Customer Reviews for

How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Great Resource and Survival Reference Work

I'm fortunate to have been provided a pre-publication review copy of James Wesley, Rawles' new book, "How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It." The book is due out September 29.


In a nutshell, it's an excellent, well-organized handbook for the thinking ma...
I'm fortunate to have been provided a pre-publication review copy of James Wesley, Rawles' new book, "How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It." The book is due out September 29.


In a nutshell, it's an excellent, well-organized handbook for the thinking man (or woman) who wants to be absolutely ready for uncertain times. Rawles is preeminently known around the world as an expert in many of the related fields surrounding survival in the 21st century. His blog, www.survivalblog.com is number one in an increasingly crowded field, and for good reason.


The man has demonstrated impeccable character and judgment and encyclopedic cognizance through the years. His background and training were years in the making, but his expertise was quickly recognized in his first best-seller, "Patriots, a Novel of Survival in the Coming Collapse." Since then, Rawles' blog has exploded in application and acclaim as people struggle to come to terms with a threatening world increasingly discouraging and unfamiliar. In fact, his following is as loyal, respectful, ardent, and eager to contribute as an online audience comes.


In this latest major contribution to the survival genre, Mr. Rawles has put together some of the best advice and guidance for beginners and experts alike that can be found in one place. Can anyone today actually feel in control without having consulted the extensive knowledge base of THE guy who hundreds of thousands of like-minded individuals rely on?


I too am in the field of survival. With a similar background to Jim Wesley, Rawles, my calling was to find a way to get people needed supplies and gear in the most economical and trustworthy ways I could arrange. There are a fast-growing number of people like us who understand that our future will likely call upon people everywhere to fall back on traditional skills and habits and draw upon resources that today most would see as quaint, remote, and even disagreeable. To get a clear view of the future, one should take an unbiased look into the past.


We have built up a complex, fragile society relying upon technologies that literally provide most of the population with crucial life support. Any leg holding up that immense infrastructure that supports modern life can suddenly give way. If that happens, it could bring about a total, irreparable collapse of the whole shootin' match ... in dramatic fashion. We know from events like the Hurricane Katrina aftermath that rescue and rehabilitation initiatives from the great I-AMs in federal high places will be sorely inadequate. Lesson learned--be personally ready or suffer greatly.


I like to give practical gifts away to my customers, friends, and relatives. Sometimes, these gifts are potential life-savers. Eye-opening books such as "How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It" are perhaps the most popular and well-received gifts I give away. I know this title will change some lives, so I already have my initial order in for several dozen copies. That is the best way I can express my appreciation and endorsement for a product--and this book is worthy.

posted by JCRefuge on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book was, quite frankly, awful. It states early on that  pe

This book was, quite frankly, awful. It states early on that  people will wait until the last minute and then throw money at the problem in the hopes that it goes away. And then, in a supreme form of hypocrisy, the author provides myriad examples of how to solve your pr...
This book was, quite frankly, awful. It states early on that  people will wait until the last minute and then throw money at the problem in the hopes that it goes away. And then, in a supreme form of hypocrisy, the author provides myriad examples of how to solve your problems...by throwing money at them. Need a water filter? Don't make one, spend four thousand dollars to get one!  Want to protect your home? Go out and buy one, in a remote location, and stockpile it with guns and food! And do you have a vehicle? Well, rather than offering a fitness regimen to avoid needing vehicles, it suggests you buy several! Huzzah for money! And of course, the over-burgeoning necessity for religion. "Helping hands do more than praying lips." If you want a survivalist book, this is not a good option. No good sources, no good advice, hypocritical thoughts, and opinionated writing,

posted by Nekko_fox on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Resource and Survival Reference Work

    I'm fortunate to have been provided a pre-publication review copy of James Wesley, Rawles' new book, "How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It." The book is due out September 29.


    In a nutshell, it's an excellent, well-organized handbook for the thinking man (or woman) who wants to be absolutely ready for uncertain times. Rawles is preeminently known around the world as an expert in many of the related fields surrounding survival in the 21st century. His blog, www.survivalblog.com is number one in an increasingly crowded field, and for good reason.


