BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hull Zero Three

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully Written... Dark, Complex, and Imaginative

I picked up Hull Zero Three because, firstly, I saw that one of my favorite authors, Vernor Vinge (Fire Upon the Deep), had written a tag line praising the book. Secondly, after reading the first page, I knew that Bear's writing could hold my interest.

Reading this ...
I picked up Hull Zero Three because, firstly, I saw that one of my favorite authors, Vernor Vinge (Fire Upon the Deep), had written a tag line praising the book. Secondly, after reading the first page, I knew that Bear's writing could hold my interest.

Reading this book was a pure pleasure. Bear's writing really serves to transport your mind into a specific state of being. The writing, coupled with some excellent twists and an array of imaginative ideas, left me spellbound through the entirety of the novel.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys dark SciFi.

posted by Aeshec on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thumbs down

I've been a Greg Bear fan since I read Eon 25 years ago and in the quarter century that's passed I've read almost everything he's written. Most of his writings are quite readable, some are truly page-turners, but every now and then he misses the mark widely. He missed i...
I've been a Greg Bear fan since I read Eon 25 years ago and in the quarter century that's passed I've read almost everything he's written. Most of his writings are quite readable, some are truly page-turners, but every now and then he misses the mark widely. He missed it in Dead Lines and he's missed it in Hull Zero Three. I found reading Hull Zero Three to be drudgery but I kept at it thinking that it would pick up and the work would be worth it. It didn't and it wasn't. It might be that I've been reading SciFi for more than 50 years now and am overly critical but I think not. This is just not a good book. Bear can do better and has. Hopefully he will again.

posted by Larreatri on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs down

    I've been a Greg Bear fan since I read Eon 25 years ago and in the quarter century that's passed I've read almost everything he's written. Most of his writings are quite readable, some are truly page-turners, but every now and then he misses the mark widely. He missed it in Dead Lines and he's missed it in Hull Zero Three. I found reading Hull Zero Three to be drudgery but I kept at it thinking that it would pick up and the work would be worth it. It didn't and it wasn't. It might be that I've been reading SciFi for more than 50 years now and am overly critical but I think not. This is just not a good book. Bear can do better and has. Hopefully he will again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    I am an avid SF reader. Hull zero three was one of the worst boo

    I am an avid SF reader. Hull zero three was one of the worst books I have ever attempted to read. I stayed with it for many pages,hoping that it would eventually make sense. I finally gave up, about 2/3rds through it. The narrative was chaotic. Maybe there were some good ideas, but they were lost among the rambling and repetitive account - I won't even call it a "story". I love most of Greg Bear's work. I don't understand why he wrote this, or why it was published.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    The ONLY book I've never finished reading! I loved other works b

    The ONLY book I've never finished reading!
    I loved other works by Bear like Eon, but he dropped the ball in this one.
    The begging is really awkward to read, I get that its supposed to follow a guy that doesn't know what is going on, but it felt like the Author didn't know how to write. Which we all know is not true, Eon and Blood music are fantastic.
    The pace is TOO fast, like you are trying to keep up and feel like you are missing key elements in the story, but in reality, they are not there.
    A good idea, poorly implemented.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Wonderfully Written... Dark, Complex, and Imaginative

    I picked up Hull Zero Three because, firstly, I saw that one of my favorite authors, Vernor Vinge (Fire Upon the Deep), had written a tag line praising the book. Secondly, after reading the first page, I knew that Bear's writing could hold my interest.

    Reading this book was a pure pleasure. Bear's writing really serves to transport your mind into a specific state of being. The writing, coupled with some excellent twists and an array of imaginative ideas, left me spellbound through the entirety of the novel.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys dark SciFi.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Very bad, alas

    I am a fan of Greg Bear, but I really did not like this book. I was unable to get past coupleof chapters. The confusion of the protagonist in the beginning, the staccato way of writing, horrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Pretty good read.

