BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hum and the Shiver

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Breathtaking story of mystery and romance

The Hum and the Shiver by Alex Bledsoe is hopefully the first book in a series about the Tufa people of the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Bronwyn Hyatt is returning home a decorated war hero and international celebrity after her capture by Iraqis and subsequent rescue. ...
The Hum and the Shiver by Alex Bledsoe is hopefully the first book in a series about the Tufa people of the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Bronwyn Hyatt is returning home a decorated war hero and international celebrity after her capture by Iraqis and subsequent rescue. But she's unsure about how she feels returning home to everything that she fled years ago, including her reputation as the Bronwynator. As a Tufa, there are expectations upon her, especially as a First Daughter, that she's spent her life running from, but she finds that being home begins to heal some of the places within her soul. A new pastor has come to the area hoping to lure some of the mysterious Tufa to his church, but their cheerful disinterest makes him curious about this enigmatic people who were here before the Europeans came to America and have an unusual relationship with music. Bledsoe has filled this novel with a fascinating set of characters, but even better a breathtaking view of the Tufa, whose mysteries and traditions fills the novel with fantasy and wonder. Bledsoe has created an unusual character in Bronwyn who is unrepentantly sexy, fiercely independent, and trying to figure out her role in an ancient culture. Bledsoe kept several secrets while also delivering some shocking revelations; I sincerely hope there is another book soon, because I don't know how long I can stand to wait!

posted by ChristysBookBlog on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

All over the place

Too many subplots and too much vulgarity for no good reason. This could have been a good book, but turned out to be just ridculous.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Breathtaking story of mystery and romance

    The Hum and the Shiver by Alex Bledsoe is hopefully the first book in a series about the Tufa people of the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Bronwyn Hyatt is returning home a decorated war hero and international celebrity after her capture by Iraqis and subsequent rescue. But she's unsure about how she feels returning home to everything that she fled years ago, including her reputation as the Bronwynator. As a Tufa, there are expectations upon her, especially as a First Daughter, that she's spent her life running from, but she finds that being home begins to heal some of the places within her soul. A new pastor has come to the area hoping to lure some of the mysterious Tufa to his church, but their cheerful disinterest makes him curious about this enigmatic people who were here before the Europeans came to America and have an unusual relationship with music. Bledsoe has filled this novel with a fascinating set of characters, but even better a breathtaking view of the Tufa, whose mysteries and traditions fills the novel with fantasy and wonder. Bledsoe has created an unusual character in Bronwyn who is unrepentantly sexy, fiercely independent, and trying to figure out her role in an ancient culture. Bledsoe kept several secrets while also delivering some shocking revelations; I sincerely hope there is another book soon, because I don't know how long I can stand to wait!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Musical Mayhem

    The Hum and The Shiver by Alex Bledsoe This book features an insular clan of slightly askew folks whose talents for music dominate their lives. A mysterious clan that chooses to avoid society at large and has secrets that are never to be told. Bronwyn Hyatt is a likeable rebel in this book. She tried to escape her fate and her family. Her unwillingness to accept authority resonated with me and I'm sure with many others. Her personal habits are meant to shock and yet if you flipped her gender her behavior would be lauded by many men. The premise of the book is very thought provoking. This review is difficult because some of the more interesting factors would definitely be spoilers. If you enjoy Thomas Tryon and some of Stephen King's less flamboyant books, you will enjoy this music prone mystery. I highly recommend it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    darn tootin'

    Absolutely LOVED this story and how it unfolds. This story has a wonderful mix of small town folks, family history, haints, tradition, music and magic-of-sorts.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Absolutely WONDERFUL! Can't wait for the next Tufa novel!!

    Absolutely WONDERFUL! Can't wait for the next Tufa novel!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Mountain lore, music and mystery

    Excellent read, with its own well-thought out mythos and a wide-ranging cast of modern characters. Ray Bradbury's October Country and Manly Wade Wellman's Silver John stories touch on some of the same themes of isolated tribes of people in the mountains, and Alex Bledsoe's unusual musicians have their own niche. I especially enjoyed the painting mentioned at the end--have a look for it, for sure, for an extra hint as to more of the heritage of the mysterious Tufa.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Terrific read

    I am eager to read more - but I can imagine the premise getting worn out. Think Odd Thomas. This book is that good, but Odd is starting to get thin, and so could the Tufa people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Couldn't stop reading

    This book definitely had an interesting concept. Worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Hum snd the Shiver

    Still trying to decide if I liked it or not. By no means was it among the best books I have read. It was interesting, although very vague in places. Would have liked to have more background about the Tufa, what they are capable of doing. It did catch my attention enough to see if i can find more books. I would have preferred a little more action, or maybe a little more explanation . It leads in one direction and you think you know what is going to happen, and then it goes in a entirely different direction. I did not expect the book to just all of a sudden end. It seemed to have just come to an abrupt stop, and just left you with a unfinished feeling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    All over the place

    Too many subplots and too much vulgarity for no good reason. This could have been a good book, but turned out to be just ridculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Captivating!

    Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Sucks

    Horrible lead character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    It took me the first several chapters to really get into, but once I did I couldn't put it down. You will greatly enjoy this book, I gaurantee it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Alejandro's Bio

    Name: Alejandro. Yes, that is my name in real life as well, so don't make Lady Gaga jokes. I don't appreciate them. My name is pronounced Alla-hahn-dro, and spelled A-l-e-j-a-n-d-r-o. If you don't think you can spell it, just call me Ale. <br> Age: Nineteen. <br> Appearance: I'm Hispanic. I have tan skin and wavy black hair, though my eyes are a pale hazel. I'm exactly six feet tall and have broud shoulders. Fit and somewhat muscular, I suppose. I have a tribal pattern tattoo sleeve on my right arm, which extends across my chest; I also have the word Vive tattooed on the inside of my left wrist. <br> Personality: I can be very blunt, but also friendly. I'm not loud and hyper, nor am I quiet and boring. I'm very loyal and have been told that I'm also very sympathetic. <br> Relationship Status: I am dating Her Ladyship Plague Krumbee Kwik at two different RPs. <br> Likes: Lord of the Rings; the band Needtobreathe; Mexican food; correct grammar; and really, mostly everything. <br> Dislikes: Attention hogs and soy sauce. Also, drunk drivers for some very personal reasons. <br> Other: I am a homeschool graduate and now divide my time between community college, a job at Target, and RPing. That's it, I guess.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Spirit, Snow, and Clara

    Name: Spirit Shadow

    Looks: Emo cut black hair with silver eyes

    Wears: Explains every morning in result 12

    Age: 19

    Crush/Boyfriend: Niko


    Personality: Just ask

    Name: Winter Snow or Snow

    Looks: Long silver hair with whiteish pale skin and blue eyes.

    Wears: a white tribal dress with silver bracelets on her arms and ankles with blue feathers in her hair and a white leather necklace that has a wolf tooth.

    Personality: She is quiet but caring. She comes from The Tribe of Nature. It is a secret tribe that has pale-skinned girls.

    Crush: Frostbite

    Name: Clara or Clear Skys

    Age: 18

    Looks: Blue hair cut at her shoulders like an anime character with silver dark blue eyes and pale skin.

    Wears: Blue tribal dress and is always barefoot with a leather necklace that has a white feather. She has them in her hair too.

    Personality: She is Caring and loving.

    Crush: Kellen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Robyn Alaska Valentine & Kellen Vincent Valentine

    Oooh okay so dis is gonna be long. <p>ROBYN: <p>NAME: uhh....hehe..<p>GENDER: &female <p>APPEARANCE: light brown skin slender black hair silver highlights silver and brown eyes <p>CRUSH: Eh. <p>PERSONALITY: youll see...hehehhahaa... <p>RACE: Mixed black/white <br>KELLEN: <p>NAME: O_o <p>GENDER: &male <p>APPERANCE: Pale skin sikver eyes long past the waist length silver hair muscular <p>CRUSH: IM NOT TELLING YEW! <p>PERSONALITY: You will see. <p>RACE: Mixed black/white <p>EXTRA EXTRA: Kellen has a daughter already...thirsty! Robyn and Kellen may seem like pretty relaxed people...wait till they get mad at each other..its on then. Robyn is older by a few months.....yeah. <p> Click on deh X in deh right hand corner!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Cat's bio

    Name:Catlyn (goes by Cat) gender:female age:17 looks:sholder-length curly blonde hairwith straight bangs hanging in her eyes and purple tips; bright blue eyes; ivry skin; plump rosy red lips; white tornup skinny jeans; purple vneck under a black leather jacket; black biker boots; silver fingerless gloves personality:a bit crazy, loves to have fun, energetic, flirty, and easily bored status:single and looking other:why don't you ask her? ;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Niko

    Name: Niko Lee Richards

    Age: Dunno, looks to be in his twenties

    Gender: Male

    Race: He's what they're calling a half-breed; he's half Native American, half Caucasian

    Appearance: Niko has aquamarine eyes, a muscular build, short, spiky black hair, and light copper skin. He usually wears a casual red tee-shirt, and ripped black jeans

    Personality: A bit shy, kind, caring, loyal, fierce, brave, and calm, though gets bored quite easily

    Crush: Uh... maybe

    Girlfriend: None

    Theme Song: One-X by Three Days Grace

    Other: He is known as Black Fox to his Native American friends

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Bios

    Name:Wendy Chase Anderson age:25 persona:she is very romantic she is looking for a guy and she is caring nice and sweet to the touch she wants to have a nice guy she can do you if you want her too looks:6'0 muscley woman tan she runs and likes stuff likes:guys straight people t.v. video games she wants a bff caring nice people wwe nickele creek dislikes:gays lesbeians lazy people mean people drunks tna guys who abuse girls rap hip hop lady gaga (execp for alejandro) themes:listen to your heart by d.h.t. reasons why and when you come back down by nickel creek i need you now by lady a the one that got away and wide awake by katy perry rolling in the deep and set fire to the rain by adel royals by lorde other:just ask

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    TrailerParkTales

    The hum is a protagonist and a collection of side characters so unpleasant as to be cartoonish. The shiver is ignorant backwoods folk with "powers". Now funny is this author giving them all GOOD teeth--definitely not the case for people like this. Strange. Just could not suspend disbelief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Something unusual,a combo of modern and old,fantasy and all to real

    I really enjoyed this book. The only thing that would improve it would be to hear the songs that are only talked about in the book. There is great character developement, enough action to keep it moving without being overwhelmed by it. The mystery within the story kept me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4