Customer Reviews for

How To Talk To Anyone

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great info!

If you have trouble talking to others or fumbling over your words or getting red in the face, then read this book. There are 92 "tricks" the author tells about that can help a person overcome common pitfalls.

posted by readsalot50 on December 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wanted to like it

I was looking for something to give me tips to overcome some situational anxiety. I read the whole book. I disliked the arrogant and shallow methods, but I tried a couple to stay open minded. I felt like a fake and decided just to stay honest with people and act like...
I was looking for something to give me tips to overcome some situational anxiety. I read the whole book. I disliked the arrogant and shallow methods, but I tried a couple to stay open minded. I felt like a fake and decided just to stay honest with people and act like myself.

posted by RidesWater on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great info!

    If you have trouble talking to others or fumbling over your words or getting red in the face, then read this book. There are 92 "tricks" the author tells about that can help a person overcome common pitfalls.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    My daughter found me out!

    Us guys in the UK are generally a little more reserved than you folk in America (all part of being English I suppose?). Meeting and starting conversations with strangers doesn¿t usually come so easily for most of us. So when I came across this book 'How to talk to anyone' on my daughters bookshelf I decided to `borrow¿ it. I was quite impressed with some of the easy-to-use techniques the author suggested but hadn¿t really appreciated just how much they¿d obviously sunk in as I read through it. It was only when my daughter remarked to me a few weeks later 'Dad, have you been reading 'How to talk to anyone'?' 'Why?' I asked. 'Well, I¿ve been watching you recently, and you¿re going round talking to everyone like you¿ve known them for years. Even the way you stand, listen and look at people is different!'. I confessed, and we both laughed. Like I said, I hadn¿t realised how easy and just how well Leil Lowndes¿ techniques worked.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Wonderful Book, Instantly Effective

    After reading just the first chapter of 'How to Talk to Anyone,' I was astounded!! I have been researching this field (I am 24 years old, and a developmental trainer) for almost 7 years and I have never seen, heard or read such stuff. Leil's technique about the 'Flooding Smile' is in itself worth the price of the whole book, many times over. I feel a sense of excitement on having discovered her material that I felt when I first read about NLP - which was a life-changing experience for me. Really, Leil's book is AWESOME!! and if I could, I would shout it out and jump up and down and tell everyone about it in the voice of a kid who just found out where his favorite toy was all this while, after all! I can't wait to start living these techniques and scream these techniques out in my training sessions.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    WONDERFUL!!!!

    I loved this book!! It was one that I couldn't put down! It is a book on communication skills that is both informative and funny. Leil Lowndes has a fantastic way of teaching what not to say/do and what to say/do in all different situations. This book is a definate must read for all age groups, from teenagers up. Also excellent is her book How To Make Anyone Fall In Love With You.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Stick with Dale Carnegie

    It's a desperate attempt to try and reinvent the wheel Dale Carnegie built already. Don't waste your time or money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I wanted to like it

    I was looking for something to give me tips to overcome some situational anxiety. I read the whole book. I disliked the arrogant and shallow methods, but I tried a couple to stay open minded. I felt like a fake and decided just to stay honest with people and act like myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    It's All Good

    Teaches and entertains. A Good book for the introvert who struggles with 'small talk'. Dozens of helpful lessons. Helped me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Very Weak!

    I am sure that the author is competent in her field, but the presentation and illustrations used were very elementary and weak, bordering on being silly. The overall organization was on the weak side and did not flow in a logical manner. It seemed to be just anticdotes and experiences of her career that sometimes got very boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A great guide.

    A lot of relationships is about talking and meeting new people. Ms. Lowndes knows this, henece this book. I learned a lot of how to approach/meet new people. The book contains lots of good info that can really help a person out in this arena.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    A great book with good advice!

    'How to Talk to Anyone' is really up there with the best. With dating, it's mostly in the conversation and the author understands this while giving good tips on how to talk, how to find things to talk about. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Great audio book for a grade school class.

    I was not able to get past the readers voice and style of speak. I need some real world examples and solutions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Get this now!

    This book as well as 'Talking the Winners Way' offers some REAL steps on how to communicate better! It gives you practical advice and doesn't bombard you with theories or idealism, but gets direct to the point about the behaviors that you have to exhibit and use in order to change your current communication style. What to change to be 'better' at something? Get this book! I can not recommend it enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    To : Oh really

    Your not the only one My dad sexuly abused my18 and 14 sisters then killed himself by parking his beautiful navy blue 2012 ford truck on the rails then the train which killed him instantly

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Instant results!

    Instant results…how many other books can claim this? For example, Lowndes provides tips on how to correctly answer the phone in the business world—that I will not spoil by divulging—but I tried one and it worked instantly. Leil Lowndes book is a great companion to "How to Win Friends and Influence People," or it can be read independently. Either way, this is a practical guide on how to better relate to and communicate with other people. Even those who think that they have great interpersonal skills will enjoy it as a wonderful refresher and an enjoyable read. What sets this book apart from other communication skills books is that it is PRACTICAL…Lowndes not only addresses the “why” but also the “how”…which is rare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Hang in there!

    The reviewer before me, whatever you are going through, it will get better. No one is a mistake. You have a purpose & a light inside you that just needs to be set free. Godloves you. Open your heart to him & he will heal your pain. I don't know you but I care about you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Oh really

    Reading this i ws surprised i learned tjat my mother was gay im a mistake and that my father wasnt murdered he commited suicide and thats just what im about to do this is my fianl godbye goodbye hailey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    Kinda silly

    Specially for an european girl like me, it was kinda sillly, I was expecting something more technical.
    I recall Anthony Robbings audio books on the subject.. those as an example , to my advice , were well made and usuful, this one with all do respect, woth to not recomend, waste of money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Not a very good product

    The product "How To Talk To Anyone" had a defect. The number 2 disk was the same as the number one disk. I didn't attempt to use them any further.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect solution to enhance communication skills

    This is a perfect book for someone who is quiet and needs techniques to improve their conversations with others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    A Must Have Book

    Leil Lowndes has provided a humorous and insightful guide for communicating more effectively, entering uncomfortable social arenas with more confidence, and tools for becoming my best self. I love this book so much I'm buying a copy for everyone I love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4