    Nothing like waking up on a spaceship with a bunch of monsters that want to kill you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Uggggg

    This was stupied painfull to read. Sorry

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hull Zero Thress

    Man wakes up on a ship travelling through space with little or no memory. A young girl saves him from danger and they travel through this huge ship which is damaged. They meet others (including twins?) and constantly fight against death to reach the forward part of the ship. Is this science fiction or a horror tale? Although, I like the premise, I could not get into this novel or the characters, including lead who is narrating the story. A certain miss for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hull Zero Three is a fun science fiction thriller

    Millenniums into the distant future, Sanjay wakes up without any memories. He has no idea who he is or how he got where he is. He also is confused by his guide, a small girl who seems aware of what is going on.

    As he somewhat gets his bearing, Sanjay learns he is on a starship sailing through space. The vessel contains generations traveling to a new home, but he soon learns an internal dispute threatens the safety of the ship and its passengers at a time when they enter a dangerous supernovae sector. Sanjay is beginning to learn why he is awake during this crisis as he is not what he thought he was.

    Hull Zero Three is a fun science fiction thriller that adds very little new to the generational ark in space sub-genre as the reader will know what follows in this frequently used theme (see the movie Pandorum and Baxter's Ark). Still filled with non stop action and starring an intriguing confused hero and several support characters adding to his bewilderment by their divided commentary, fans will enjoy disasters strike the starship of Hull Zero Three.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    choppy writing not up to his usual standards...my friend and I e

    choppy writing not up to his usual standards...my friend and I exchange it back n forth as a bad joke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A novel that keeps you guessing, a narrator whose scattered memo

    A novel that keeps you guessing, a narrator whose scattered memories bear little relation to his present situation, a space-ship that might be symbol or reality, and a wealth of characters who aren’t quite human but might not be anything else; it would be hard to imagine a more unsettling start or setting for a novel. But Greg Bear’s Hull Zero Three keeps readers glued to the page, providing just enough consistency and detail to promise a genuine resolution.

    The story has a computer-game feeling, with dark corridors, surprise scares waiting around corners, and sudden telling details that tie it all together. But everything is so beautifully and convincingly described, it makes a thoroughly enjoyable read. Cleverly three-dimensional and absorbingly real, it offers much more than any game, keeping the reader guessing, wondering, choosing and deciding as the tale progresses. Te freezing cold of space will have you shivering in your armchair, and the shape and design of the giant spaceship almost paints itself on the movie screen of the mind.

    A well-hidden mystery blends science and human error into a shape resembling myth as the tale comes together, making this a fascinating, fast-flowing novel exploring space and human nature and more. Highly recommended for fans of science fiction, and ponderers of the fate of humankind.

    Disclosure: One of my sons gave me this for Christmas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great Book

    Very riviting book good as any book Bear has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    A unique and interesting concept...

    This is my first reading of a Greg Bear work. The story is unique, and takes many unexpected turns. Though I wouldn't consider it a "page turner," it definitely held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    So so

    Thestory is intended to be a thriller. The narrstor starts out not knowing ehat is real or dream time. He slowly learns more about the real world as he comes up against various monsters. Finds friends. Not quite as formulaic as all that but the characters just did not engage me. Since I didn't care not much suspense. Othereise ok. Not a waste if time, but certainly not Bear's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    ok

    ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    another winner from Greg Bear

    there is a reason Greg Bear has won so many awards for his writing and this book is no exception.a complex story that you can still follow with ease...with characters you really want to learn about as the story goes on

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed the book. It was a great science fiction read, but you have to ignore some scientific improbabilities. I would definitely read a sequel to this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Decent book

    Book definitely started out fairly chilling, and you could really feel the fear and confusion of the protagonist as he struggled to survive. However, the story slowed down towards the middle, and the time shifting perspective near the end was somewhat disorienting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Well done

    Wonderful story. I found this to be a very creative piece of work

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Well concieved

    Well written and intricately imagined, I found it engaging. A good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4