Customer Reviews for

How to Talk to a Liberal (if You Must): The World According to Ann Coulter

Average Rating 3
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Full of witty comebacks, frank thoughts and interesting data...

I am writing this brief review as a life-long, reformed Democratic/Liberal turned middle aged (39 year old) midwestern female who now considers herself a firm Conservative with some Libertarian ideas about governnment and no affiliation with either Democrats or Republic...
I am writing this brief review as a life-long, reformed Democratic/Liberal turned middle aged (39 year old) midwestern female who now considers herself a firm Conservative with some Libertarian ideas about governnment and no affiliation with either Democrats or Republicans! I don't vote by party anymore - I vote candidate by candidate and issue by issue. As sane people should do! People like Ann, Rush, Bill, Tucker and Glenn helped open my eyes to things and seeing other sides to issues that for years was glossed over or not reported at all. I started reading Ann's columns this year and her books too. After a life time of being brain washed by the big 3 tv stations, major newspapers and magazines and columnists in this country...I finally did my own research and soul searching and realized my beliefs were not what the media told me they should be! So...I now get to see the world from the other side and find comfort in being slightly in the middle if not to the right. When I look at all the arguments I used to have for abortion, evolution, faith, marriage, infidelity, guns, immigration, terrorism, etc....I am shocked that I bought the liberal arguments when the facts, data and science aren't even CLOSE to supporting them. Ann is a straight shooter on details and only those who refuse to hear any line but, the one they tow, will be upset. If you can't laugh at some of the one liner's Ann comes up with - you need to get a life!!! She pulls no punches in her daily writings/articles and makes no excuses for it. Just because you don't support her position or others like her (well in the majority these days)...people don't have to get ugly and nasty about her personally. Doing that just supports that you can't fight with facts, data and science...if you did, you would loose the argument. People who gave this book 1-2 stars are simply writing negative comments to pull her status down and need to seek private therapy for their personal issues. Those who truely bought and read the book to learn, grow and see all sides gave objective feedback even if it was different than their own. If you aren't determined to bring her down, this book deserved 3-4 stars easily. Over-all, Ann's book is an easy read. You might not learn anything new but, she does tie together alot of loose ends on big issues of our day. My favorite chapters were This is War, A Muslim By Any Other Name Blows Up Just The Same, When Bad Ideas (Liberalism) Happen to Good People (You). I now root on people like Ann and her book - we need someone pushing the limits in this time of divisions over regligion, politics, war, economics and the sanctity of life. If they can't speak out, who can? We will thank books like this one day for opening up dialogue to EVERYONE not just the left. This book may not give all the answers but, it does get everyone talking and that's part of the plan. Consider also reading her book Godless - it was actually a better read than this one was. It is more like a novel and goes into more specific detail on areas and does not jump around quite so much. So...four stars for How To Talk To A Liberal. Add it to your DIVERSIFIED library if you have one. We do.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slightly smarter than her

As a political science major, I find it horrifying that people take these unfounded statements as absolute fact. Most of the material in the book is just an extremely long rant on why liberals are the parasites of the earth. The style and content of her arguments seem e...
As a political science major, I find it horrifying that people take these unfounded statements as absolute fact. Most of the material in the book is just an extremely long rant on why liberals are the parasites of the earth. The style and content of her arguments seem eerily similar to people trying to justify their racist or discriminatory beliefs. Do not get me wrong, I am not shouting 'RACIST!' as Coulter would ignorantly try to make you believe. I am simply pointing out that her arguments are just as unfounded and preposterous as those that say the color of one's skin makes he or she different. Also, in my eyes (and those of the Constitution), a political argument loses any and all credibility when religion is used as an arguing point. This nation has no official religion. The reason that there is separation of church and state is to prevent religious oppression. Ms. Coulter believes that now is a great time for the nations in the Middle East to be converted to Christianity. If she had the choice, I am almost positive that Coulter would choose for there to be a national religion for she seems not too concerned with the beliefs of others let alone respect them. This very attitude spits in the faces of all the founding fathers that struggled for the independence of all people (except the slaves at the time,unfortunately). I for one, do not get offended if someone does not agree with my political ideals. In fact, I rather enjoy talking with someone of a differing opinion. She comes off to me, though, as a person impossible to reason with and have civilized discourse.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Full of witty comebacks, frank thoughts and interesting data...

