Customer Reviews for

How to Tail a Cat (Cats and Curios Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

CHOMP! So good!!!

Never a dull moment in San Francisco. The mayor is headed to Sacramento as Lieutenant Governor and an interim mayor needs to be selected by the board. But much more exciting is the albino alligator that is on the loose and been sighted in many places from Fisherman's Wh...
Never a dull moment in San Francisco. The mayor is headed to Sacramento as Lieutenant Governor and an interim mayor needs to be selected by the board. But much more exciting is the albino alligator that is on the loose and been sighted in many places from Fisherman's Wharf to Nob Hill.

Oscar's niece and her cats Isabella and Rupert don't have time to tail an alligator. Her uncle has left her more clues to chase and this adventure starts at Lick's Fried Chicken and has something to do with the Steinhart brothers. This is where the alligator connection begins as in the 1900's the brothers were the benefactors who provided the original funding for the alligator's aquarium.

So which trail to follow? Hunt for Oscar's hidden treasure if there even is one? Or follow the aspiring mayor, Monty Carmichael, around town as he tries to capture the alligator? It would be bad if Monty became lunch for the pale reptile but Isabella seems set on following Uncle Oscar's clues. What to do? Maybe both!


I love these cats and these stories. Rupert and Isabella are two awesome cats, even if they just want fried chicken for dinner like Uncle Oscar used to make. One is very opinionated and inquisitive, the other much more laid back, both are very entertaining. They are the main characters of these stories.

I also love these stories because they have real settings and true adventures. There really is a Steinhart Aquarium and they really do have an albino alligator, his name is Claude. He is definitely the inspiration for Clive in the story right down to an injury and bad eyesight. You can even see him here. The California Academy of Sciences looks like such a cool place and Rebecca M. Hale takes us there on a mini escape. She takes real happenings and places and creates a mystery around them. Sometimes you really wonder what is real and what is fiction and that just keeps those pages turning. Her previous book in the series How to Moon a Cat, was my choice for Best Cozy Mystery in 2011 for just that reason. You find yourself drawn into the story, following the clues, down in the tunnels, out on the streets, and all around San Francisco. CHOMP! The story just grabs you and hold on tight.

It has to be hard to write for cats, alligators, and humans but this author seems to do it with ease. Oh Rebecca, where will you, Rupert and Isabella take us next? I can't wait for our next adventure.

posted by Dollycas on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Buyer beware! I was very disappointed. There is very little plot

Buyer beware!
I was very disappointed. There is very little plot and very little mystery. I loved the previous books but this one is substandard. Save your money and time. It reads like a pot-boiler, just to make someone money.

I hope the author has a better follow up ...
Buyer beware!
I was very disappointed. There is very little plot and very little mystery. I loved the previous books but this one is substandard. Save your money and time. It reads like a pot-boiler, just to make someone money.

I hope the author has a better follow up or I will not be buying any other of her books.

posted by 986030 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    Great Read

    I have enjoyed all of her books. They are entertaining and I have trouble putting them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CHOMP! So good!!!

    Never a dull moment in San Francisco. The mayor is headed to Sacramento as Lieutenant Governor and an interim mayor needs to be selected by the board. But much more exciting is the albino alligator that is on the loose and been sighted in many places from Fisherman's Wharf to Nob Hill.

    Oscar's niece and her cats Isabella and Rupert don't have time to tail an alligator. Her uncle has left her more clues to chase and this adventure starts at Lick's Fried Chicken and has something to do with the Steinhart brothers. This is where the alligator connection begins as in the 1900's the brothers were the benefactors who provided the original funding for the alligator's aquarium.

    So which trail to follow? Hunt for Oscar's hidden treasure if there even is one? Or follow the aspiring mayor, Monty Carmichael, around town as he tries to capture the alligator? It would be bad if Monty became lunch for the pale reptile but Isabella seems set on following Uncle Oscar's clues. What to do? Maybe both!


    I love these cats and these stories. Rupert and Isabella are two awesome cats, even if they just want fried chicken for dinner like Uncle Oscar used to make. One is very opinionated and inquisitive, the other much more laid back, both are very entertaining. They are the main characters of these stories.

    I also love these stories because they have real settings and true adventures. There really is a Steinhart Aquarium and they really do have an albino alligator, his name is Claude. He is definitely the inspiration for Clive in the story right down to an injury and bad eyesight. You can even see him here. The California Academy of Sciences looks like such a cool place and Rebecca M. Hale takes us there on a mini escape. She takes real happenings and places and creates a mystery around them. Sometimes you really wonder what is real and what is fiction and that just keeps those pages turning. Her previous book in the series How to Moon a Cat, was my choice for Best Cozy Mystery in 2011 for just that reason. You find yourself drawn into the story, following the clues, down in the tunnels, out on the streets, and all around San Francisco. CHOMP! The story just grabs you and hold on tight.

    It has to be hard to write for cats, alligators, and humans but this author seems to do it with ease. Oh Rebecca, where will you, Rupert and Isabella take us next? I can't wait for our next adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    I FOUND A DEAD CLAN!

    Can anyone tell me what this clan ne is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Whisperdream

    She dipped her head. "Thank you." She meowed a she observed camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    To all

    Help a scared kit at kit result 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Silverkit

    Sleeps.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Stardust

    Wanders outside den alone wounded and hurting. Faints

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Aaaaa

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Obsidianwind

    Wrong rper lol!!!!!!!! Gtgtb bye!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Robinstream

    Also i died so im in starclan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Mystery solved

    STORMDUST GET OUT OF LEAFCLAN FOREVER!!! *Pushes u out of camp*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Blackpaw

    Pads in to join.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Frostbite

    Wow i found my clan..he says purring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    To fadepaw

    You shoul join bloodclan, at blood bine es one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Nightbreeze

    ((Ok, I'm back. What did I miss?))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Sandleap

    Gtg bbl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Shadowflame

    She shook her head at her mate (so sorry i wasent on i had the flu still have it but i couldnt keep anything down now i can)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Sunpaw and co.

    Sunpaw was just outside camp, training again. Darkpaw laid by a bush. Dawnpaw watched him from the other side of camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Silverfoot

    Ferncloud, what happoned?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3