Customer Reviews for

How to Woo a Reluctant Lady (Hellions of Halstead Hall Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The third Hellions of Halstead Hall Regency romance a wonderful pairing of a couple who has a two decade history

In 1806 nine year old Minerva Sharpe fell in love with Giles Masters when he held her hand as she struggled with the funerals of her parents; the papers insisted her father murdered her mother before he killed himself. Ten years later, Minerva still loves Giles, but he...
In 1806 nine year old Minerva Sharpe fell in love with Giles Masters when he held her hand as she struggled with the funerals of her parents; the papers insisted her father murdered her mother before he killed himself. Ten years later, Minerva still loves Giles, but he rejects her overture. She vows to never marry.

In 1825, on the shelf, Lady Minerva refuses to wed anyone because she knows no respectable husband will accept her profession as a gothic novelist. However, the writer has a major problem. Her grandmother demands her Hellions of Halstead Hall grandchildren marry or face disinheritance.

Barrister Giles Masters has loved Miranda forever though he knows he fumbled badly when she came to him almost a decade ago. He proposes, but instead of saying yes or no, Miranda concocts a scheme for them to pose as an engaged couple to trick her grandmother. Giles agrees as he sees an opportunity to court and win the heart of his beloved. However, although Minerva falls in love with her fake fiancé, his secret life and her obsessive need for honesty smash their relationship to bits in Calais; even as they become entangled in a dangerous seditious plot due to his clandestine activities.

The third Hellions of Halstead Hall Regency romance (see The Truth About Lord Stoneville and A Hellion In Her Bed) is a wonderful pairing of a couple who has a two decade history. Fast-paced with a strong support cast, fans will enjoy the female Hellion finding, losing and re-finding love.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3.5 - 4 - Enjoyed Reading

I really enjoyed reading this series. How to Woo was probably my second favorite in the series. Giles and Minarva made a good story line. I would recommend reading all 5 books, and I am hopeful Ms Jeffries will continue the series - she could do a lot more with these...
I really enjoyed reading this series. How to Woo was probably my second favorite in the series. Giles and Minarva made a good story line. I would recommend reading all 5 books, and I am hopeful Ms Jeffries will continue the series - she could do a lot more with these 2 characters!

posted by SGB1 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The third Hellions of Halstead Hall Regency romance a wonderful pairing of a couple who has a two decade history

    In 1806 nine year old Minerva Sharpe fell in love with Giles Masters when he held her hand as she struggled with the funerals of her parents; the papers insisted her father murdered her mother before he killed himself. Ten years later, Minerva still loves Giles, but he rejects her overture. She vows to never marry.

    In 1825, on the shelf, Lady Minerva refuses to wed anyone because she knows no respectable husband will accept her profession as a gothic novelist. However, the writer has a major problem. Her grandmother demands her Hellions of Halstead Hall grandchildren marry or face disinheritance.

    Barrister Giles Masters has loved Miranda forever though he knows he fumbled badly when she came to him almost a decade ago. He proposes, but instead of saying yes or no, Miranda concocts a scheme for them to pose as an engaged couple to trick her grandmother. Giles agrees as he sees an opportunity to court and win the heart of his beloved. However, although Minerva falls in love with her fake fiancé, his secret life and her obsessive need for honesty smash their relationship to bits in Calais; even as they become entangled in a dangerous seditious plot due to his clandestine activities.

    The third Hellions of Halstead Hall Regency romance (see The Truth About Lord Stoneville and A Hellion In Her Bed) is a wonderful pairing of a couple who has a two decade history. Fast-paced with a strong support cast, fans will enjoy the female Hellion finding, losing and re-finding love.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The best yet

    One of Jeffries' best yet! Everything about Minerva and Giles rang so true. The plot was, of course, compelling as always, but I think here the best part was watching them learn to trust each other. Excellent story-telling!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Romance Novel in Progress!

    Minerva Sharpe is a Gothic novel writer. Anyone who is respectable doesn't read her series published in "The Ladies' Magazine," at least that's what they say. Yet Giles Master has been following each addition as it seems he's the rapscallion star of her stories, under a pseudonym that is.

    When Minerva is in danger of losing her inheritance, she posts an ad for an eligible gentleman to marry. Giles realizes he must appear for an interview as a prospective bridegroom because her stories are getting far too close to the truth about his secret activities that could destroy some very high-positioned people in the British government.

    What follows is a funny, passionate, and intriguing journey in which Minerva's grandmother agrees to Giles's engagement to Minerva. A whole new world opens to the couple as Minerva sees her fiance in action at a murder trial and he begins to investigate the mysterious death of her parents. Even better, their occasional romantic kisses fuel the passion both feel but refuse to acknowledge.

    Giles, however, is a very smart pursuer as well as a more than capable barrister. How he wins Minerva's heart over her previous antagonism is a glorious romp full of mystery and romance that will delight every reader. Yes, even villains can make their victims scream...

    Terrific story, Sabrina Jeffries

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Sabrina Jeffries lover

    Best book ever. Minerva's husband is the most interesting character ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Will not disappoint!

    I love all of Sabrina Jeffries books and this one was just as good as ever! I enjoyed this romance; it was touching, well developed, and believable. The series is a good one and I have enjoyed each of the Sharpes thus far. I was so happy to finally see Giles Masters (who has popped up in previous series) settled with some one. Well worth the investment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    love these books

    these books are great a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Superb Read

    I so adore a feisty and smart heroine pitted against a secret agent rogue for a hero and Ms. Jeffries has delivered another sure winner for historical romance readers to enjoy.