    I am writing this brief review as a life-long, reformed Democratic/Liberal turned middle aged (39 year old) midwestern female who now considers herself a firm Conservative with some Libertarian ideas about governnment and no affiliation with either Democrats or Republicans! I don't vote by party anymore - I vote candidate by candidate and issue by issue. As sane people should do! People like Ann, Rush, Bill, Tucker and Glenn helped open my eyes to things and seeing other sides to issues that for years was glossed over or not reported at all. I started reading Ann's columns this year and her books too. After a life time of being brain washed by the big 3 tv stations, major newspapers and magazines and columnists in this country...I finally did my own research and soul searching and realized my beliefs were not what the media told me they should be! So...I now get to see the world from the other side and find comfort in being slightly in the middle if not to the right. When I look at all the arguments I used to have for abortion, evolution, faith, marriage, infidelity, guns, immigration, terrorism, etc....I am shocked that I bought the liberal arguments when the facts, data and science aren't even CLOSE to supporting them. Ann is a straight shooter on details and only those who refuse to hear any line but, the one they tow, will be upset. If you can't laugh at some of the one liner's Ann comes up with - you need to get a life!!! She pulls no punches in her daily writings/articles and makes no excuses for it. Just because you don't support her position or others like her (well in the majority these days)...people don't have to get ugly and nasty about her personally. Doing that just supports that you can't fight with facts, data and science...if you did, you would loose the argument. People who gave this book 1-2 stars are simply writing negative comments to pull her status down and need to seek private therapy for their personal issues. Those who truely bought and read the book to learn, grow and see all sides gave objective feedback even if it was different than their own. If you aren't determined to bring her down, this book deserved 3-4 stars easily. Over-all, Ann's book is an easy read. You might not learn anything new but, she does tie together alot of loose ends on big issues of our day. My favorite chapters were This is War, A Muslim By Any Other Name Blows Up Just The Same, When Bad Ideas (Liberalism) Happen to Good People (You). I now root on people like Ann and her book - we need someone pushing the limits in this time of divisions over regligion, politics, war, economics and the sanctity of life. If they can't speak out, who can? We will thank books like this one day for opening up dialogue to EVERYONE not just the left. This book may not give all the answers but, it does get everyone talking and that's part of the plan. Consider also reading her book Godless - it was actually a better read than this one was. It is more like a novel and goes into more specific detail on areas and does not jump around quite so much. So...four stars for How To Talk To A Liberal. Add it to your DIVERSIFIED library if you have one. We do.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    I completely understand what she's saying

    I don't actually agree with everything in this book, but I do admire Ann for saying exactly how she feels and not holding back for anyone or anything. I am actually a liberal, but very much enjoyed this book. It is very funny that us liberals do become very outraged at anyone or anything that points a judging finger in our direction. Most of us lack the social graces and poise to have self control when it comes to our out bursts of anger towards the conservatives. If you can finish this book without lashing out or 'writing everything YOU think is wrong with this book in the margins', you're a pretty strong person and should be proud of yourself.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Liberals will hate this book... too much truth!

    All the reviews in here that rate this book as a '1' must be from the socialist left. This book is the best book on liberalese speak I have found. Ann does a remarkable job of exposing the lies and misrepresentations of the left. Way to go Ann!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Slightly smarter than her

    As a political science major, I find it horrifying that people take these unfounded statements as absolute fact. Most of the material in the book is just an extremely long rant on why liberals are the parasites of the earth. The style and content of her arguments seem eerily similar to people trying to justify their racist or discriminatory beliefs. Do not get me wrong, I am not shouting 'RACIST!' as Coulter would ignorantly try to make you believe. I am simply pointing out that her arguments are just as unfounded and preposterous as those that say the color of one's skin makes he or she different. Also, in my eyes (and those of the Constitution), a political argument loses any and all credibility when religion is used as an arguing point. This nation has no official religion. The reason that there is separation of church and state is to prevent religious oppression. Ms. Coulter believes that now is a great time for the nations in the Middle East to be converted to Christianity. If she had the choice, I am almost positive that Coulter would choose for there to be a national religion for she seems not too concerned with the beliefs of others let alone respect them. This very attitude spits in the faces of all the founding fathers that struggled for the independence of all people (except the slaves at the time,unfortunately). I for one, do not get offended if someone does not agree with my political ideals. In fact, I rather enjoy talking with someone of a differing opinion. She comes off to me, though, as a person impossible to reason with and have civilized discourse.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Lies?

    Hm...everyone is saying they don't like the book because it is based on lies. Well, how can it be based on lies if she points to certain publications and television comments made by these people? Ironically, the liberals on here are acting just as she says they do. And it's a bunch of lies? The liberals on here are acting just as she says they do in the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    This book is the best of Ann Coulter

    First off, I am a conservative accountant who idols Hayek's work. I grew up around a republican family and high school, but went to a liberal-focused university. I am very right in my economics and right on about half of the big social issues.