    The man has demonstrated impeccable character and judgment and encyclopedic cognizance through the years. His background and training were years in the making, but his expertise was quickly recognized in his first best-seller, "Patriots, a Novel of Survival in the Coming Collapse." Since then, Rawles' blog has exploded in application and acclaim as people struggle to come to terms with a threatening world increasingly discouraging and unfamiliar. In fact, his following is as loyal, respectful, ardent, and eager to contribute as an online audience comes.


    In this latest major contribution to the survival genre, Mr. Rawles has put together some of the best advice and guidance for beginners and experts alike that can be found in one place. Can anyone today actually feel in control without having consulted the extensive knowledge base of THE guy who hundreds of thousands of like-minded individuals rely on?


    I too am in the field of survival. With a similar background to Jim Wesley, Rawles, my calling was to find a way to get people needed supplies and gear in the most economical and trustworthy ways I could arrange. There are a fast-growing number of people like us who understand that our future will likely call upon people everywhere to fall back on traditional skills and habits and draw upon resources that today most would see as quaint, remote, and even disagreeable. To get a clear view of the future, one should take an unbiased look into the past.


    We have built up a complex, fragile society relying upon technologies that literally provide most of the population with crucial life support. Any leg holding up that immense infrastructure that supports modern life can suddenly give way. If that happens, it could bring about a total, irreparable collapse of the whole shootin' match ... in dramatic fashion. We know from events like the Hurricane Katrina aftermath that rescue and rehabilitation initiatives from the great I-AMs in federal high places will be sorely inadequate. Lesson learned--be personally ready or suffer greatly.


    I like to give practical gifts away to my customers, friends, and relatives. Sometimes, these gifts are potential life-savers. Eye-opening books such as "How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It" are perhaps the most popular and well-received gifts I give away. I know this title will change some lives, so I already have my initial order in for several dozen copies. That is the best way I can express my appreciation and endorsement for a product--and this book is worthy.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    The Perfect Primer

    How To Survive The End Of The World As We Know It
    Tactics, Techniques And Technologies For Uncertain Times
    By: James Wesley, Rawles
    Plume Books
    www.penguin.com
    Reviewed by: Josh Haney
    Copyright 2009

    It was not too long ago, back in early 2008, that I had the chance to review Patriots-Surviving The Coming Collapse by Mr. Rawles. At that time no one was particularly worried or knowledgeable about swine flu, the global banking meltdown or quite a few of the other problems that seem to be popping up not just here in the states but all over the world. I was quite impressed at the amount of knowledge that he hid in plain sight within the pages of his adventure novel that was more than a decade in the making. I was also astounded by how many of the predictions he had made within it's pages were coming true.
    Now we flash forward to a little more than a year later and, to quote from the author, it seems that the Schumer is hitting the fan. There are nightly media reports about pandemic influenza, monetary runs causing some countries to enter the beginning stages of depression and other specters that would cause even the most skeptical among us to rethink their position. So, it's no surprise that Mr. Rawles has stepped forward to once again offer some guidance to those that have never considered the end of the world as we know it, or TEOTWAWKI in survivalist circles.
    This time there is no pretense of fiction, just straight-forward tactical advice that can get even the least prepared up to speed in a remarkably short time. The information is presented in a straightforward manner, reading like wisdom from a trusted family member. And instead of giving you a one size fits all solution to the logistics involved, there are discussions on which pieces of the puzzle are more important to your clan.
    As I read this book, I was in the middle of a cross-country move to a safer locale for my kin and as I got through the chapters I realized that some of my well-placed notions needed to be rethought. With this book in my back pocket and the contractor's number on speed dial, I was able to fix holes that had appeared in my plans before I reached a point where there would be no fixing them. Now when the SHTF I won't be kicking myself for things that I hadn't even considered being a problem. I'll have my family squared away, safe and sound, with enough left over to help out the neighbors.
    If I have any complaint it's that the book was to short! Clichéd I know, but I wanted more information, more of his clear-cut data gathered from years of studying this very subject, more of exactly what the title offers. Luckily there are enough web links, companies and organizations listed as references, as well as Mr. Rawles very own SurvivalBlog, that anything not contained within these pages is still just a few clicks (or calls) away. You've really got to admire someone whose goal is to get you prepared, even if he has to send you elsewhere to make that happen.
    It's that dedication to the subject matter that makes me recommend this to folks who are just starting to get their heads in the game. While other writers have released books that are no more than cobbled together recipes for disaster, this is a functional primer that is just as pertinent to those of us who think we have our game plan worked out.
    If the world comes to an end with a whimper, as T.S. Eliot so succinctly put it, or kicking and screaming you'll be glad to have t