    This little epic of a story starts off when they were younger and it sets up what is to come with heartfelt detail. The stars are Minerva and Giles. She is a young woman who wears her heart on her sleeve and Giles is a young man who makes a choice that has repercussions beyond his imagination. One night their paths cross in such a way that a reader knows that fate and Ms. Jeffries has a master plan to take this couple, have life mature them and then throw them at each other again to see what happens.
    What fun!

    I liked Minerva. Being a romance reader, I have visited many author loops and one of the things that have been said for a writer to do when a nasty and mean person crosses their path is to write them in as a villain and have them get their just desserts. I was completely entertained and was tickled pink that Minerva did exactly that but not because someone was getting away with something dastardly. Oh no, it's much more delicious than that. Minerva wrote a series of books or chapters that have a decided similarity to a certain person and event; it was noticed and became the catalyst for all the fun that followed.

    One of my favorite things about Minerva was her dedication to her family, despite her annoyance with her grandmother. I liked her clever wit, her willingness to try risqué and naughty things and her steel spine. She's not afraid to speak her mind and stand up for those she is loyal to and I enjoyed the merry chase she led Giles on. He won't ever be bored with her.

    Giles is quite the complicated and endearing character. He plays a deep game and unbeknownst to him, he's mired in quicksand and sinking fast. As to what kind, well that doesn't get revealed until later, when he's finally ready to listen to sense and reason. First he has to win a very reluctant and scheming Minerva and outwit her clever plot without letting her get wind of it. He doesn't get away with it for long and the scene was an amusing free for all especially when her brothers and their wives join the fray. Poor Giles. I have to say, the interaction between Giles and Minerva's brothers was very well written and I could visual the conversation vividly. In fact, there were quite a few scenes sprinkled throughout the book that were of the same caliber. At times it seemed the characters should have been able to jump out and start acting on the silver screen, there was so much going on and it was so rich and full.

    Suffice to say, Giles is a man who actually has a rift in his heart that he's never really stopped long enough or felt brave enough to examine. It took Minerva's faith and trust in him to give him the means and the reason to want to do it. As hard as it had to have been for him to do, the emotional rewards made for some excellent storytelling.

    There is a clever red herring thrown into the tale that although it didn't turn out to be quite what everyone thought, there is enough to whet a reader's appetite to wonder what is really going on. I suspect there is a subplot going on that might have been introduced in the books where Minerva's brothers met their wives.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Easy read

    truly brain candy for a cold blustery winter afternoon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Get it!

    Number #3 in the series and worth every penny. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    A WONDERFUL HISTORICAL ROMANCE! A MUST READ!

    HOW TO WOO A RELUCTANT LADY by Sabrina Jeffries is a delightful historical romance set in 1825 London. It is well written with depth,details,turns and twists. It is the third in "The Hellions of Halstead Hall Series, book one " The Truth About Lord Stoneville", book two " A hellion in Her Bed" but can be read as a stand alone. It has romance, secrets,sensuality,passion,love, witty dialogue,friends,and of course how to woo a Lady. The hero,Giles, is handsome,a spy, friend of Jarett,Minerva's brother,has admired her since childhood,know of her grandmother's marriage plans for all her grandchildren,is a barrister, has lived a double life for years,and has decided to marry her himself. The heroine,Minerva, is beautiful,a written of Gothic novels, opinionated, declares she will not marry even if all her siblings loses their inheritance,she is witty,smart,and has loved Giles for years, but he broke her heart once(of course,he doesn't know that).She sets into motion a plan to interview potential husbands,but when Giles learns of this he decides to propose. Minerva,thinking this will enrage her grandmother agrees to his proposal,her he is a rogue after all.They team up to investigate the mystery behind her parents death years ago.Their fake betrothal leads them to desire and passion. Will true love win out over secrets and trust issues. This is a fast paced,action packed story of true love,passion,secrets,and winning at life's little trials.I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy historical romance at its best. This has been a delightful series.Will the children of the Sharpe's ever find out what actually happened on that fateful night so many years ago,when their parents was killed?I would book was received for the purpose of review form Pocket Galley Books and details can be found at Pocket Star Books, a division of Simon and Schuster,Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    How to Woo a reluctant Lady, book #3 of The Hellions of Halstead

    How to Woo a reluctant Lady, book #3 of The Hellions of Halstead Hall series.

    I love Ms. Jeffries's characters Minerva Sharpe and Giles Masters

    It’s the story of a grandmother who wishes that her grandchildren would settle down and marry so she can enjoy great-grandchildren’s. It’s also the mystery surrounding the deaths of both parents of Minerva .

    Minerva must marry by year's end or be disinherited.

    Minerva is a beautiful woman and a gothic author; Giles Masters is an attractive gambling rogue. Both meet and team up to investigate the mystery behind her parents’s deaths, and this lead to hot desire and love.

    Funny story of how Minerva’s brothers and sisters try to match them together.

    Lots of humour, mystery, romance and love. I love her descriptive style of writing.

    If you are a fan of Sabrina Jeffries, then you must read this book, it's well written. She is a great writer! I will definitely read book #4 To wed a wild Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    great novel i love it *** have to read

    i loved her attitude in this one it made me laugh outloud a couple of times i enjoyed the book. i got to read it twice really loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6