Customer Reviews for

The Hum and the Shiver

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Musical Mayhem

The Hum and The Shiver by Alex Bledsoe This book features an insular clan of slightly askew folks whose talents for music dominate their lives. A mysterious clan that chooses to avoid society at large and has secrets that are never to be told. Bronwyn Hyatt is a likeabl...
The Hum and The Shiver by Alex Bledsoe This book features an insular clan of slightly askew folks whose talents for music dominate their lives. A mysterious clan that chooses to avoid society at large and has secrets that are never to be told. Bronwyn Hyatt is a likeable rebel in this book. She tried to escape her fate and her family. Her unwillingness to accept authority resonated with me and I'm sure with many others. Her personal habits are meant to shock and yet if you flipped her gender her behavior would be lauded by many men. The premise of the book is very thought provoking. This review is difficult because some of the more interesting factors would definitely be spoilers. If you enjoy Thomas Tryon and some of Stephen King's less flamboyant books, you will enjoy this music prone mystery. I highly recommend it.

posted by ibpurpledragon on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

All over the place

Too many subplots and too much vulgarity for no good reason. This could have been a good book, but turned out to be just ridculous.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    What happened?

    This was a good story that could have been great if the author had fleshed it out a bit. I found myself interested in the Tufa and could have benefited with more information and detail about them. It would have allowed me to connect more with the story. The ending of the story could have been wrapped up with a little more finesse as well. Overall, it was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book

    I couldn't put this book down! The only negative thing I have to say about it is the moment you start to figure everything out it ends. I really wanted to see where the characters ended up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great Read

    This was a great book. The only thing I could say against the book is that the ending seemed to come too quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Beautifully written.

    Wonderful story, abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Interesting!

    It took me a little bit to get in to this book, but it was worth it. Interesting characters, intruguing plotline. Makes me want to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Good Book!

    Wasn't sure if I would enjoy this book or not, must say I was plesantly surprised! Well wrtitten and very enjoyable. Would absolutely reccommend. Was a fast and easy read even though almost 700 pages. I just preorded the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Best free friday book in a long time!

    I read this as a Free Friday book, but I would buy this book. The author created a culture that is believable and fantastical at the same time. Reminisent of the Sharyn McCrumb ballad books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    recommended for those who like to explore the ideas of "different" senses

    well written, with the author gradually introducing the different abilities of the characters, making you reach forward to see what else is possible in the characters and makes you wonder who else will be unveiled as belonging to the descendants of the faeries. Look forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Interesting reading

    The beliefs of the Tufa are interesting, and at times a little bizarre. I did enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Wow

    I was swept away and all I can say is I want to go to the mountains and feel the Hum and the Shiver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Mystical and magical

    A dark fairy tale set in modern times with nicely delineated characters. A wounded female soldier is sent home to Appalachia by the military to recover from her injuries. The family and community situations she joined the Army to escape remain just as they were when she left. I don't want to give too much of the plot away, but the protagonist's ethnic heritage is revealed slowly, teasingly. Kept me reading to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Fernstars Epic Journey. Book One: Kelly meets cat. By: Crissy Kremp

    I would like to thank the author of Kate and the clans for my insperation this is the alligence post (no cats live from the last hope except Dewkit. Dewheart in this book.) ALLIGENCES: Thunderclan: LEADER: Goldenstar- a golden tom with black flecks and blue eyes Apprentice: Honeypaw DEPUTY: Swiftglide- a black and white she cat with green eyes MEDICINE CAT: Reedfeather- a brown red tom with specks of green and blue eyes. Apprentice: Lionpaw WARRIORS: Flamewhisker- a flame colored she cat with blue eyes. Sandwhisker- a sand colored tom with brown eyes Jaywing- a grey she cat with hasel eyes Apprentice: Duskpaw Featherstorm: a tortiseshell tom with a firece temper and blue eyes Apprentice: Dawnpaw Goldflower- a gold she cat with brown specks and blue eyes. Goldenstars sister. APPRENTICES: Lionpaw- a gold tom with green eyes Honeypaw(med cat app.)- a honey colored she cat with brown sploches and green eyes Duskpaw- a brown tom with black spots and hasel eyes. Dawnpaw- a red she cat with blue eyes. QUEENS: Vixoncross- a brown she cat with hasel eyes Mother to Goldenstars kits Bumblekit- a gold and brown tom with blue eyes and Treekit- a brown she cat with blue eyes and gold flecks. 4 moons. Bluekeep- a grey blue she cat with brown eyes mother to Featherstorms kits Fernkit- a tortiseshell she kit with briwn eyes and Stormkit- a grey blue tom with blue eyes. 2 moons ELDERS: Dewheart- dewkit from last hope RIVERCLAN: LEADER: Duskstar- a brown tom with blue eyes DEPUTY: Fogblaze- a grey she cat with green eyes MEDICINE CAT: Willowpetal WARRIORS: Mousedream- a grey she cat with brown streaks and brown eyes and Swifthike- a white tom with black paws and hasel eyes Apprentice: Cinderpaw APPRENTICES: Cinderpaw- a grey tome with brown eyes QUEENS: Wetstream- a grey blue she cat with green eyes ELDERS: Leopardstorm- a leopard tom with blue eyes WINDCLAN: LEADER: Petalstar- a red she cat with brown spots Apprentice: Featherpaw- a brown tom with blue eyes DEPUTY: Firestorm- a fire colored tom with blue eyes MEDICINE CAT: Heatherfern- like Heathertail WARRIORS: Goldenblade- a gold she cat with unusually long claws and hasel eyes Ravenstorm- a black tom with jade green eyes QUEENS: Sandgrass- a sand colored she cat with green spots ELDERS: Honeydew- a honey colored she cat with blue eyes SHADOWCLAN: LEADER: Shadowstar- a black she cat with brown eyes DEPUTY: Goldframe- a gold tom with brown eyes WARRIORS: Deerheam- a brown tom very fast with brown eyes and TallLeg- a black tom tom with long legs and blue eyes QUEENS: Jadestone- a jade colored she cat with blue eyes MEDICINE CAT: Dawnstorm- a brown she cat with red streaks ELDERS: Bumblehelp- a bumble bee striped tom with jade green eyes. PROLAUGE NEXT RES CHAPTER ONE RES 3 ECT. Thank you~Crissy Kremp

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    a new FAVORITE - my first by this author but not my last...

    a new FAVORITE - my first by this author but not my last...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4