BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Human.4

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great YA scifi!!

HUMAN.4, by Mike A. Lancaster, is a thrilling documentary-style story about a teen and three others in his village whose lives are turned upside down after being under hypnosis. Lancaster created a story will linger in your mind long after Kyle's tapes have stopped.
...
HUMAN.4, by Mike A. Lancaster, is a thrilling documentary-style story about a teen and three others in his village whose lives are turned upside down after being under hypnosis. Lancaster created a story will linger in your mind long after Kyle's tapes have stopped.

I was absolutely blown away by this book and I clung to each word. I loved the structure of the book. It was a transcription of the tapes that Kyle recorded in the hopes of those listening would remember the few 0.4's left. I liked the little notes that the transcriber made in regards to phrases and words that were no longer relevant in the current world.

Lancaster's hypnotized characters were very special to me by the end. I felt like I was one of them in the fight to understand what the heck happened when they were hypnotized. The world they woke up to was definitely scary, which strengthened my connection with them. And even though it was such a small part, I am still a girl and I wanted Kyle and Lilly to kiss and make up. Their relationship was rocky from a previous indiscretion and what better time to make up for it when it seems you are the only two normal teens left!

I won't ruin the plot but for those who love science fiction, this book is definitely for you. Lancaster kept me in suspense until the very end and I was anxious to know what would happen to his characters who were left behind and seemingly unnoticed.

*Cover Note* Loved the cover. Definitely a significance in the book which steps up the creepy factor.

posted by kittydanza on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Science Fiction

When I first heard about Human.4 I have to admit I was intrigued, because not only was the cover different and interesting looking but the premise sounded amazing. Luckily enough Human .4 is suspenseful, imaginative science fiction fun!

Everything changes the day Da...
When I first heard about Human.4 I have to admit I was intrigued, because not only was the cover different and interesting looking but the premise sounded amazing. Luckily enough Human .4 is suspenseful, imaginative science fiction fun!

Everything changes the day Danny Birnie tells Kyle, Simon, and Lilly that he hypnotized his sister. When the three first hear about it they laugh it off at yet another attempt of Danny's to catch their attention, but when the day of the talent show comes to their small town, they are sadly mistaken. Suddenly, Kyle and Lilly as well as two others are thrust in two a new world- one that has them as the top enemy and their past friends and family acting like their outcasts. What has happened? Is this some sick and twisted game, or is there something even more sinister and evil in play? Only time will tell in this fast paced tale of one boy's fight to rewrite the past and fix the future before it's too late.

One of the most compelling and well-done aspects of this book was without a doubt the premise and its execution. The idea of humanity being upgraded every few years was startling and scary and, most importantly, believable, and it only made the book even better, in my opinion. Better yet, I loved how the reader gets to learn about all of this right along with Kyle and his friend Lilly.

And talking about Kyle and Lilly, both were decently developed characters. Simon was the average teen, albeit this whole thing of upgrading he is thrown into, and Lilly was the same. The bond they form during Human.4 was yet another great part of the book, because it was interesting to see them slowly let down their guards and help one another in this huge mess, as well as begin to develop something more.

The only part I wasn't too found of with this book was the that Lancaster has left me with several questions based on the Lilly and Kyle's "new" world and such, though I read somewhere there will be a sequel to this, so hopefully everything will be cleared up sooner than later.

Lastly, Mike's writing was great for a debut author. I thought he did a great job of developing a thoroughly hashed out plot and characters in only 200 or so pages, so I'm excited to see what's next for him book wise.

In all, if you love science fiction and world that are so believable they are scary, Human.4 is the book for you!

Grade: B

posted by Lauren817 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Great YA scifi!!

    HUMAN.4, by Mike A. Lancaster, is a thrilling documentary-style story about a teen and three others in his village whose lives are turned upside down after being under hypnosis. Lancaster created a story will linger in your mind long after Kyle's tapes have stopped.

    I was absolutely blown away by this book and I clung to each word. I loved the structure of the book. It was a transcription of the tapes that Kyle recorded in the hopes of those listening would remember the few 0.4's left. I liked the little notes that the transcriber made in regards to phrases and words that were no longer relevant in the current world.

    Lancaster's hypnotized characters were very special to me by the end. I felt like I was one of them in the fight to understand what the heck happened when they were hypnotized. The world they woke up to was definitely scary, which strengthened my connection with them. And even though it was such a small part, I am still a girl and I wanted Kyle and Lilly to kiss and make up. Their relationship was rocky from a previous indiscretion and what better time to make up for it when it seems you are the only two normal teens left!

    I won't ruin the plot but for those who love science fiction, this book is definitely for you. Lancaster kept me in suspense until the very end and I was anxious to know what would happen to his characters who were left behind and seemingly unnoticed.

    *Cover Note* Loved the cover. Definitely a significance in the book which steps up the creepy factor.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Yay

    Cant wait for the sequal!!!!! Does anyone know when it will be published?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Absolutely incredible

    This story was amamzing. With twists and turns and a shocker of a story line, this story is by far one of the best that i have read. It gives a look into a surprizingly sad future. And makes the reader truely think... what would do if you missed the upgrade?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Science Fiction

    When I first heard about Human.4 I have to admit I was intrigued, because not only was the cover different and interesting looking but the premise sounded amazing. Luckily enough Human .4 is suspenseful, imaginative science fiction fun!

