Customer Reviews for

How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Excellent advice for understanding how we parents need to come t

    Excellent advice for understanding how we parents need to come through for our children at each stage of growth. I loved the focus on relationships, in general, and the understanding of sex as a moral, physical, and emotional issue for each of us. I learned so much!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    I was somewhat uncomfortable with talking about sex with my chil

    I was somewhat uncomfortable with talking about sex with my children but Talking with Your Kids about Sex by John Chirban shows how inconsistent parents can be as we can be when we aren't open with our kids and preserve the most wonderful gift we have with our kids--OUR RELATIONSHIP--when we help them sort out sexuality. I am convinced how important parents and the home is in helping my kids talk about sex. Though I was intimidated by the task this is an excellent guide that is pleasant to read because of its practical stories and practical advice. Thank you for this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Don't miss this book! It's an eye-opener. I thought that I was

    Don't miss this book! It's an eye-opener. I thought that I was buying a book about talking to my daughter about sex--and learned how my conversations about sex with her are avenues to strengthen our connection like no other. A special volume.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    It's been very hard for my husband and I to find a book that we

    It's been very hard for my husband and I to find a book that we could really find useful with our kids who are affected by questions and issues of teenagers today. We have a lot of material that tells us about spiritual and pastoral guidance about sex but that does not relate the issues the ways in which our kids talk. Dr. Chirban explains and especially supports parents to be honest with what they know and can learn with their kids as they figure out realistic and spiritually smart management of sexuality. While this is not east, this book is well worth the read.


    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Humorous, Honest, and Practical I am very glad that I confronte

    Humorous, Honest, and Practical

    I am very glad that I confronted my discomfort to pick up HOW TO TALK WITH YOUR KIDS ABOUT SEX. After all, it meant possibly admitting that I was not as prepared as I had hoped to address sexuality with my kids. The author does a great job in helping the parents realize that they are like everyone else--and then beautifully guides you to realize that you're just like most parents and simply need the right tools. Thank you, Dr. Chirban, for making it clear that it's our relationship and values that are key to making the best connections with our kids. I highly recommned this book as an excellent resource and guide and for making the priorities clear .

    Samantha Fenner
    Long Island, New York

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Every parent struggles with the "when's, how's and why me's

    Every parent struggles with the "when's, how's and why me's" about when it is appropriate to talk to our kids about the birds and the bees. This is my 'GO TO' book. it has helped me tremendously understand why my kids do what they do, and help me explain in the most straight simple ways about their bodies, their changes, their feelings, and yes, even SEX! Reading about Dr. Chirban's own experiences and how he approached his own children's needs, are the examples I need to develope my own "talks" and let my children know its OK to trust and confide in me when they have questions. In today's world, sex is all around us, and it pokes at our children well before they are at an age to understand it, and that is scary. Having this book under my belt has allowed me to relax more about these subjects with my kids, and not DREAD the TALK! I stongly recommend this book for new mothers and fathers, grandparents, and even the seasoned well-versed parents of teenagers!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Very Helpful Book--Even Though I Wanted to Think I Didn't Need t

    Very Helpful Book--Even Though I Wanted to Think I Didn't Need the Help!
    This was a refreshing book- and makes this complicated subject much more manageable. Starting off with asking about the quality of a parent's relationship with his or her kid, Dr. Chirban identifies the apprehensions I have, and others that I couldn't admit, that helped me get comfortable with myself and the many issues of sexuality before trying to make real contact with my son and daughter on sex--much less the subjects of intimacy or love. I learned so much about myself from reading this book. By offering practical insights and clearly explaining the needs of kids at different stages on these topics, this book explains the importance of my role throughout their life as well as the huge issues that kids face. I found the discussions on controversial topics enlightening like pornography and body image. as I help my kids to find their voice, it's great to be discovering my own. Well worth it!!

    Troy Donovan
    Garden City, NJc

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    This book was sooo goood! My wife and I needed some help in this

    This book was sooo goood! My wife and I needed some help in this area with our kids and it told us exactly how to manage and talk to our kids. As a kid my dad and mom has no idea how to talk with my about the sexuals so I really didn't know what to talk about or even start a convo, i talked had my first talk with my son last night, and now I know that it's not just one or two sex talks but an ongoing talk that is creating a good strong bond- Strongly suggest!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Just finished this book this morning... I bought it yesterday af

    Just finished this book this morning... I bought it yesterday afternoon. I am a mother of 2 children (11 and 14). I really had no idea where to start with the topic of sex, both of my children have been hinting at information and certainly bringing up stories from school that I didn't know how to handle at the least. Dr. Chirban really makes things clear, and sets a very solid structure for me to fill in with my own core values... not to mention the stunning facts and information along with it! Hospitals should really give you this book along with your newborn at birth, as this is just as important to me and them as their medicine!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Dr Chiban’s book How to Talk To Your Children About Sex i


    Dr Chiban’s book How to Talk To Your Children About Sex is a “must read” for parents wanting to successfully and comfortably navigate the many aspects of giving children the sexual information and guidance they need in today’s world. This book helps parents to effectively communicate values and information that their children need for positive healthy sexual growth. It addresses issues and problems in ways that predict successful outcomes for both parents and children.

    Dr Chirban’s credentials as psychologist and father of three children of his own, together with his ability to effectively communicate in writing the necessary ingredients for talking to children in a real way about what they want and need to know about sex and sexual issues make this book a valuable resource for parents, grandparents and indeed all friends and family of our nation’s children.



