Customer Reviews for

How to Train Your Dragon (How to Train Your Dragon Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

My son loved it.

I bought this book for my 7 year old son. He really loved reading this book. I had no problem getting him to read daily and often found that he had gone beyond his required time just to "finish this part" or "at the end of the chapter, mom". I also got "it's Friday, I c...
I bought this book for my 7 year old son. He really loved reading this book. I had no problem getting him to read daily and often found that he had gone beyond his required time just to "finish this part" or "at the end of the chapter, mom". I also got "it's Friday, I can stay up later to read my book". The book has great, silly, child-like illustrations that brought the story to life. Yes, the movie was great, but my little one had a great time finding the differences between the book and the movie. The biggest reward was when he finished the entire book and asked for another book to read. We're mid-way through Percy Jackson #1, he opted not to read another "How to" book for now.

posted by purplehaze_music on May 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little book

I'm looking forward to the release of the upcoming Dreamworks movie, How to Train Your Dragon, and when I found out it was based on a series of YA books, I thought I'd give the first one a try when I found it at the bookstore the other night. Well, first off, based on w...
I'm looking forward to the release of the upcoming Dreamworks movie, How to Train Your Dragon, and when I found out it was based on a series of YA books, I thought I'd give the first one a try when I found it at the bookstore the other night. Well, first off, based on what the previews look like for the movie and what the actual book is about, I'm going to have to assume that the movie is loosely based on the books.

Anyway, the book was fun. We follow the (mis)adventures of Hiccup as he tries to train his dragon, Toothless, in order to pass the initiation to become a full-fledged member of his Viking tribe. To make matters worse, not only is he the son of the current chief, but he is also a rather un-Vikingish Viking. He has taken time to study the dragons and feels that the current method of dragon training, yelling at them, is not the best method to take with them, and in his studies has learned to speak Dragonese and tries to train his dragon through more civil means, which is generally frowned upon by the usual Viking laws.

Basically, there are several morals to the story, that violence isn't necessarily always the answer (even though these are Vikings, so violence is necessary sometimes, after all), that family needs to come first, and that just because you are labeled as being plain and useless doesn't mean that's who you are and that you can prove yourself useful and rise above the labels placed on you by others. The story wasn't challenging in any way but still fun and the use of exaggerated fonts in the story to add extra emphasis was amusing. I don't think that I'll actually be buying anymore from the series, but if I find them at the library I'd probably pick them up.

posted by tapestry100 on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My son loved it.

    I bought this book for my 7 year old son. He really loved reading this book. I had no problem getting him to read daily and often found that he had gone beyond his required time just to "finish this part" or "at the end of the chapter, mom". I also got "it's Friday, I can stay up later to read my book". The book has great, silly, child-like illustrations that brought the story to life. Yes, the movie was great, but my little one had a great time finding the differences between the book and the movie. The biggest reward was when he finished the entire book and asked for another book to read. We're mid-way through Percy Jackson #1, he opted not to read another "How to" book for now.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly recommended

    It's way different than the movie, but it has the same tone, feel, and spirit to it. Overall, a great book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute book...

    I purchased this book for my son... he really enjoyed it... i plan to purchase more books in this series...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    How to train your dragon.

    My daughter loves this book. I did not know the movies was adapted from a book. I plan on getting her other books in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Barbara Karp for Readers' Favorite In How to Train

    Reviewed by Barbara Karp for Readers' Favorite

    In How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell, we meet Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III. Even though he is the son of Stoick the Vast, chief of the Hairy Hooligans, Hiccup does not fit the mold of the fierce Viking warrior, let alone a future leader. In fact, the boy’s quiet demeanor has earned him the nickname “Hiccup the Useless.” On the day the story opens, all the boys of the tribe are facing a fearsome challenge: sneak into a cave full of hibernating dragons and, without waking the fearsome beasts, snatch a baby one for himself. All goes well until one slumbering dragon awakens and alerts the others. In the mad scramble to escape, Hiccup gives his catch to his buddy Fishlegs (an even less likely Viking hero) and ends up with a pathetic excuse for a dragon. Small and without teeth, the youngster makes Hiccup the brunt of even more teasing.
     
    However, catching the dragon was only the first part of the challenge. Each boy must train his dragon before the upcoming Thor’s Day, Thursday, or face exile from the tribe. Hiccup, who understands the creatures better than most people, tries many methods to make the aptly-named Toothless obey him before the deadline. As the boys work to train their animals, something is happening deep in the ocean: an immense sea dragon is awakening from a 600-year-slumber. The giant emerges from its watery world as the Viking warrior hopefuls face the big day. Yet a reptile from the ocean is the furthest thing from anyone’s mind, for every boy fails the test; and Stoick reluctantly orders them (even his son) into exile. Before they have to leave, an unexpected turn of events unfolds that can turn the failures into heroes.

