Customer Reviews for

How to Win at College: Surprising Secrets for Success from the Country's Top Students

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Guide for College Students

I can't say enough good things about this title. Most other college books are either wimpy 'survival' guides, or handbooks full of little cute tid-bits about college life. Give me a break! For $30,000 a year, I hope to do a little more than just survive. And as much as ...
I can't say enough good things about this title. Most other college books are either wimpy 'survival' guides, or handbooks full of little cute tid-bits about college life. Give me a break! For $30,000 a year, I hope to do a little more than just survive. And as much as I appreciate the cute handbooks, I'm 19 years old -- I don't need a book to figure out what a fraternity is or how to decorate my dorm room. I loved this book because it deals with the specifics of how to SUCCEED, not SURVIVE, at college. It is based on interviews with real successful college students, and the advice is powerful. Inspiring stuff. From how to time manage, to how to study, to how to excel beyond classes. It actually treats the reader like an adult -- a rarity among these books. My advice: forget the fluffy survival stuff, this book should be *required* reading for all college students.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

okay, but not great

The explanations are way too short and generic. Make sure you browse through the book before buying it. If it's your senior summer, spend it having fun and worry about this later.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Excellent Guide for College Students

    I can't say enough good things about this title. Most other college books are either wimpy 'survival' guides, or handbooks full of little cute tid-bits about college life. Give me a break! For $30,000 a year, I hope to do a little more than just survive. And as much as I appreciate the cute handbooks, I'm 19 years old -- I don't need a book to figure out what a fraternity is or how to decorate my dorm room. I loved this book because it deals with the specifics of how to SUCCEED, not SURVIVE, at college. It is based on interviews with real successful college students, and the advice is powerful. Inspiring stuff. From how to time manage, to how to study, to how to excel beyond classes. It actually treats the reader like an adult -- a rarity among these books. My advice: forget the fluffy survival stuff, this book should be *required* reading for all college students.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    A Must for all college students

    This compilation of college tips is the best source of advice I have found. Newport has some really good ideas and strategies that would help out many students if they would only try. I give it my full recommendation for any college student, but most specifically to incoming freshmen.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A phenomenal linear mapping of exactly what to do to attain an elite sense of accomplishment in University

    Very cogent suggestions with clear reasoning in each of his explanations. I highly recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to be just anyone in school. Cal Newport's online blog directly supports and expounds upon all of the findings he publishes in this book. I became more dedicated to finishing this book the more i read his seemingly simplistic approaches, I became fully engrossed and finished it in one sitting. THE BEST PART IS I HAVE READ THIS BOOK BEFORE.

    A bible for every student determined to get the most out of college. There is nothing debatable about his advice. Five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Better than I excpected. . .

    Initially when I chose to read a book before college I read all the reviews before I decided to buy this book. It was generally well recieved however, I still had my doubts. However, all my thoughts changed when I actually read it. It was a fast read and useful. It tells things that you should do anyway but no one ever does. Yes, I probably coul dof went into a store and sat down and read the book instead of paying for it but, I think it was worth the money. I'll take what I learned in this book intomy school life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I love this author!!!

    Cal is so amazing at getting the information that I recommend for college students east to comprehend and follow. This series is AMAZING!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Great for Adults Going to College

    I'm in my mid-30's and going to college for the first time and wanted to find a book that could offer advice or how to succeed and do well. This is the only book I need! It's a great, quick read and what is more important is not only is the author an Ivy League grad but he talked to other outstanding students to find out how they succeeded in class so this book isn't just from the author's perspective. Also the points aren't far-fetched, they are easily managable and attainable.

    At first I thought maybe this book might have some points that are mostly meant for only students fresh out of high school but this book is for ANYONE going to college. The only one that might not work for me is the section on studying abroad; I work full-time and I don't plan on picking up and moving to another country albeit for a short period of time.

    I would suggest this book for parents whose children are about to enter college, for those already in school and adults returning or going to college for the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    awesome book!

    the titles of the suggestions may seem far-fetched but once you keep reading, you'll find out that this book has a lot to offer! the author actually researched and interviewed successful students to get their secrets. great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Powerful information presented in a quick read.

    i purchased this book for my son and my nephew, both starting college. I read 1/2 the book in 45 minutes, as the information is quick and easy. I wish I read this book when I was in college! Easy to follow great advice for the college student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    VERY GOOD BOOK.

    It is a very good book for students. It tells you everything you need to know in college. Also it teachs you how to be an out standing student. It works for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1