    Everything changes the day Danny Birnie tells Kyle, Simon, and Lilly that he hypnotized his sister. When the three first hear about it they laugh it off at yet another attempt of Danny's to catch their attention, but when the day of the talent show comes to their small town, they are sadly mistaken. Suddenly, Kyle and Lilly as well as two others are thrust in two a new world- one that has them as the top enemy and their past friends and family acting like their outcasts. What has happened? Is this some sick and twisted game, or is there something even more sinister and evil in play? Only time will tell in this fast paced tale of one boy's fight to rewrite the past and fix the future before it's too late.

    One of the most compelling and well-done aspects of this book was without a doubt the premise and its execution. The idea of humanity being upgraded every few years was startling and scary and, most importantly, believable, and it only made the book even better, in my opinion. Better yet, I loved how the reader gets to learn about all of this right along with Kyle and his friend Lilly.

    And talking about Kyle and Lilly, both were decently developed characters. Simon was the average teen, albeit this whole thing of upgrading he is thrown into, and Lilly was the same. The bond they form during Human.4 was yet another great part of the book, because it was interesting to see them slowly let down their guards and help one another in this huge mess, as well as begin to develop something more.

    The only part I wasn't too found of with this book was the that Lancaster has left me with several questions based on the Lilly and Kyle's "new" world and such, though I read somewhere there will be a sequel to this, so hopefully everything will be cleared up sooner than later.

    Lastly, Mike's writing was great for a debut author. I thought he did a great job of developing a thoroughly hashed out plot and characters in only 200 or so pages, so I'm excited to see what's next for him book wise.

    In all, if you love science fiction and world that are so believable they are scary, Human.4 is the book for you!

    Grade: B

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Freaky

    This book will make you fear hypnosis. Be afraid of what you rrad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    This book was amazing. Honestly. The details and realistic feel of this sci-fi novel were both really great. Twists and turns make this book thrilling. It made me question things in life, now somewhat more knowledgable than before I read this. You need to read this!!! You will never see the world questionable again! Besides the somewhat bad ending, all in all a good dystopian read. Thanks!!! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Screw h8rs

    You only dont like this book because it has depth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Was very confusing

    It was good until the end

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Bad ending

    This was overall not a good read. The ending wasnt thought out very well. It was kind of just like, "wow great book" until the end. I still cant get over that. It was a great plot and had potential, but the ending really brought it down.

    Bottom line: Dont read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Freakin awesome

    Really good and creepy and smart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    don't bother

    The humans that did not get the up grade were some slow to catch on to what was happening. It takes the entire book for these poor people to finally realize that they cannot fit into the new system.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Read

    I love this book but i wish there would be a second book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Awsome book and espeacially how he made the people telling different

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo

    We are always waiting breathlessly for the latest and greatest technology. It seems like computers, communication devices, and software programs are updated almost daily. Having the most up-to-date version often has us standing in line. What if humans could be updated? Would we be as excited if there were new versions of us? And what about humans who for some reason missed the latest update? Kyle and four others at the Millgrove annual talent show volunteered to be hypnotized. Kyle isn't really worried, since the star of the act is a fellow teen named Danny who usually performs a fairly unsuccessful magic act each year. The four volunteers take the stage and Danny begins his act. A short time later, the volunteers awake to a small town crowd filled with their friends and relatives, but something is different - very different. Kyle, Lilly, Mrs. O'Donnell, and Mr. Peterson are facing an audience frozen in time. Everyone watching the performance is sitting unmoving on the village green. Kyle and the others approach individuals but receive no response when they attempt to communicate. Mr. Peterson seems to be in shock, so Kyle, Lilly, and Mrs. O'Donnell go in search of answers. Within an hour, the town seems to be back to normal, or at least the frozen residents have resumed activity and headed toward their homes. However, what Kyle experiences at home is far from his regular family life. His parents and brother are moving again, and they look normal, but there is something not right about the way they interact. Whispered conversations and an unexpected visit from the family physician cause Kyle to be even more suspicious. The four volunteers all experience abnormal behavior by friends and family and decide they need to stick together. They stumble across the truth at a local farm, but can hardly believe what they are seeing. It is clear that they are the only ones left of their kind. Author Mike A. Lancaster takes readers into a frightening version of the future. Humans have been upgraded to a newer version; however, four individuals have been left behind. The upgraded humans seem happy enough, although they have some disturbing new characteristics. Lancaster presents his story through cassette tapes recorded by Kyle. The messages left on the tapes will have readers looking at the technology around them very differently. HUMAN.4 is perfect for dystopian and sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    is this good?

    i dont know if i want to read it anyone who has tell me if its good or bad any recommedations for a twelve year old with a really high reading score?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    ehh.......

    I first was intrigued by the cover of this book and thought it was be an interesting read, since I have been long overdue for a good Sci-Fi novel. It is difficult to write a thorough review since doing so would reveal many plot spoilers. The plot itself feels almost too much of a matrixy background with the world we live is not what it seems. I don't feel it would be fair to say it is a carbon copy of the matrix since Lancaster does create his own and interesting spin on simulated reality through tapes and programs. Yet, the overall presentation is what makes this book feel too underdeveloped especially with the characters. Most of the characters lack a certain degree of emotional appeal and are too rushed to form any real character development, except for one individual, yet this only comes to the very end of the novel. In trying to develop the characters, Lancaster throws in an emotional struggle between the main character and an ex-girlfriend that screams predictability and is completely unnecessary since the characters should be trying to figure out what is going on around them than reminisce on old puppy love. But to be fair, I would recommend this to matrix fans or people who like a short read to discuss simulated reality. For people who are barely interested in simulated Sci-Fi I would recommend to try for something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2