    How to Train Your Dragon is a rib-tickling tale that will delight readers from the opening chapter. Sarcasm and slapstick humor combine with a bit of philosophizing to make a tale that works on so many levels. There are a few bits of “bathroom humor” which will appeal to many, but not all, kids. The audio book is read by Scottish actor David Tennant, whose spot-on delivery adds to the story’s entertainment value. Cressida Cowell’s comic tale is the first in a series, so there’s a lot more fun to be had.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Xhehhd

    Dehehejdgfbsjgsh@h

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Train Your Dragon

    This was by far one of the best books I have ever read. "How to Train Your Dragon", was above all, hilarious! I strongly recommend this book for people who love adventure, fantasy, and most importantly, dragons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun little book

    I'm looking forward to the release of the upcoming Dreamworks movie, How to Train Your Dragon, and when I found out it was based on a series of YA books, I thought I'd give the first one a try when I found it at the bookstore the other night. Well, first off, based on what the previews look like for the movie and what the actual book is about, I'm going to have to assume that the movie is loosely based on the books.

    Anyway, the book was fun. We follow the (mis)adventures of Hiccup as he tries to train his dragon, Toothless, in order to pass the initiation to become a full-fledged member of his Viking tribe. To make matters worse, not only is he the son of the current chief, but he is also a rather un-Vikingish Viking. He has taken time to study the dragons and feels that the current method of dragon training, yelling at them, is not the best method to take with them, and in his studies has learned to speak Dragonese and tries to train his dragon through more civil means, which is generally frowned upon by the usual Viking laws.

    Basically, there are several morals to the story, that violence isn't necessarily always the answer (even though these are Vikings, so violence is necessary sometimes, after all), that family needs to come first, and that just because you are labeled as being plain and useless doesn't mean that's who you are and that you can prove yourself useful and rise above the labels placed on you by others. The story wasn't challenging in any way but still fun and the use of exaggerated fonts in the story to add extra emphasis was amusing. I don't think that I'll actually be buying anymore from the series, but if I find them at the library I'd probably pick them up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for all children !

    this book is pure funny .
    it had me cracking up many a time , and reads very quickly ,
    i recommend this book for roadtrips or just for a quick read ,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The book is supposed to be better than the movie; not, in this c

    The book is supposed to be better than the movie; not, in this case. With the exception of the Viking Village Berk and a few title characters names (Hiccup, Toothless) there is nothing than even comes close to the wonderful story that is the first and second movies. I wish they had a screenplay version. Very disappointed and a total waste of $7.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Book

    This book was for a granddaughter, so I am not sure if she likes it or not. She was excited that I got her the book. We will see.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    My son loved it!

    My 8 year old son loved this book and read it before watching the movie. He actually enjoyed it more than the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    What a fun book

    We went to see the movie first, which I must say was fabulous one of the best movies of the year, and then we read the book. The similarity between the movie and the book was only the title and the name of the main character Hiccup. The book was also fabulous though completely different from the movie. My children laughed throughout the whole book and never wanted me to stop reading. It has a lot of typical boy humor, friendship and loyalty, parental expectations, bullying and problem solving. We really enjoyed the dragon humor and Hiccup's sarcasm. We can't wait to read the other books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a fabulous book!

    The author of this story is brilliant! The story is well-told and the vocabulary is both challenging and educational. This book is not dumbed-down for an easy read, but neither is it too hard. My first-graded (granted, he's reading WAY above his grade-level) found this story not only engaging, but also funny and inspiring. He's now moved through the second and third books and on to the fourth. He's also incorporated the vocabulary he's learned into daily use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun for everyone!!!!

    This is a funny, easy, quick book to read. The story is engaging and funny. I found myself laughing throughout the book and really liked the plot and how the main character grew in the story. Great fun for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    5 Stars!!

    My 9 year old son and my husband read this book by chapter (my son would read a chapter then my husband). Here is my boy's review:
    I give how to train your dragon a five star rating! I give it five stars because it's a really good action book and sometimes it's funny. Also it's good because at a few parts you think it's sad, but when you read a bit more it's happy. It tricks you! I think how to train your dragon is a really good family and kids book. Oh and also, if you read the book, you have to see the movie! We just did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and entertaining

    My son enjoyed the book, he liked the characters and the dragons. He said the dragons were funny and he recommends the book. We look forward to seeing the movie this spring by Dreamworks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    A funny book.

    The funniest characters were Toothless and Hiccup.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I liked this book for summer reading

    I would encourage you to get this book because it is funny. It is about dragons and vikings. There are comic pictures on alot of the pages. I am 10 years old and read this over the summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Great Book

    How to Train Your Dragon is the best book I ever read. I`m already on the next book and that is great,too. My favorite part is when Hiccup talked to the giant dragon. Some- times I even laughed. I also like dragons just like Hiccup. And I like Fishlegs, Stoick, and Gobber the Belch, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3