Customer Reviews for

How to Win Friends and Influence People

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A classic for a reason

You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and ...
You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.

posted by Patrick_Newman on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't Get The Revised Edition

This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replac...
This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    This one should be kept in your library. This book provides you

    This one should be kept in your library. This book provides you with the knowhow to create and keep great relationship. Great advice that will have to take reading numerous times to make sure you are always reminded and the advice becomes a part of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Dorbell

    Diiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnngggggggg dong

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Vanessa

    *tries to crawl over the railing of her crib. she makes it to the top, then falls to the floor, landing on her back. she starts to cry*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Frances

    Im back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Anya

    Hi im your new neabor hears a pie. She gives her the pie and walks home. (Gtg)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Samantha

    Do you want to mix everything together?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Real estate agent

    Yes its a condo 4 bed 2 bath 3 storys big living room dining room tv room and a finished basement for storage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Highly recomended

    This book is great! It will teach you good thing to learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    If ever there was a book that didn'€™t need recommending its tit

    If ever there was a book that didn'€™t need recommending its title is How to Win Friends & Influence People. Simply put, if you haven't read this book by now then this review, which baits the question "Why not?"€, will hopefully change that fact.

    How often do you get to read something from over 70 years ago and find it relevant to your life today? How to Win Friends & Influence People is the single best source of help (next to the Big Book for many) to those seeking direction in their lives. Dale Carnegie quotes one famous psychologist from the 1930'ss as saying, "It is the individual who is not interested in his fellow men who has the greatest difficulties in life and provides the greatest injury to others. It is from among such individuals all human failures spring."

    Take the tangible directions from this guide to success and transform your life, and the lives of all around you. Off you go.

    Any questions? ;-)

    Thank you Dale Carnegie

    MFJLabs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Great to give as a Commencement gift

    Great common sense practicalities that never go out of date. Wonderful for young people just starting out as well as a fantastic refresher for the older folks. This is a book that should be read once a month until it is memorized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    How to Win Friends & Influence People How to Win Friends &am

    How to Win Friends & Influence People
    How to Win Friends & Influence People by Dale Carnegie New York, Simon & Schuster Inc. 1981, 260
    How to Win & Influence People will provide you with a desire to master the principles of human relations, it will give you numerous approaches how to get the best out of not only your family, friends, supervisor, co-workers, employees, but from yourself as well. (Carnegie, D 1981),
    How to Win Friends & Influence People by Dale Carnegie was written based on the author teaching courses in public speaking designed to train adults, by actual experience, to think on their feet and express their ideas with more clarity, more effectiveness and more poise, both in business interviews and before groups. The book’s purpose is to examine and explore the fine art of getting along with people in everyday business and social contacts. The author discusses how he enlisted the help of many successful people from diverse backgrounds from real estate moguls, professors, writers, professional sports coaches, and educators.
    The book begins with lessons about how to use fundamental techniques in handling people. It provides information considering how we deal with people on a daily basic but never notice it. A prime example is how people we criticize another, but also points out how people don’t criticize themselves for anything no matter how wrong it may be, not knowing criticism places people on the defensive.
    As the book moves it exhibits the extraordinary abilities of how to get people to do anything, which is frankly put “To get people to do things, you have to make the other person want to do it” The way the author describes how easy it is to have a person want to accomplish something is based off a mere desire for a feeling of importance. This is one feeling that most people in any job, schoolings, and task wants to feel, but is really prevalent in most, if not all people. The six ways to make people like you were powerful effortless skills. There was nothing more profound then these which were to become genuinely interested in other people, smile, remember a person’s name, be a good listener, talk it in terms of the other persons interests, and make the other person feel important and do it sincerely, are guidelines we should live by to use when making people like you. I can use these without any reservation to achieve the desired goal.
    The phrase used concerning “If you’re wrong admit it, left and lasting thought in the back of mind. . (Carnegie, D 1981), This is something that is easy said than done in most cases. It made me think about numerous situations that could have been easily been put to rest; if I would have used this mindset If you’re wrong admit it. The quote used sums it up” By fighting you never get enough, but by yielding you get more than you expected”. . (Carnegie, D 1981),
    The most important lesson learned from the entire book is to always try to place yourself in others shoes, and how would I feel if it was me. The examples of how to spur people on to success provided useful information that can be used in my occupation where you want people to be driven, determined, successful while striving for excellence, but not at the cost of losing others.
    I found this book to be very interesting; I chose this book because I wanted to learn more about how to effectively engage people, and get some insight into what really makes people tick in a sense. I would recommend this book to another student because you will find your ability to meet and deal with people will grow enormously. It was organized well, but also simple to understand exactly what the author was talking about and it was a very thrilling learning tool
    References
    Carnegie, D (1981), How to Win Friends & Influence People, New York, Simon & Schuster Inc. 260

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great tips on how to be better towards others. Don't let the title fool you. Even "popular" people can gain from this book. It's not as pathetic as it sounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic in Self-Improvement Field!

    “How to Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie is heralded by many as one of the most celebrated and widely read books every written, especially within the self-improvement genre. This tome has stood the test of time for good reason.

    Dale Carnegie’s landmark book offers the reader clear and simple techniques to handling people, making friends and winning people to your way of thinking without offending them. While times have changed since this manuscript was first composed, originally published back in 1936, human nature has not.

    If you want increase your success in life then you must increase your knowledge on being successful in dealing with people. Therefore, “How to Win Friends and Influence People” is an excellent primer in developing effective people skills.

    In fact, “How to Win Friends and Influence People” was the first self-improvement book I ever read back as a young boy in junior high school. It acted as the catalyst that set me on this lifelong path to learning everything I can about interpersonal relations and the science of success!

    Brian J. Marinelli
    Bestselling Author of “Make People Like You: How to Win Friends and Influence People in 60 Seconds or Less” and “Discover Your Inner Strength”

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    I wish I had read this decades ago!

    The book should be required reading in high school. Have you ever had to deal with a difficult classmate, co-worker, or family member? This book is loaded with great information to improve all of those situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Makes traveling a lot more fun and productive

    I recently drove to Canada from Southern Utah and listened to this audio book almost the entire way and still did not finish it. I had already read the book but listening to this casually as I drive definately helps to implant the principiles taught my Mr. Carnegie into my mind. Very much worth the money paid for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING and POWERFUL communication tool.

    It seems so simple because it is yet so few people seem to understand the principles in this book. If all people applied the teachings of this book to everyone they met the way society runs would change drastically...for the better.
    You would not have to worry about yourself so much anymore because everyone around you would already be doing that for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    on time

    good book and good seller

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I wish it was required reading

    I have read this book several times and each time I have come away with something new to try and improve my life. I honestly feel before someone is placed into a position of authority they should be required to read this book first and then questioned to insure they came away with some helpful insights.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Common-Sense Approach to Human Relations

    I think of all of the things I learned in school and I realize that many of the books I have read include books on topics that are considered to be "common sense," but that are in reality, uncommon sense. "How to Win Friends & Influence People" is one of those books. It covers the topic of human relations, that is, how to build relationships. It has a wealth of material this is NOT taught in school but really should be. Judging from my own experiences there are many who could benefit from the wisdom between its' two covers. Each page is a gem. It is written in a timeless fashion, easy to comprehend, and can benefit most of us in both our business and personal dealings. It's an old book but such a breath of fresh air in a world of 2-second sound bites.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is great!

    Dale Carnegie talks in this book about EVERYTHING you need to deal with people. EVERYTHING you need to work with people, to talk to people,deal with people, to remedy difficult situations with people, MUST read.

    success and happiness,

    Jose Antonio Espinoza

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11