Customer Reviews for

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Book is Like Compound-W for Worry Warts

    Dale Carnegie wrote some great books back in the 30's and 40's, and this book is one of them. Readers who liked Carnegie's bestselling How to Win Friends & Influence People won't be disappointed in this book. <BR/><BR/>The writing style is classic Carnegie. To put it simply, the guy just writes like he talks. This makes for a very friendly and easy to understand book, rather like a good friend giving you a piece of advice. <BR/><BR/>And a lot of advice he gives. The book is divided up into ten sections, each one tackling some aspect of worrying. I could give you a rundown of the topics, but you don't really need me to repeat the table on contents to decide if you want to read the book. Rather, let me just say that book covers just about every major "worry issue" that might be causing a troubled mind, such as your work, your finances, other people's criticisms- and them some. <BR/><BR/>While there are no earth-shattering, never-before-seen tips in the book, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend it to anyone who is looking to ease their mind a bit. That's because it does a GREAT job of conveying simple wisdom that really make you think good and hard about why you're worrying and if those things are really worth worrying about at all. <BR/><BR/>In short, its a bestseller because it makes a lot of sense and its advice can do a lot to re-frame your thinking about things. And if you can re-frame your thinking, well, you've about found the best "Compound-W" for worry warts.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Learn to relax

    I like to read reviews before I purchase a book so naturally I took into account all of the other reviews made on this book thus far. I was very impressed and decided 'what the heck!?' This book did not live up my expectations, it CRUSHED them by surpassing them TREMENDOUSLY!!! We all have our good days and bad days, we're human. We all notice patterns in our daily lives that make us feel better and try to remember them so we can stay in our state of 'euphoria' and 'productiveness' for long amounts of time. This book helps remind you of all those wonderful things you remember to help you live a better life, from relaxing the eyes to prevent fatigue to reading valuable quotes by Jesus that prove we were not, as humans, meant to worry about anything! This book is not recommended for those who have trouble worrying, it's recommended to EVERYONE in this world! Heart attacks, stomach ulcers, nervous break downs, high blood pressure, and non-hereditary diabetes are everywhere in this world...and they are caused by worry/stress/tension...all things Dale helps you EASILY solve and forget! Buy this cheap $8 life-changing book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    Must Reading to deal with stress and to LIVE life

    Dale Carnegie has given excellent real life examples which relate to the practical situations of stress experienced by each of us in life. Worry is something which can affect your health, happiness and keep you away from the happiness of living life. The book deals with numerous ways of how to vent out worries from your mind with very simple and practical techniques. It's a great book and the examples given are excellent and touch your heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2000

    For those who want less stress in their lives.

    In 1944, when this book was first published, what they called 'worry' was what we now call 'stress.' This is a great book on how to deal with stress. The methods are simple and straightforward and Carnegie delivers them with a good helping of entertainment in the form of true stories. This book is really seven small books bound together into one: The first is a short description of the health affects of too much stress, and two basic principles to handle almost any form of stressful situation. The second book is really about the form of stress we now call worry and how to eliminate it. The next three sections are full of practical principles to not only have less stress in your life, but how to have more happiness. They are mostly new mental habits. Carnegie tells you how to think about situations so that you minimize your stress and maximize your effectiveness. Good stuff. Then there's a section on dealing with criticism. And finally, a section on work habits and sleep habits that can add more time to your day and give you more energy during your working day. I'm the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, and I am an expert on what works and what doesn't. In my expert opinion, How to Stop Worrying and Start Living is jam-packed with more practical advice than any other book on the market. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    if u want to live u r life , make rules and live u r life according to them

    i ll start my review from the quote: 'As a rule man is a fool, when it is hot he wants it to cool,when it is cool wants it to be hot, always wanting what is not' it true that we human always wants things what we dont have and never care for things that we have in past thats the main cause which bring us to stress, so now when we get stressed so this book porvide a great help for reducing the stress, with realistic examples. this book is very good in order to live life fully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Dale Carnegie Never Fails To Write an Empowering Advice Book T