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Pay Attention!

    Very interesting book, not about survival as commonly interpreted but about preparedness. The author has obviously done his homework. I thought I was reasonably prepared for a disaster. I was wrong. As a result of reading this book, I have undertaken a complete review of my preparedness and am now considering a host of changes to improve my situation. At my age, I'll never be in his league, but I'll be much more comfortable with facing an uncertain future.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Information on Self-Reliance

    For anyone who wants to know more about how to survive without all of our modern conveniences, this book is for you. Even though I've read other books on the subject, I still picked up a lot of new information. This book is not just for "survivalists". It has helpful hints on how to endure short term disruptions such as power outages and temporary food shortages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    WiLL DO!!

    I just learned of this book....and have every intention of getting it for my Nook, and hard copies for family members. I am having a hard time convincing loved ones of the danger that we all are facing. I have begun my 'hoarding', if you will, because i understand what little time it takes for things to go from bad to OMG!! Bear in mind that grocery stores will empty in hours, and thats it for who knows how long. Some of us just went thru a week or more with no power here in the northeast, and that was a cake walk compared to what 'months and months' would be like. Go back and take a look at what the Katrina people went thru. Now imagine worse than even that. Are you ready? Are your most loved
    ones ready? Right this minute....think....with what you have on hand...right now....how long could you go? Think about it people. Anyway, im done ramblin. Good Luck.....God Speed...And God Bless The USA.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A "Must-Have" for All - Have Pen and Paper Ready - You Will Want to Take Notes

    Practically every day, whether you are an avid news follower or not, we usually end up hearing about some event or atrocity that occurred somewhere in the world that made life more complicated (or practically impossible) due to any number of circumstances. A few simple preparations can help tremendously when it comes to a lack of food, a lack of clean water, civil unrest and similar consequences from natural events or man-made events.

    The goal is not only to survive, but to thrive! With these simple steps to help ensure your own safety and well-being, you are not only going to increase your chances of making it through disasters or pitfalls which may head your way, but you are going to endure them more comfortably than most, and more economically as well! Being well prepared does not cost you money. It saves you money.

    James Wesley Rawles does not mince words when it comes to writing about this life-saving topic. Dick Hill (the orator in this audio version) is the perfect voice with a clear, concise delivery and intonation that makes you pay attention, as if the topic material were not intriguing enough.

    You can listen to this anywhere (in the car, at work) but I strongly recommend you listen in a comfortable environment which allows you to take written notes. Don't worry about getting ALL of the information in one sitting as you will most likely want to listen to the recording more than once. There is a vast amount of specific and useful information for ANYONE wanting to be better prepared for almost any type of disaster which can be dealt out in life.

    Having preparations for possible disasters (and even minor setbacks) is not only a common sense way of life, it is also more efficient and cost-saving than the typical consumer life-style. Not only will you be better prepared in an emergency (or short- to long-term disaster), but you will live both more efficiently and more comfortably than if you had not learned how to be a more self-sufficient person.

    The daring situations and events which send the masses running to the grocery store to fend against each other (and collect whatever they can from the rapidly emptying shelves) will find you safe and calm at home, already prepared, and ready with the supplies you need for almost any situation.

