Customer Reviews for

Humans of New York

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An amazing book filled with the wonders that is the very heart o

An amazing book filled with the wonders that is the very heart of New York City.

posted by 17458654 on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

NYC is not all pretty colors and smiles like this book portrays.

NYC is not all pretty colors and smiles like this book portrays. Great propaganda to promote tourism and the "glamour" of NYC. The boroughs are a little rougher than this books shows. Very disappointing.  

posted by 8941190 on November 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    An amazing book filled with the wonders that is the very heart o

    An amazing book filled with the wonders that is the very heart of New York City.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    The True Soul And Spirit Of New York

    I loved this book so very much. I could not put it down!
    At a glance with every picture you can see the true heart of New York City through the eyes of people from all walks of life. The photographs jump off the page.
    Absolutely EXCELLENT book. VERY HIGHLY recommended!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Absolutely stunning!

    I have been following HONY on facebook for awhile now so I was very excited when the book came out. I purchased it before the holidays intending to enjoy it when that hectic time of year was passed. I ended up giving the first copy I purchased as a gift when I realized I had not gotten anything for my brother-in-law. I knew he would love it, and he did! It took a little while longer for me to get my own copy, but it was worth the wait. The pictures are absolutely stunning! A real kaleidoscope of NY. I have been rationing myself to just a few pages a day because this is one book I want to savor. A really remarkable book, a really remarkable photographer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Let Your Eyes Feast on Humans of New York!

    You know how some music can elicit a strong emotional response? Here is a catalog of striking visual images that can do the same. I bought the book after walking past it in the bookstore and being caught by the title. I picked it up and opened it at random. The image I saw was of a lovely woman of a certain age, colorfully dressed with lavender pants, a green and pink/lavender top, a multi-hued bag slung across her body and vibrantly colored necklace and earrings. The words alongside said, "I've been a widow for five years now, and I guess I'm worried that men look at how I dress and just don't "get it". My late husband "got it", of course. I'd love to meet someone, but I'm not going to change anything about myself to do it." I flipped through a few other pages, and thought, gee, what a nice book. But I walked away because I was out shopping for Christmas gifts and not for me. That night, I kept thinking about that self-assured and lovely woman in the photo. How the photo perfectly captured the essence of who she is. A few other images stayed in my mind, too. And then I was thinking about the last time I was in NYC, and people-watching on the street and how that was my favorite part of being there. So...the next day I went online and found the book again and bought it. I love revisiting the "Humans of New York", and getting that little taste once again of what makes humans (and New York) so fascinating. The book is "music" for your eyes. Enjoy the symphony! My only criticism is I wish there were page numbers so I could tell you where the colorful woman's photo is, in the book! It's near the beginning, about 20 pages or so in. If you love portrait and unplanned imagery photos, or if you just love human beings, this is the book you want.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    This book is spectacular.  From the other comments, you can tell

    This book is spectacular.  From the other comments, you can tell who also follow his tumblr or facebook page and who doesn't, because those that have only seen the book, don't quite get it.  It's not showing pretty colors and pretty smiles as someone put it.  He shows real human interest stories, that touch your heart, that yes sometimes make you smile and sometimes make you weep.  Every person has a story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    NYC is not all pretty colors and smiles like this book portrays.

    NYC is not all pretty colors and smiles like this book portrays. Great propaganda to promote tourism and the "glamour" of NYC. The boroughs are a little rougher than this books shows. Very disappointing.  

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    My copy came today. Beautiful book, photos and text done with s

    My copy came today. Beautiful book, photos and text done with sensitivity and intelligence. I've never been to NYC and this has given me a wonderful glimpse of its diverse people I highly recommend to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    ...can't wait for "Humans of New York Too"...!!

    ...can't wait for "Humans of New York Too"...!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    I've been a fan of the blog for a long time and can't wait to ge

    I've been a fan of the blog for a long time and can't wait to get my hands on this book. Its always been a dream of mine to move to NYC and the people in this book make that dream grow even stronger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Amazing book, captivating pictures, could not stop reading it !!!!!!

    I always been in love with NYC and this book does a great job at portraiting the city and all its incredible people!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2015

    a. I read part of this book every day and they challenge my view

    a. I read part of this book every day and they challenge my views of life. Many different types of people are featured in this book, and they have showed me new ways to view the world. I experience the fear and isolation a refugee feels coming to America, the anger from the death of a father, the fascination of a child with bridges, the admiration and love a parent holds for their child, the remorse of a convict, the PTSD of a military veteran, and the dreams of an aspiring librarian. Humans of New York showcases stories that enable me to see the lives of those who have endured hardships far greater than those I will ever encounter; I have had a wonderful childhood with parents who love me and I have never had a want left unsatisfied. These small glimpses into others’ lives have taught me to be grateful and more appreciative of the life I have been given. This page has the ability to allow me to empathize with the people sharing their stories; I am able to feel their sadness, their happiness, and their anger because Humans of New York creates human connections through their posts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    We Love This Book!

    Purchased this book for my daughter who follows Humans of New York on Facebook. She loves it so much that another books comes out in the future, she wants them all! The photos and stories (statements) of each those featured are wonderful and often bring a smile to my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Amazing!

    Love the FB page and the book is just as terrific

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    Highly recommended-you must check it out!!! Really!!

    After seeing this author's Facebook page and reading the little stories, I decided to get the book for myself. When I saw that one of my friends liked the page as well, I decided to buy them a copy as well. So far of what I've read has been exactly what I thought: perfect. The photos and the stories, whether sad or happy, is what makes it a perfect combination.
    My friend opened up the present and she was mad speechless. She actually had wanted this book for quite a while and she said I wouldn't be able to top next Christmas! So I guess I did good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    Love the book, & love the Facebook page where I learned abou

    Love the book, & love the Facebook page where I learned about the book.  He's a student of human nature with the ability to summarize it using great photos and brief but often profound commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    well done

    well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    Great books not only for Humans of New York fans but for all the

    Great books not only for Humans of New York fans but for all the people who love the stories of life, love, success, failure, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is so interesting! I love that it shows how open and e

    This book is so interesting! I love that it shows how open and eager New Yorkers are to share their stories with someone they just met. The photographs are high quality, the stories and quotes are intriguing, and they sometimes bring a smile to my face or make me laugh. In this book we see and read about the lives of immigrants, parents, entertainers, students, kids, etc. I keep looking back at the pictures and they never get old. To me, it shows the beauty and sense of community in New York City that not everyone knows about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Brandon Stanton stumbled upon a brilliant art. The stories and pictures are beautiful. Everyone should have a copy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    DON'T MISS THIS BOOK!

    EXCELLENT BOOK! The photography is wonderfully entertaining. It brings tears
    and laughter, showing all sides of humanity in our modern culture. I highly recommend
    it. It will certainly make your day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3