    Dale Carnegie Never Fails To Write an Empowering Advice Book


    This book was a lifesaver for me, because I worry about everything, and this
    book has provided me with the wisdom I need to grow into the more confident,
    assertive person I was truly meant to be. Carengie is one of my top authors, and
    I highly regaurd him. The writing of his work has helped me to ward off my anxiety
    by thinking about what is causing me to worry, why I am worrying and how I can
     resolve the conflict that is causing my anxiety. Simple techniques like these have
     helped me to live a more relaxing well deserving life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is an excellent book. I love Carnegie's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    It¿s a funny thing: The principles that Dale Carnegie talks abou

    It’s a funny thing: The principles that Dale Carnegie talks about are obvious, but they’re difficult to implement in real life. The greatest challenge, in my opinion, is conquering your own character traits that don’t let you behave the way you want. The best book on emotional control, which includes anxiety, is recently published Secret Techniques for Controlling Sadness, Anger, Fear, Anxiety, and Other Emotions by Vlad Koros. Koros guides you step by step using funny examples how to turn off your anxiety at will. I tried it on several occasions, and I can’t believe that it works! Once you can control your inclinations, you can try Carnegie’s advice. At least, I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Inspiring

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    excellent

    I have gotten so much from this book it is a true treasure to have I highly recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    full of 'folksy' wisdom, but very dated

    don't get me wrong, i've read most of Carnegie's stuff, and enjoyed it. but his context is dated - and somewhat limits the book's practicality. not suprising, considering how long ago the book was written. there are some good tips, though, hidden inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Motivating and Inspirational!

    This book was recommended to me by a friend and it has been life changing for me. It helps to put the past behind because it is gone and there is nothing that can be done about it and also helps to not fret about what is going to happen tomorrow or down the road. Living for today is the focus and it has very inspirational ideas that can be put into use the very moment that you read them. It is a book that should be referred to over and over and kept handy at all time. Great read and one that I will read over and over again just to keep me grounded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent purchase

    Excellent purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    thank heavens I found this book.......

    I found this book at a book sale (for 35 cents!!!) and I will never loan it out in fear of losing it. I have read it several times, wrote quotes in the front and back of the book and refer to it often. My husband had died and I was in a worrying pattern for months and months. Now I do not worry anymore and follow the advise of a expert and refer to the book as my grief bible. Kate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    This Book has changed my life.

    This is a great book. If you do not like they way your life is, this will certainly change it. By changing they way we think everyday can make a real difference in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    get on with your life

    Dale's thought process effectively and concisely knocks off negativity and confusion setting your mind free and providing it with a clearly laid track for you to move smoothly on the life's beautiful destination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Wonderful advice!

    I received this book as a gift from a friend. First I was skeptical that it would help but I was amazed at all of the useful advice in this book! My life is really more enjoyable after reading this book. There is much less clutter in my life now, I and am much more efficient in getting things done. It is amazing what one simple book can do. I sort of became addicted to these types of books after this and so I went on to explore more. I recently read 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato and it is also absolutely amazing! It has a more theoretical focus but life makes so much more sense after reading that book! Try it! I highly recommend these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Incredible Message for us all

    This book is absolutely a "must-read" for everyone no matter what your life style. Even though it was written in 1948, the principles given in this incredible book are just what we need in this rush-rush world we live in. Dale Carnegie was a man of great knowledge. His personal stories of people he met who were consumed with worry and stress will help calm your own nerves. Stress definitely causes illness as you will find out from this fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    Worry is mere title

    This book provides most things many people wish to have in there lives.Worry is mere title.This book helps to achieve much more-success,health,happiness,mental peace.I consider Dale as one of the most successsful writers of 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2000

    Eliminate your worries!

    'How to Stop Worrying and Start Living' is an incredible book. If I had my way, everyone in the world would have a copy and be reminded to read it and live as a part of their own health and wellness journey. This book simply amazes me with its simplicity and honest truth. Do yourself a favor: buy it, read it, and live it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4