Customer Reviews for

The Human Brain Book

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Rita Carter's book, The Human Brain, is an absolutely fantastic

    Rita Carter's book, The Human Brain, is an absolutely fantastic book. The many pictures contributes a great deal to the learning process. I do not work in the medical field so this book provides a tremendous amount of information for people like me. I have read this book all the way through and I have read quite a lot of the pages 2 or 3 times on this first read-through. This book is so well written. This book inspires me to pursue more information in this field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Detailed history and examples

    Detailed history of brain neurology and it's examples - both positive and tragic. THE book on the human brain if you're interested in understanding the how and why we are who we are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Fascinating

    This book is amazing and I spent many hours of leisure time reading this for fun; I origionally bought the book in order to write a report. This book, along with some thought, has made me seriously consider working in the neuro field. Very easy to read, great pictures, very interesting, LOTS of information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Interesting & informative

    My son received this book for his birthday; he has a strong interest in science in general and has recently been researching the human brain. He requested this book for his birthday. This book has information, diagrams and pictures that are helpful and interesting. It presents the topic in a way that is easy enough to understand but does not talk down to him. It has help fuel his interest in learning more.
    His class (6th grade) is currently learning about human biology/anatomy. Last week he was even critiquing the textbook how the diagrams were not quite accurate.. based in part by what he has learned from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    The Human Brain Book by Rita Carter is a must have book for anyone seeking greater understanding of the Human Brain. The book also contains The Human Brain DVD!

    This book is phenomenal. The color imaging, photos, and pictures help one understand the healthy and damaged brain. As someone who sustained a Traumatic Brain Injury, I find this book extremely helpful in understanding the changes between my preinjury and postinjury self. Much of what was explained to me, during my recovery period, is so much clearer with the aid of this book. I would recommend this book and DVD to professionals, friends and families, and people with Brain Injuries. Rita Carter and all those who made this book possible should be commended for their outstanding accomplishments and service to humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Way To Experience The Brain!!!

    I am a student and I am currently studying neuropsychology and biopsychology. This book is excellent for student studies. Every area of the brain is dissected and clearly marked with great information. I have never seen so much work put into one book! The pictures are the main reason that I purchased this book. It is a lot pricier than other books, but it is well worth what you pay!

    This book is great for beginner students (I highly recommend for undergraduate students) and not just for any general reader. This book would be helpful to aid in education (for teachers), but not advanced enough for Scholars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Finally, a visual guide to this most complex part of the body!

    I have wondered all my life why people believe and behave differently and why they view or perceive things differently. The brain is at the center of all of that and is so complex. Medicine is still finding new aspects of it and will probably never solve the riddles completely. But this book at least takes an excellent stab at detailing how senses and emotions are processed in different sections of the brain by offtering the most superb collection of 3D renderings I have ever seen. It fits my curiosity perfectly. One reviewer challenged a bit the topic of whether the research was completely accurate, or complete or without bias. Those arguments may go on forever, but for me that doesn't diminish the stunning value of this book. I was a meteorologist before retiring, and I can say that books on weather would lead some weather professionals to pose the same arguments about the accuracy and completeness of weather research topics in such a book. However, for the person who has long wondered how basic weather works, such a book with 3D illustrations for the invisible weather processes would be a major break through. That's how I value this book. Simply put, it is the best I have seen on the human brain having searched libraries and bookstores for a book of this type for quite some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    I bought this daughter, and ended up using it for part of a research project. It has a ton of information and great pictures. Everything is explained in easy to understand language. Worth every dollar.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1