    Having a ready supply of non-perishable food, a decent first aid kit, some basic tools, and other sensible supplies is generally referred to as having a "prepper" mentality, as you would be one who is "prepped" for any tough times you may experience. The prepper mentality is often compared to Aesop's fable of the grasshopper and the ant, where the ant methodically and consistently gathers and stores food for the oncoming winter. The grasshopper frolics and plays and even taunts the ant for his activities but the ant simply warns the grasshopper to do the same. When winter comes and food is scarce, the ant is warm and content while the grasshopper is left in the cold with nothing to eat. It may sound simple and rudimentary...and it is, but it is an important lesson to be learned.

    Listen from beginning to end just once, and the knowledge you have gained will make you a more forward-thinking person, and more capable of getting things accomplished towards the benefit of you and your entire household.

    Becoming prepared is not something which happens overnight. It improves with time as does your quality of life. Begin your journey today.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    steotwawki, great read

    great read, infomative for a prepper, a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I highly recommend this book.

    The basic knowledge in this book is priceless. I hope we never have to use it but it is good to be prepared and this book tells you some of the most important steps we should take to protect ourselves in case of catastrophie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Very awesome and well put.

    I recently read this book on my kindle, and now i want to get it as a real book. It was very well organized and very helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    KNOWLEDGE IS GOOD... How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It

    KNOWLEDGE IS GOOD... How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It

    James Wesley Rawles has given us a comprehensive list of categories to build a plan of plans. he goes into each category giving us knowledge, products... go of on each plan and check off your tasks, services, sources and products... to build uo your own self reliance

    this gives you a great custom built matrix based on your goals to check off items as your time, needs and budget allows

    so i say knowledge is good... simplicity is best... comprehensive and up up front will get the job

    let me know what you think...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Excellent book but most people won't be able to use it

    The author of this book certainly has a lot of knowledge and has done a lot of additional homework in putting together this book. The book is a blueprint in surviving a long-term scenario in which the general infrastructure that our society is built upon is either non-existent or minimally existent. This means no power, no social services, no police, no nothing. It explains how to prepare your home in order to be completely self-sufficient, being able to procure your own water, your own food, generate electrical power, home security, skills or items for barter and trade, etc. And for most people, it would mean purchasing a 2nd home or just moving. It's not practical for most people and only very wealthy people would be able to implement this plan. But the author was clearly trying to cover all bases here in order for one's family to be completely self-sufficient. It reminds me of a time years ago when a friend and I would be having fun discussions of what we would want in a survival bunker to prepare for a zombie apocalypse. We weren't actually going to do it, but we were trying to figure out everything that would be needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I just started reading this book last night, couldnt put it down

    I just started reading this book last night, couldnt put it down. Great in depth info, really had some tips I hadnt thought about before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    This is a truly great resource, This Author "Get's It"

    I read this book twice, it was just as good the second time around. His Blog and his other books are good info as well. I have recommended this to many of my friends who bought and read it, they agree that this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    K

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great things to consider and think about

    This book provides some sound information and as with anything you need to taylor it to your personal situation and capabilities.

    It allows you to think about ehat you need to do and opens the door for further research and alternatives, think and plan for yourself is a main theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Fantastic+%21+NEED+A+GREAT+FOLLOW+UP

    I%27d+love+to+see+a+great+in+dept+part+two+.+How+to+make+primers+for+reloads+.+What+generators+won%27t+harm+eletronics++.+A+pipe+crank+system+for+the+well+bucket+.To+make+gun+powder%2C+and+is+a+rifled+flintlock+the+gun+in+the+end+.+Camo%27s+for+plants+and+livestock+%2Calso+best+defence+for+a+shelter+%3F%0A+This+book+covered+many+things+i%27d+never+read+before+.+The+book+makes+you+think.%0AMPS

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Highly recommended-GREAT BOOK

    This is an easy to read and cover topics that one doesn't always think about which is why I bought the book to begin with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2