My sister read it and said i could not tolorate it and i said i could. But i have a soft heart for dogs because someone just stole my dog:(

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good book!

    This is definitely a really good book, such a page turner! It is a little bittersweet, but what good book isnt?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Hello

    I LOVED this book! It was one of my favorites

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    How to steal a dog

    OMG ...... this has been the best book I ever read. I would recommend this book to anyone. It is a good no awesome book. It will keep you wanting more!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    This book was really good, but to tell you the truth i didn't get a lot out of it

    This book was really good. But it was probably meant for like.... 2nd graders! I was in the 7th grade when I read this book. It was really good though, and I read it in about 4 days. It isn't that long to begin with. Well, It's about this girl named Georgina and her and her little brother. They both lived in the car, and to get some money, they decided to steal a dog, and hope that they would put up a reward so that her family could live in a house. Well, the dog she decided to steal had an owner. And that owner wasn't that rich, so they never did put up reward signs. You'll have to read the rest for yourself, and see what happens!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK A MILLOON TIMES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hello everybody i love this book and i have a copy of this too its a very good,funny,and kinda sad book and you should all read it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Nope

    Didnt like it... i found it boring

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Fantastico!

    Thid book is amazing it is about a girl named Georgina and her brother, Toby on an amazing adventure and quest to steal a dog (thus the title How to Steal a Dog) to get money because the owner of th dog will report their dog missing and put up signs with rewards so they can get money to buy a house (they are homeless and live in a car) along the way ae meets new friends. In thua book their are a lot if sad parts and would not reccomend to people who cry a lot. But i would highly reccomend to 5th graders who are not super sensitive

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Have to have book

    I love this book best book ever.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Great book

    I am reading it right now such a great and sad story totally worth the money

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9