Customer Reviews for

Howl and Other Poems

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    A poem that says what we all feel

    Sure, 'Howl' is considered obscene and graphic, but hey: that's what life is. Allen Ginsberg has written the most HUMAN thing my tired eyes have read. People read it and think, 'ugh... this is all about homosexuals and drugs' but the truth is it's about a man who was loved and admired by another, and had finally gone mad. It's Ginsberg's frustration and bitterness that makes it so poignant. I read it before, and thought the same thing: 'it's about homosexuals and drugs' but I was reading beteween the lines: I wasn't digging what he was saying. Wouldn't you be a tad upset if your eccentric, but very close friend went too crazy? Yes you would. So all of you out there reading between the lines, stop whining and READ the poem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Good Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tremendous reading

    A great window into the poet that Allen Ginsburg would become. A great addition for fans of modern poets from that era. I would also recommend his book Selected Poems from 1947-1993, as well as books by Jack Kerouac any of his poetry books or novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Allen Ginsberg's HOWL and Other Poems

    A great book of poetry by a great poet. I've read it numerous times. You can read it just a little bit at at a time but it is better if you read the whole thing in one sitting. This made a great bus book and I will definenlty read it many times in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Tops all others

    This poem is still ahead of its time--much like the poetry of Walt Whitman. Ginsberg was THE poet of the 'beat' generation and this is one of the most powerful selection of words to ever grace the page. Ugly? You bet. Raw? That too, but it's also brilliant and moving. And prophetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    In Response to William G.'s review...

    So many inflamed cursings and spontaneity's just erupted out of my head after reading this--God forbid they might make good poetry mirroring the experiences of a generation? Does this 'gentlemen' claim to know anything about the Beat Generation, the philosophical impliments that surrounded it...Sounds to me like he's gotten it confused with flow poetry or something. Every poem by Jack Kerouac, Bill Burroughs, Allen Ginsberg, Neil Cassady, and the other spokees of that generation contains not only the sincerest and deepest devotion to self-introspection but a questioning in meaning that is inherently apparent upon reading deeper. It is painfully obvious how far the critiquer of the monumental work 'Howl' or even 'Kaddish' looked under it's skin. If shallow poetry is what he wants I highly recommend he read some of his own. Maybe he was just spitting out random words...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2001

    Holy Ginsberg!

    The first time I read this I couldn't sit still. I felt the intensity of the words as the pages flew by. Howl has so much energy every time I read it due in part to the restless style in which it is written. Ginsberg was the quintessential beat poet in his days. While the homosexual and drug -related overtones may be graphic at times, Howl is pure poetry all the way through. Go read Howl!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    wonderfully creative

    Ginsberg, like all of the beat poets takes a hard look at society in the sixties and gives us an overview of the mania that it was. To accuse Ginsberg of not knowing poetry's history is a shocking misread. He acknowledges the poets of the past (mainly Blake), but realizes that they cannot fully describe the societal and political climate of their time. Ginsberg is a radical, and he gives a fresh spin to the creative aspect of poetry by using crisp, raw language. A definite must own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2