    Ann Coulter's book is riddled with personal attacks, strawman arguments, and warped data. It is clear she is writing this book to please her audience and not try and convert moderate republicans to her side. This book is just another one of her methods of drawing fame and attention to herself in order to make even more money. She is similar to Kevin Trudeau in this manner; claim the absurd, state it in a psuedo-logical fashion, and bounce around the networks for money.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    oh, please!!!!!!!!!!

    Please! Anne Coulter should just cut the crap!!!! this book makes me insane. Sheesh! I know this guy who's reading it, and he's writing everything that's wrong with it in the margins. obviously, it's going to take him a long time to finish. This is the most, warped, twisted book i have ever heard of. Warning: if you are a liberal, go in an open space so that no one can hear you scream in outrage. Better yet, go in the center of your city so that EVERYONE can hear you scream in outrage, and agree with you!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Subtitled i shout nonsense until my voice makes their ears bleed

    Craptacular!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    Too much insulting language

    Let's get down to the basics of this book. The language is divisive, insulting and does not foward any discussion between differing political views. Ann shoots first and takes no prisoners. You are either with her, or a target. And to top it all off, most of her 'facts' are either made up or misquoted. Read this book as entertainment only 'not for political philosophy' as one might listen to a drunk red-neck commedian. Remember that you need to wake up sober in the morning and behave in a civilized manner.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    I gave it one star because there was no zero rating.

    Useless... Smug, uninformed (mostly) and when she is informed she prevaricates while trying to prove herself correct. The fact this woman has a national voice says a lot about the political right...a lot about America in general. Shout nonsense loudly and shout it first.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    I would give it ZERO stars if I could...

    To quote a friend of mine: 'this girl's got jokes!' A college course in how to support an argument would be most beneficial to the author. This is a biased piece of work with no redeeming qualities. The ONLY way to support your argument is with empirical evidence and unbiased and credible sources, which are not used.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Very Skillful Lying

    Delete all the lies, and the book isn't there anymore.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    An honest reason why I don't like this book

    Ok, Let me start off by saying I am no fan of George W Bush. But unlike a lot of people I like to actually read both sides and take positions that I want to take. I have read both Al Franken to Ann Coulter and let me tell you this is garbage! Sometimes the christian right is willing to comprimise and take a middle ground but this is pure conservative, fox news bias. Her allegations that there is a liberal bias in the media is ridiculous. The only place there is a liberal bias is Air America Radio. People, open your eyes to all the loss, all the trillions of dollars of debt, thousands of soldiers dead, recruitment rates down, burned bridges with France, Spain, and all of the middle east (except for the Saudis). Look at all the secrecy and lies and then tell me that you will read something that backs that up. AMAZING. you have to open your eyes to both sides and see that the right is wrong and the left is the party that will move forward if it is not held back by garbage like this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Conservative BS

    If there was any evidence of the conservative bias in the media it is here. She'll go on TV and claim that there is a liberal bias but you are on a conservative network get over yourself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    WOW

    I'm convinced that this book is a joke, because there's really no other explanation!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Typical Coulter

    This is definitely 'typical Coulter.' Long on rhetoric and short on substance. This book is a time waster if one has it to waste.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    SAD!

    I am a reader of many 'political' books...all viewpoints. I'm always interested in what both sides of a story are. However, I found this book so full of spin that it literally set my head spinning! It's still interesting to see how Ann arrives at her perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    It's hard to take Coulter seriously

    One thing about Ann Coulter: she is writes press for the Republican party. If you share her views, of course you will take this book as 'fact.' Unfortunately, she is a little delusional. I saw her on TV a little while ago saying that George Bush never said that Iraq had nuclear weapons as a reason to support going to Iraq. I did not support the war on Iraq, but even if you do, you have to admit that the WAS the reason for going. This makes it kind of difficult for me to take Coulter's words to heart. And to say Liberals hate America is pretty off too. Liberals and Republicans just have different opinions, it doesn't mean that any one party likes America any less. I find it difficult to write a book with facts, considering her 'points' are merely opinion. Looks like she found it difficult too. But still, this book does what it's meant to: please Republicans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Intellectual?

    This book is fluff. Billing the author as an 'intellectual' is like calling George Bush a scholar. Not worth the effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    I Must.....

    This is a master shepard at work. Being able to out-babble an opponent shows nothing but weakness and lack of substance. But,she has held her conservative stance- her books are another shameful waste of paper and time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6