Customer Reviews for

Huck: The Remarkable True Story of How One Lost Puppy Taught a Family--and a Whole Town--About Hope and Happy Endings

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Truly Remarkable Story

I was almost in tears when I finished Huck written by Janet Elder. This book is about Janet Elder, her relentless 12-year-old son Michael, and her husband Richard Pinksy. Michael, like myself, starts a relentless campaign for a canine companion seemingly as soon as he c...
I was almost in tears when I finished Huck written by Janet Elder. This book is about Janet Elder, her relentless 12-year-old son Michael, and her husband Richard Pinksy. Michael, like myself, starts a relentless campaign for a canine companion seemingly as soon as he comes out of the womb. This touching story tells about Janet's close call with breast cancer and how she and her husband purchase an auburn-colored and micheivious toy poodle named Huck(short for Huckleberry). Huck was charming from the start with his little 9-pound self and shaggy "puppy cut". Then, when a much needed vacation comes up, Huck is left with Barbara and Dave, Janet's sister and brother-in-law, expierenced dog lovers and owners in a small New Jersey town called Ramsey. A devastating call is recieved on Rich's cell phone that Huck has slipped under the fenced-in backyard. Janet, Rich and Michael, who live in New York City, are starting to get used to a slow-paced vacation in Tampa Bay Far from their city lifestyle but their vacation comes to a close and abruptly ends as they fly back to New York and then drive to Ramsey. By some chance happening, after gruleing searches and putting up flyers, they find Huck thanks to many kind and considerate strangers. This book is truly inspiring and well-written. The happy ending topped it all off. I loved this book and recomend it to adults due to advanced vocabulary. Five stars out of five!!!

posted by 5742250 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Three stars; simplistic stlye!

It was a heartwarming story, but I felt the author dragged it out to fill pages.

posted by 269498 on October 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymous

    I read this book on an airplane and finished i three hours. Im 12, and i have a poodle. When i read the story i really connected with Michael. My poodle means everything to me and if he got lost i would search relentlessly until i found him. And its actually comforting to read about all the generous people that were willing to help. I should hope the people in my small town would do the same for my family if my small vulnerable toy poodle got lost. All in all, this book is one of my top 10 favs along with Dewey and Homer's odessy, i also have two cats so i love those books too. I recommend them to all who loved Huck.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    A Truly Remarkable Story

    I was almost in tears when I finished Huck written by Janet Elder. This book is about Janet Elder, her relentless 12-year-old son Michael, and her husband Richard Pinksy. Michael, like myself, starts a relentless campaign for a canine companion seemingly as soon as he comes out of the womb. This touching story tells about Janet's close call with breast cancer and how she and her husband purchase an auburn-colored and micheivious toy poodle named Huck(short for Huckleberry). Huck was charming from the start with his little 9-pound self and shaggy "puppy cut". Then, when a much needed vacation comes up, Huck is left with Barbara and Dave, Janet's sister and brother-in-law, expierenced dog lovers and owners in a small New Jersey town called Ramsey. A devastating call is recieved on Rich's cell phone that Huck has slipped under the fenced-in backyard. Janet, Rich and Michael, who live in New York City, are starting to get used to a slow-paced vacation in Tampa Bay Far from their city lifestyle but their vacation comes to a close and abruptly ends as they fly back to New York and then drive to Ramsey. By some chance happening, after gruleing searches and putting up flyers, they find Huck thanks to many kind and considerate strangers. This book is truly inspiring and well-written. The happy ending topped it all off. I loved this book and recomend it to adults due to advanced vocabulary. Five stars out of five!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Best book ever

    I'm 11 and I read this book a few months ago and its the best book ever I really like all the detail and emotion in Huck

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Amazingly heart-warming!

    Huck left me re-reading again and again. Janet Elder has crafted a truly amazing tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Wow

    This book made me laugh at times and cry at others. Once the real story line was revealed i could not put the book down! Great read espeically for dog lovers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book was very sad but beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Very good

    Very heart warming! Those of you who didnt like it read it again you read it wrong! Love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    I+loved+the+book%21+And+i+am+a+kid%21

    This+book+was+very+adictave%21+I+couldn%27t+put+it+down%21+I+am+like+a+major+dog+freak%2C+so+i+could+relate+to+her+son%21+Some+parts+at+the+begining+may+make+it+unsuitable+for+younger+children%2C+but+if+u+lov+dogs+u+must+read%21+I+love+Huck%21+It+was+one+of+my+favorite+books%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    I+Liked+The+Part+With+The+Dog

    I+liked+the+part+with+the+dog

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    cute book!

    have klennex near by for this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    this book definitly is inspiring and shows how kind and giving strangers can be. it inspires dog lovers never to give up hope on there lost loved pets

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    huck

    this is the best story ever!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Huck: THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    The book I am reading is called Huck. I think the book Huck is fantastic book. It is a true story. The book is about a dog who changes the choices of a family about a getting a dog. The mom and dad want one, but they live in an apartment. Micheal, (the family's son) wants one really bad. But when Micheal turns twelve, his mom gets very bad and a spreading type of breast cancer. She thinks Micheal will have nobody to hug and love (besides his dad) if she passes. They end up getting Huck, a red toy poodle. He is the sweetest dog ever! The mom ends up living a very healthy life afterwards. This book is great for everyone who can read! This is great for animal lovers and non animal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2