Customer Reviews for

How to Talk to a Widower

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    A rare book that is both touching and riotously funny- LOVED IT

    It took a couple chapters for me to get into this book because at first I thought the main character might be too self-absorbed to care about, but boy was I wrong! The family dynamics in this book are simply sublime. I have not laughed so hard -only to seconds later sob-- over fictional characters in a long time. Jonathan Tropper writes with the boldness of a 20-something young man, but then throws in unexpected sensitivity and grace. I couldn't put this book down and when it was over, I found myself missing Doug and Russ and Doug's dad and hoping for the best for them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    An Enjoyable Read

    I really enjoyed this book -- it was both engaging and witty 'at times laugh out loud funny' while at the same time poignant and touching. The points about grief and the fear of moving on resonated true, and the family dynamics were hilarious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Remarkably accurate regarding being a young widowed person

    Being someone who was widowed at age 30, you tend to be careful about books on the subject but this book was AWESOME . . . it was funny, heartfelt and engaging. I may be biased but I LOVED the subject matter and the subjects. I immediately went out and got all of Topper's books after reading this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    slow start but worth it....

    i really have liked all of jonathan tropper's book so I picked this one up as soon as i could. it was a slow start but by the middle of the book i was very into it and couldn't put it down. alternatively funny and sad, by the end i was in tears. definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Twenty-nine years old Doug Parker cannot believe how fast life can change when his spouse Hailey dies in a plane crash. However, his grief is so great he struggles to leave their home and he writes about it in his magazine column so that many feel for him as a young widower raising a teenage stepson, Russ with big issues since his mom died. He wants to hide in his grief cocoon, but instead he becomes a media darling as everyone wants Doug on their show.------------- However, his woes turn uglier when his pregnant twin sister Claire leaves her husband and moves in with Doug and Russ. Her plan is to force her brother to move on with his life. Local females sympathize with Doug while a few want to be the one who take him out of his depression starting with the wife of his best friend, the strippers he meets, and the guidance counselor who worries about both males residing in the Parker home.------------ This is a well written character study of a young man grieving the unexpected death of his wife after just a couple years together. Doug is an interesting protagonist as he deals with issues ranging from guilt to loneliness to failing Russ, who has his own problems. The outside world wants in to his fishbowl adding more troubles to a troubled soul. Jonathan Tropper provides a strong tale that looks at the grief process from the differing perspective of a man under thirty unable to cope.------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Excellent Book...truly engaging read.

    I started reading this book while sitting on the floor of my neighborhood barnesandnobles. I reached page 90, and had to go on with my day so I bought the book without any hesitation. I've read one other Tropper book, but this one clearly stands out as the best. It was completely engaging. The characters were very true to life, the family dynamic was also true to life and incredibly funny. This book has a little bit of everything....humor, sadness, an anthropological view of the suburbs. One aspect of the story seemed a little far fetched to me, but I didn't even mind because I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the writing. There were a variety of points where I was awed by Tropper's use of language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I don't usually read books by male authors because I have a hard

    I don't usually read books by male authors because I have a hard time relating, but I a laughed and cried all the way through this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Love this writer

    I have read most of J. Tropper's books. He is a great writer! When you buy one of his books you know that it will be an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Not my favorite, but okay.

    I have read all os the Jonathan Tropper books available and really enjoy his stories, his characters and his sense of humor. Of all of the books, this was my least favorite. It took me a long time to like this character at all. I also caught myself drifting off as the narrator rambled on and on. Otherwise, it was alright. The basic story was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great read!

    Jonathan Tropper has done it once again! Well written, great characters, sharp dialogue and parts that made me burst out laughing. Plan B is next on my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed this book, my second by this author. I like Jonathan Tro

    Enjoyed this book, my second by this author. I like Jonathan Tropper's writing style and his ability to really bring the characters' feelings to life. This book deals with the pain of loss, moving on, dysfunctional families, just a lot of 'real' stuff. I'll definitely be looking for more of Mr. Tropper's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Another hit WAY out of the park! I have read 3 of his books and

    Another hit WAY out of the park! I have read 3 of his books and have not been disappointed in any of them. A HILARIOUS yet heartbraking story of the struggle between keeping a lost loved one's memory alive while not destroying your life in the process. His characters are so vivid they virtually jump from the pages and act out their craziness in your living room. He is an amazing author and I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Excellent

    Another great one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Great read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Heart-wrenching and laugh out loud hilarious

    Worth every moment to read this book. i would pay any amount to read any of Jonathan Tropper's books! This book is about the struggles of one family after life deals them a few drastic set backs. Ithelps show the strength of the human character in such an obscure way. His books mske laugh so hard but feel so much at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love Tropper

    I thoroughly love Jonathan Tropper's writing style and wit. The characters were so elegantly flawed and damaged. Found them so likeable. Also enjoyed 'This is where I leave you' for the crazy family dynamic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    I Wanted to Like this Book...........But

    I purchased this book at my local Barnes and Noble for two reasons: one - I thought it looked interesting two - the author was appearing at a book signing. I expected this book to be filled with whimsical characters (Ann Tyler) and also to make me laugh (Ann B. Ross). This book did neither for me. I just couldn't connect with the characters. I really had to drag myself back to the book (since I purchased it). Unlike a lot of books that one might read, I didn't miss the characters when I finished the book - I guess to sum things up - 'I Don't Know How to Talk to a Widower'!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Awsome!!

    Great book! Very funny and witty. At the end of the book, I felt like I was a part of the family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3