Customer Reviews for

Humanize: How People-Centric Organizations Succeed in a Social World

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Elva

    Bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Tanner

    Ok... im going to the park honey... be back later

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Community garden

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Hospital

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Kat

    Arris

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Puts other business books to shame

    Let's face it; I often find myself picking up a book about business only to become bored before I'm halfway through it. Not only is the subject matter commonly overbaked but the writing falls short. Humanize does neither and in fact, takes social media and gives it the human face that it deserves. If you recognize that organizations are nothing without their people, give this book a read. And then read it again. And tell your friends to read it too. It's a well written book that incorporates a novel approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    A how-to for creating a leading 21st Century Company

    In the beginning, we created the machine. And it was good. And we modeled so many things after the machine for this reason - for example, the organization. This book deals with the fall-out of that decision in a post-industrial, pre-robotic world. Is the modeling of  the company after the machine still relevant? 

    If not, how do we change? 

    Humanize is a must-read for anyone, in any company or organization seeking to do more than pay lip-service to these thoughts, and contains practical exercises that can help transform a company from the inside. 

    This may seem to be a book about social media, and it is, but only in the sense that social media starkly and profoundly reflects how the  business landscape is changing, and accelerating the pace at which companies and other organizations must respond or die. 

    It's a manual for how to change a 20th Century company into one ready for the 21st, and the ability to adapt to the many changes it will continue to bring with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    This book had me by page 3!

    "As the Internet has become more central in our lives, we have begun to witness a revival of the importance of being human." Page 3, Humanize.

    From that point forward, from that beginning, this book underlines and asterisks--as the subtitle says--how important being people-centric is for organizations to succeed in a social world. Chapter 4, "Challenges to Socializing Business," was particularly helpful. it walks through the major hurdles such as culture, hierarchy, risk, process, and more, providing helpful insights and solutions businesses and social media professionals can apply.

    Most importantly, it provides great instruction about the importance of and how to be open, trustworthy, generative and courageous.

    The easy-going yet professional tone, appropriate lists, and useful subheads make it very readable, even if you have to do it in short spurts.

    For any business or individual about to get more social this is where they should begin to keep themselves human, because that's who the social world wants to connect with. And if it's too late, and they're already down the wrong road, this book can bring them back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    I Wasn't Allowed To Be Human At Work So I Quit

    Why is there such a big difference between our lives and our work? Why do organizations struggle to make Social Media work?

    For the same reasons... we don't bring our humanity to work, and big organizations institutionalize inhuman activities. Customers don't like being treated like a number.

    Authors Maddie Grant and Jamie Notter unravel these dehumanizing forces and recommend solutions in their new book Humanize: How People-Centric Organizations Succeed in a Social World. I interviewed them to help you get a sense of the importance and power of this book. Also, the book is hardcover, so if someone at your company doesn't "get it", you can hit them on the head with the book until they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Need to Move Your Org Forward? Read This Book.

    Humanize is a must read for organizations. It is so much more than a social media book. It is a book in leadership for today's new world. It gives you the framework needed to make your organization more human less machine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    One of the most important books about social media you will ever read!

    "Humanize" is not a book about social media tools, strategies and tactics. It's a book that addresses what really creates online success (or failure) for organizations: Heart-centered leadership.

    I've worked with hundreds of nonprofits on various aspects of online marketing strategy, and often been in situations where I know that the organization will not succeed with even the best tools and strategies if they do not change their culture first. Humanize addresses these core problems in a way that is easy to follow. Get this book if you want to avoid wasting a whole lot of resources on yet another failed social media campaign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1