BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Howling at the Moon (Tales of an Urban Werewolf Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing paranormal amateur sleuth tale

    In Austin, Texas, Sophie Garou is a highly regarded auditor at Withers and Young. She receives a strange box that contains a Ziploc bag of dried green leaves. The note makes it clear that someone knows she is a werewolf though she is only a half werewolf as her mom is a human witch. Sophie uses wolfsbane to control the transformations but that does not work during the full moon especially at the equinox.------------ Sophie gets a call from her mom¿s employee at her store informing her that her mom has been arrested for the murder of Congressman-elect Ted Brewster who apparently died from a love spell she sold him. Sophie tells her best friend accounting associate Lindsey and goes to see her mom in jail.--------------- On the way Sophie is shocked to see a werewolf as she thought there were none in Austin. She tells her mom she needs a lawyer, but mom is not worried. Lindsey suggests they investigate as the cops are only looking at her mom. They can start with the librarian who Ted bought the love spell for. Meanwhile Sophie¿s human boyfriend Heath reminds her he has arranged a special date for their anniversary. She is worried because he is unaware that she is a half werewolf and their date is on the full moon equinox. Adele informs Sophie they will be conducting drug testing on the day of the full moon equinox. Things get worse from there.---------------- This amusing paranormal amateur sleuth tale works because readers will believe werewolves and witches are real and living in Texas. The half-breed urban werewolf heroine is terrific with her humorous asides as she faces all types of woes especially with the demands on her time at the equinox. The support cast is fully developed to bring out more of the lead female¿s troubles or to help her, which also can lead to more tsuris for her.------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining!

    I'm always looking for more werewolf books, there doesn't seem to be many out there but i loved this one! The story was entertaining and i was sucked into the characters world! I'll be reading more books by Karen MacInerney!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Great! This coming from a teen girl!

    Will read all and i want a movie of this... will recommend to anyone who likes DEEP AND HARDCORE romance and fiction...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Howling at the Moon was a very easy read, and Karen MacInerney is a wonderufl author. The characters were easy to connect with and the plot was easy to follow. I loved how Sophie is portraied. I love her outfits and the fact that she is easy to get along with. I love the differnt look that Karen puts on warewolfs, it isn't that differnt but the fact that she takes wolfsbane tea to "suppress" her changes. I love how her mom is a witch and the she is a half-breed. It is always fun to read the twists and turns. I can't wait to see if Tom is in any of the other books and what happens with her and Heath, and if she breaks down and tells him about her "wild side". All in all it was a good and fun read and I can't wait to read the rest of the series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tales of an Urban Werewolf Series

    I liked this book. I started reading it and couldn't stop. She has an engaging way of writing that keeps you hooked. I like the idea that she doesn't want to be like the others like her. I'm going to get the next installment in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Addictive!!! Once you start you can't stop!!!

    I was hooked after reading the first chapter! Totally relateable character (besides being a werewolf) in so many ways! The romance never dies and just when you think you have things figured out you don't or she takes you a round about way! Fantastic!! I have recommended this to a friend and I plan to read it again!! I wish it would have wouldn't have stopped at the 3rd book. There is so much more I am dying to know but it did leave off with a good ending in the third book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    This is one of my favorite books!! I've read the entire series a

    This is one of my favorite books!! I've read the entire series and it was awesome! Especially love Tom. <3 And I'm a teenager (13) and i read this book, and love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    GOOD READ

    Any one who is considering to buy this book shouldnt pay attention to any bad reviews on this book or series because this series is reaally good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    loves it!

    my kinda book i love the hole urban werewolf thing this has become one of my new faviorit series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A slow one but a good one!

    This novel begins slowly, but it quickly picks up to an exciting story line that you just won't want to put down until you've finished. A refreshing new take on the whole lycanthrope (werewolf) mythos, and this reader felt that it is one of the best in the genre thus far. A gripping story of one woman's drive to make good on an otherwise bad situation. Though our heroine didn't ask for the events in her life to take place as they did, didn't ask to be a 'were' in the first place, she rises to the events and problems in her life and over comes them in stunning style. This is truly a story of how, with the right drive and determination, a woman can accomplish anything in her life despite any setbacks, and this reader can't wait for the sequel. I whole heartidly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy story line, and a gripping tale of how to pick yourself up no matter how many times life tries to knock you down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Surprisingly Great Book

    If you like urban fantasy or romance this is a great book for you. Dont let the cover art put you off. Its worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy and Thrilling as a Werewolf Story Should Be!

    I really, really love this book and I'm positive I'll be reading it several times. Going over the more exotic parts more thoroughly, so I can soak in every single word. Getting on the waiting list for any other book she publishes in this series because I love it so much.

    I fell in love with Sophie the moment she waltz into her office with a skinny latte. She's an amazing character that is easy to fall in love with. Plus, the description of the guys Sophie's involved with are nothing less then thrilling.

    If you love werewolves, very hot guys and some thrilling situations then I highly recommend this book. However, this has some mature scenes and defiantly not for the younger age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book

    I have not yet read this one. i read On the Prowl and Loved it. Myquestion is does it tell about her meeting her father?Can someone PLZ put something about that in their review???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    For those of you who like Kim Harrison's and Lynsay Sands' humor

    I found this to be an outstanding book along the line of Kim Harrison's and Lynsay Sands' humorous use of the supernatural. Howling at the Moon seemed to have a stronger plot line than its contemporaries. Also, the character development is great. How would you like to have to shave your legs every 2 hours?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    WOW!

    Ths book was very exctining. I didn't ever want to put it down for one second. The suspense and romance kept me going. I still can't wait till this fall for the second book to come out. I'm really looking for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    So much fun!

    This is not the typical book that I read, but it was recommended by a friend. What fun! I couldn't put it down! The premise is clever, and the antics of the main character really draw you in and keep you guessing - and laughing. It's a great, funny, and engaging break from reality. This book is titled as 'Book 1' - I can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3