Customer Reviews for

How to Win Friends and Influence People

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A classic for a reason

You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and ...
You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.

posted by Patrick_Newman on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't Get The Revised Edition

This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replac...
This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    A How To book not designed to rip off readers?

    Most self help books and "How Tos" are not very reputable and seem to reiterate what people already know through common sense. How to Win Friends and Influence People not only provides readers with common sense applications but introduces new, forward thinking ideas. Every principle provided in the book is explained, and proven with a multitude of examples. The examples range from Carnegie's personal stories to interesting historical tidbits the author found writing autobiographies and other texts. Readers are not fooled into thinking that by reading the book their lives will transform over night. The author makes it abundantly clear that for his teachings to work one must have, "a deep, driving desire to master the principles." and basically refer to the readings regularly. The book at first may seem tedious because of the overwhelming amount of stories that support each principle but I found that even the examples that were not particularly interesting or not completely applicable to my life were important when reflecting upon the text. The book was interesting and enjoyable to read. All of the points had validity and made sense. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in refining their social interactions at work, school, or home.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Principles for getting along with others

    Although the examples are outdated, the principles in this book are timeless. I rank this book among the great classics. I recommend it in conjunction with another classic, Optimal Thinking.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Interesting

    I found this book very helpful. I could relate the situations Carnegie has experienced, to my every day situations. I salute this novel, and also recomend this book to anyone looking for a way to win in todays society.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    The title of the book gives you the basic idea of what it is abo

    The title of the book gives you the basic idea of what it is about. For those of us to which socializing does not come easily, this book has a lot of good reminders and tips on how to be a likable person. It was, however, written in the 1930s, so readers should keep in mind that Carnegie’s style and illustrations are not written in the “keep it simple,” bare-minimum standard of today’s literature. He uses a lot of stories to show how he and others have applied his tips, which was useful and helpful in showing different situations to apply them in; however, Carnegie uses a lot of unnecessary details and an impatient reader might find it to be long-winded.
    The book is divided up into four parts: “Fundamental techniques in Handling People,” “Six ways to Make People Like You,” “How to Win People to Your Way of Thinking”, and “Be a Leader: How to Change People Without Giving Offense or Arousing Resentment.” Most of the book was written with business in mind, so all sections won’t be relevant to everyone. I would recommend this book to anyone that struggles in social situations. I read the revised edition printed in 1981, and it helped me a lot, even though much of the advice Carnegie offers seems to come naturally to most people. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Good Info

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nook friends

    Need nook friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very helpful book.

    Dales words still ring true today. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Influential

    Dale Carnegie has used wonderful examples of life issues to illustrate the value of reputation and character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Must read for improving interpersonal relations

    I can see why this has been enduringly popular. It hits all the key points necessary to create and maintain both casual and intimate relations, business and private relations.

    My only reservation is that it does not include specific exercises for practicing the techniques it lays out. While this may be reserved for their courses, if one takes and creates their own exercises to develop the skills to satisfy the points and regularly evaluates their progress on each point, that may be the most valuable part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    Transforming Together-Ele Parrott

    Good book about working with women on a one-to-one relationship. Good Biblical information. Good mentoring techniques. Helpful guidelines for mentors working with trouble women. Personal input by author very interesting.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    Warning: This book may change your life

    Take two handfuls of sensational writing, then mix it with pure brilliance and you have one of the greatest books of all phases. This book stood the test of time. No wonder it went on to sell over fifteen million copies in a space of sixty odd years. There have been countless editions of this book and particularly, the Harper Collins Business Classic edition, is the most prominent. The chief reason why I admire his writing is because he always, always backs up his ideas with examples and past accomplishments based on the same specific thoughts. This book is laced with quotes from well-known individuals and this assists to make the book far more interesting than others in its self-help category. It¿s important to note that a person cannot change without persistence and diligence. Carnegie mentions early on that to get the most out of his words, you will need to have a ¿deep desire¿ to learn. Everything we do in our existence goes hand in hand with how much passion we have. This book will not change your life, unless, you willingly make it change your life. The principles he outlines are difficult to carry out in reality. But with practice and continued determination, it will almost inevitably help you on your odyssey. Common sense? Well, maybe. But most people don¿t realise the true meaning of courtesy and lack essential people skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4