    Middle School Educator, Emeritus

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    The difficulty of parent-child discussion on sex was something p

    The difficulty of parent-child discussion on sex was something past generations and our generation as well have always struggled with. Dr. Chirban's book has taken a seemingly impenetrable subject that most parents simply could never discuss with their children and removed embarrassment, shame and guilt which were always so much a part of sexuality. This book offers the much sought-after help a parent has needed to handle what has been, for the most part, taboo. It teaches how to communicate openly about sex with one's children in a wholesome, healthy way. One example that immediately elevates the reader's mind: Dr. Chirban explains it in this way, "Do your kids know that they have access to you and that they are the priority--not only when a rule or limit is broken, but because they are the light of your life?" This one question, this idea and/or suggestion triggers within us the insight, the realization to immediately recognize a need we can and must attend to and deal with so our children can approach us unafraid. Chidren come to know and trust that we want to help and answer any and all questions they have. This one thought alone gives a parent a new outlook so he/she can deal with any question a child may have. Chirban gives us a sudden freedom which permits us to see that we can deal with not only sexuality, but all other important aspects of raising children.

    Emmanuel Karavousanos

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I found Dr. Chirban's "What's Love Got to Do with It?"

    I found Dr. Chirban's "What's Love Got to Do with It?" to be quite informative and insightful. Dr. Chirban discusses the topic of sex by utilizing humor, compassion and real-life practical examples. I currently use excerpts for my Introduction to Sociology Course at a local Greek Orthodox College in Brookline, MA. Many of my students report that they wished their parents would have discussed the "birds and the bees" to them in a similar manner that is illustrated in Dr. Chirban's text. Overall, I highly recommend all parents, and mental health professionals, especially working with parents and adolescents, to have this book on hand. It is very educational on multiple levels and I feel I will continue utilizing excerpts from this text for my Sociology course for many years to come!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    My kids can scare me when they come home from middle school sing

    My kids can scare me when they come home from middle school singing lyrics about sex and love from pop songs. I bought this book because I thought that I was alone in my discomfort and now realize that I really have a duty to come through from this and explain my values, concerns, and the direction about what I believe is correct concerning sex. This book does not tell you what to do; it explains what your kids are going through and how they need you because no one else is there for them like you to put sexuality in perspective. I loved so many things about this book--easy to read, openness, facts, stories, from life that I can relate, and clear guidance. Outstanding book on a very hard subject--that I highly recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I have been concerned by how sex in the media affects my kids--a

    I have been concerned by how sex in the media affects my kids--and everyday hear about incidence from my two children in middle school--who seem to know more details than I knew about sex when I was in college. I feel that Dr. Chirban's How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex has helped me and my kids stop avoiding the serious and important conversations about their individual choices. I am less uncomfortable, have been able to understand what my kids needs instead of thinking about my concerns, and have learned a great deal. Great job!
    Susan Addams
    SLC, Utah

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    It’s hard to find a book that gets to the point, gives the

    It’s hard to find a book that gets to the point, gives the pertinent information clearly and in balanced story-form, and has humorous interactions with the reader and newsworthiness that converts a rather challenging task, by inspiration and motivation. Dr. Chirban’s new book HOW TO TALK WITH YOUR KIDS ABOUT SEX does just this—such that I was browsing the self-help section in the bookstore, cautiously bought it because it drew me while I was standing—and, most significantly, used it with my sons. The anticipated uncomfortable talk became a meaningful conversation just by tuning in to the kid’s needs (as outlined). The kids felt good and opened up, and I felt like we are making a terrific difference on this tough area. I highly endorse the bookbecause it works!


    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    This book absolutely takes all the guesswork out of talking with

    This book absolutely takes all the guesswork out of talking with your children about sexuality. It is the greatest tool I have ever read in providing all the information any parent would ever need to help their children in one of the most important areas of their life. It provides the best insight to help your child understand the connections between love, sex and intimacy. The exercises are fabulous. You could not ask for a better book in mentoring your children on this subject.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    This is a refreshing and positive book with many excellent sugge

    This is a refreshing and positive book with many excellent suggestions. I did not expect talking with my kids about sex would open up so many doors for our relationships. This book is a real eye-opener! I highly recommend it.

    Nashua, NH

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I planned to talk to my daughter about sexual issues after she w

    I planned to talk to my daughter about sexual issues after she was seven--and thought that I was ahead of the game. This book helped me realize the importance of opening these discussions even earlier in and age-appropriate way. And I am glad I did. While this book gives you very helpful words to put the issues of sexuality in perspective from early on, it helped me realize that the other issues, as well, such as peer pressure, eating concerns, body self, and bullying affect what Dr. Chirban calls the "sexual self"--and the importance of my close relationship with my daughter to discuss these matters. So many important topics are covered. I shared the book with my friends and we each found areas that spoke to us in similar and different ways that we valued. This book is a blessing. I strongly recommend "How to Talk to Your Kids About Sex" because it helps you realize that the time is NOW to deal with sex and love with your kids.

    Belmont, CA

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    When our twins entered middles school, my husband and I stopped

    When our twins entered middles school, my husband and I stopped putting off "the talk," we searched for a book that could help us get the right words without making an uncomfortable issue more uncomfortable. Quite honestly, I didn't think that my husband would get past the first chapter. "How to Talk to Your Kids About Sex" is an exceptional read. MY husband even admitted how much he didn't know and we learned a great deal from the book. Dr. Chirban gets high marks for inspiring parents to be more honest and loving and to create a real atmosphere to address this complicated topic.

    Gainesville, Florida

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    Dr. Chirban's book was one of the very best and most helpful boo

    Dr. Chirban's book was one of the very best and most helpful books I have come upon in a very long time. His book was both clear (giving parents exact steps to follow and work on when having "The Talk") but at the same time gave leverage in taking importance of each families personal values. Dr. Chirban thank you for all of your help, I don't know what I would have done if I didn't have this book! I recommend this book to any parent who wants a healthy realationship with their children while jumping this hurdle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2