Customer Reviews for

How to Win Friends and Influence People

Average Rating 4
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A classic for a reason

You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and ...
You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.

posted by Patrick_Newman on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Don't Get The Revised Edition

This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replac...
This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic for a reason

    You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.

    58 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    What this book did for me!

    Posted 6/15/2009: In 1968, I was in the Seattle Airport waiting to go to Alaska to work in the oil field. I was 21 year old, had two children in Texas. I had a high school education, which is still the only formal education me or my wife have every received. I was broke and my only prospects were working in the oil field the rest of my life. I bought two books that day that changed my life. Think and Grow Rich; and How to Win Friends and Influence People. Over the next year working in weather down to 70 below zero my life changed from the information I received from these two books. I was no longer on a road to nowhere. I had a goal. We goal now was to have a well round life and become a millionaire.
    I am 62 years old now. My Net Worth is around 10 million dollars. I am currently an investor. I owe three companies that others run for me. I own the real estate that these companies sat on. My office is in my home. I average working about one hour a day before I go to the golf course.
    My wife works about an hour per day at her office in our house. We choose to spend that time checking on our businesses. My wife plays tennis most every day. We vacation 6 or 8 times a year. We have been married 43 years. Our family life is great. Last week we took our children and grand children to Disney World for a week. Life for us is very very good.
    If I had stayed on the path I was headed in, I would be lucky to be alive. Working in the oil field in Alaska's North Slope was very dangerous. My family life was not all that good when I read these two books.
    I encourage you to read these two books at least three times each and apply the principles they give you. These books changed my life to one of great happiness and prosperity. I hope they do the same for you.

    35 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    It won me over.

    A classic (originally published in the 30's) and a must-have, this timeless piece of work can help just about anybody get along better with others and win them over to their way of thinking. Don't have a lot of time to spare? Don't worry. The book is divided into short sections, each one devoted to a particular principle that is well illustrated with many practical examples. In this way, you can read a chapter quickly, stop and do other things you have to do if necessary, and get back to the book when you have time- all without losing continuity. <BR/><BR/>Thoroughly entertaining by using fun and interesting examples, I don't think many readers will regret checking this one out and I like to think of this book as a kind of Human Relations 101 of sorts. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for further reading on motivational principles.

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Don't Get The Revised Edition

    This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Values And Ambition

    One of most motivated book i ever read. Phrase 'Talk in terms of the other person's interests' i am trying to apply the teaching to my habits. Advice, read this book. My name is Vinh 19 years old college student, the book help me deal with depression after high school, losing friends. Just said, it change my life, perspectives, and ambitions.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    A people skills bible!

    This book gives you the basics for creating better people skills! I've read a number of other books on the same subject and while I learned different aspects of human behavior from them, there were also many anologies from what is already in 'How To Win Friends'. I have been using the techniques taught in this for book for several years with much success! A must read for people involved in almost any kind of business environment. The techniques are easily transferrable to your personal life, too!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    Everyone should own this CD

    I was always curious about this famous book, and it was all I thought it would be and more. It contais valuable advice about human nature and how to deal with people in all kinds of situations. It also has wonderful real-life stories about how people's lives were changed by, for example, a simple word of encouragement. I'd highly recommend the CD instead of the book. The reader's voice will warm your heart. Just lie on the couch and enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Well written and easy to understand. A must read book for high schoolers, managers, bosses and anyone working with people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A How To book not designed to rip off readers?

    Most self help books and "How Tos" are not very reputable and seem to reiterate what people already know through common sense. How to Win Friends and Influence People not only provides readers with common sense applications but introduces new, forward thinking ideas. Every principle provided in the book is explained, and proven with a multitude of examples. The examples range from Carnegie's personal stories to interesting historical tidbits the author found writing autobiographies and other texts. Readers are not fooled into thinking that by reading the book their lives will transform over night. The author makes it abundantly clear that for his teachings to work one must have, "a deep, driving desire to master the principles." and basically refer to the readings regularly. The book at first may seem tedious because of the overwhelming amount of stories that support each principle but I found that even the examples that were not particularly interesting or not completely applicable to my life were important when reflecting upon the text. The book was interesting and enjoyable to read. All of the points had validity and made sense. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in refining their social interactions at work, school, or home.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    If you want to overcome yourself!

    This book will help you become a sophisticated person!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A GREAT BOOK ON HOW TO WIN PEOPLE OVER TO YOUR SIDE AND MAKE FRIENDS OF EVEN THE MOST DIFFICULT

    When I bought this book it was for the purpose of reading (skimming it over)for a school project. I "COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN" it was that good. Trust me, I do not read any more than I have to either. Dale Carnegie's book is about how to be effective at interpersonal communication. Carnegie points out a distinctive set of actions which many people do not even think about in their everyday conversations. Communicating properly to win people over to your side takes practice, and Carnegie shows you in simple steps how top go about this. He provides fundamental techniques that really make a lot of sense. The ideas put across in the book do not depend on on rich , how poor, or what your education is, with this program set in motion anyone can apply it. The Dale Carnegie way may also be used on both children and adults. Carnegie provides answers on how to get people to see your point of view, bring them to your way of thinking, when they were in no way going to change their minds. He tells of six tried and proved ways to make people like you. Carnegie offer help to those wanting to be or who are already leaders so they may change people without offending them. It is a wonderful book that I am already trying the techniques on some people in my life. One of them is my 8 year old who is very stubborn and does not like to do what you tell him, but really likes to butt authority. It is really working, especially when I get the yes, yes answer as suggested in the book. The book is very inexpensive when you consider all the valuable information which it contains. Dale Carnegie wrote this book because there was none like it for people to understand other's in the way he needed. He interviewed scores of great people as well as ordinary Joe's for his book. It has to work for people from all over swamp to his seminars to learn interpersonal communication skills from the master. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and still am. By the way... my husband is reading it now!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Principles for getting along with others

    Although the examples are outdated, the principles in this book are timeless. I rank this book among the great classics. I recommend it in conjunction with another classic, Optimal Thinking.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Interesting

    I found this book very helpful. I could relate the situations Carnegie has experienced, to my every day situations. I salute this novel, and also recomend this book to anyone looking for a way to win in todays society.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    Greart boork reasd thees rwevieeeeeeq

    Im 91 arnd i crnt sprell gord , burtt thees boork ees greeeaaatsdf. Feeve steeears i nearver redsa goooude booork lipk dis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    5 stars

    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Must read for self help lovers

    Amazing book, the author stays loyal to the topic of the book and I liked how real the author is in the ideas presented. I urge anyone to read it, and at least not once. To really benefit from the book you should read it twice or three times the very least, and always keep it in handy. The tips provided are magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    hidansangle@yahoo.com

    Im a grrl and my name is becca plz. Add me peoples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommended...

    The tips are very humanistic, showing that keeping things true and simple is always the best approach. Some examples are quite outdated, but still the principles thought here are applicable and will continue to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Cost?

    Why is this book only $2.99 for Kindle?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    A must read!

    The importance of this book cannot be overemphasized. For anyone desiring to improve and excel in society, the material contained within this easy-to-read treatise is a must. I wish it were taught in schools everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19