Customer Reviews for

The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing book Amazing

    F

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Phenomenal Story

    "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" by Victor Hugo is a fictional story set in Paris, France & published in 1831. The novel became a classic & the Hunchback became a tragic hero as well as a cultural icon.

    January 6, 1482 is a holiday in Paris, France. The "Festival of Fools" is in full swing & the deformed bell-ringer of Notre Dame Cathedral, Quasimodo, is crowned as the Pope of Fools.

    Among the crowd is the beautiful Esmeralda, a gypsy girl with a kind heart & a mischievous goat. Esmeralda captured the hearts of many men including Quasimodo, Claude Frollo the Archdeacon of Notre Dame & Quasimodo's adopted father, as well as Captain Phoebus de Chateaupers.

    Frollo, who is torn between his heart's desire & the church's code, orders Quasimodo to kidnap Esmeralda. However, Quasimodo is captured by the guards, led by Captain Phoebus, who whip him & leave him tied down in the heat. Esmeralda offers him water, saves his life & captures his heart in the process.

    Frollo, up to his old tricks again, tried to kill Phoebus whom Esmeralda clearly prefers; however he fails & frames Esmeralda for the assassination. As she is led to the gallows, Quasimodo swings down from the tower & carries her off to the cathedral. Under the law Esmeralda is now in a sanctuary. The criminals of Paris charge the Cathedral to save her, the King who happens to be in Paris as well vetoes the law of sanctuary & commands his troops to capture & kill Esmeralda.

    Mistakenly Quasimodo believes that the criminals are trying to hurt his beloved & drives them off. Frollo however hands Esmeralda to the troops. While watching her hang, Quasimodo pushes Frollo off the tower to his untimely end.

    In a dark & disturbing ending, Quasimodo lies next to Esmeraldas's body in a mass grave, his arms around her, & eventually dies of starvation.

    This is a desperate & quite depressing novel. It is filled with the loneliness of 15th Century Paris, its dark corridors, streets & stench.

    The book tells the stories of three tragic & lonely figures. Claude Frollo, archdeacon of Notre Dame, La Esmeralda, an enchanting gypsy, & Quasimodo, the disfigured bell ringer as well as Frollo's adopted son. Surprisingly, Quasimodo has a small role in the book which was originally titled "Notre-Dame de Paris" or "Our Lady of Paris" - a much more appropriate, yet less imaginative title.

    The dark, brooding & punishing interactions between the complex characters are a mastery of storytelling. The relationships of the characters with themselves are also part of this complex plot. Frollo's struggle with Catholicism vs. desire & Esmeralda's unwillingness to accept a revolting creature for his good heart are only a two examples of what makes this story brilliant. The story is peppered with a few twists, some humor (as much as will allow in the brooding story arc) with sarcasm & mockery galore.

    The book's most frustrating point, & the one which discourages many seasoned readers, is the pages upon pages of descriptive images, whether the streets of Paris down to the cracks (it seems) in the sidewalks or the Notre Dame Cathedral, brick-by-brick almost. The pacing of the book moves unevenly, most of the novel takes place over a period of six month, however the final chapters shoot forward a year & a half or two years.

    Mr. Hugo got paid by the word, as were many other authors back then, however, once y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    BAH!!!

    Alright so I was thinking of buying this book, but I wasn't sure so I downloaded the sample and, uh, it was only the intro. Just a warning to all you. I heard the book was great, but I'm kind of frustrated now... heh. I'll buy it later.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Danger DDANGER! Alert! Boredom headed your way!

    I hated how Hugo would go on and ON about absolutely NOTHING! He would even say, "But let's get back to the story now." I mean COME ON MAN! It took you 501 pages to come up with a few decent subplots, and some mild suspense? Heck! The ending was one of the worst endings ever to be concocted! Second only to Shakespeare's Hamlet. :-( I HATED this book! Not only am I lacking in speaking French, but there was a lot of jargon from the Catholic religion and just randomness from France. But if you don't want to take my word for it, then go ahead and write yourself a death sentence, read the book for yourself.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    test

    test

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Notre Dame de Paris

    This book is probably one of the most unique and seductive stories ever to come out of a human mind. The reader is immersed in Medieval Paris, amidst the staunch Catholicism, the rituals, the savage brutality of the Dark Ages, the steamy markets containting le sang des viandes, the gold-bangled gypsies, thieves, knives, lords and ladies, knights, gothic turrets, and a hunchbacked bell-ringer of Notre Dame. Monsieur Hugo developed a brilliant masterpiece of love, prejudices, and the easy failures of man-la vie. Incredibly touching and moving, The Hunchback of Notre Dame is something worth remembering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Gypsies, Poets, Hunchbacks, and Priests

    Transported to Medieval Paris, the reader becomes engrossed in this dark tale. The author brings the reader through exhilirating circumstances and presents different concepts on morality, broadening the readers mind. This book haunted me after I had finished reading it. There are no words to describe the brilliance of this masterpiece. I cried in sorrow and awe at the end of the book, thinking 'Dear God, this is genius'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    A Review

    This was a good book although I did find it at times very dark. Some of the chapters are a little boring especially the description of Paris but the exciting parts made up for this later on. I do recommend this book as a piece of classic literature well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    An Incredible Book

    The Hunchback of Notre Dame is a book filled with adventure, romance, sadness, and philosophy. Victor Hugo beautifully wrote this book, and I was especially fascinated with his incredible depictions of 15th century Paris and Notre Dame. Definately a classic, but not what you could call a 'Feel Good' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    AMAZING!!!

    Though some may find this book long and boring, I found it captivating. The passion and emotion captured within the characters and situations in the book are unexpressable. Hugo's friendlyness in his writing leaves you without the feeling of someone writing down to you. You are so easily absorbed in the story that you can help but get lost in the Notre Dame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Hunchback of Notre Dame, a religious story

    Victor Hugo¿s Hunchback of Notre Dame is a timeless classic that discloses Victor¿s ability to beautifully share Hunchback¿s unrequited love. The book also displays Hugo¿s Christian devotion by his carefully written descriptions of actual Churches. Those physical descriptions underline Christianity. A reader must carefully understand Hugo¿s environment and influences of religion during his writing. Hugo¿s noble is not only about romance but it also is about religion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    A timeless Tale of Love

    'Notre-Dame de Paris' is probably the most incredible book I have every read. Though some have written that the book is boring or the characters 2-dimentional, what I would like to ask is why it is such a classic? This timeless tale will always be the most memorable and beautiful love story I have ever read. Though I thought Esmeralda was a little vain, it just enfasizes on the love that she had on Phoebus. THis book will always be on my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Sadness, Romance, Suduction, and Battle

    Victor is a saint in the world of writing. The hunchback is just written a way no one else has ever been able to accomplish and his plotlines are incredable. I will tell you if your into stories with happy little bunnies and where the girl gets the prince this isn t for you. The story is sad and dark but offers some comedy and moments of bliss, but most of the time it s sad. The charactors are timeless and teh actiosn so rememerable that even after four months i could name what happened in every chapter. If you liked Les Miserables definatly get this. Victor seems to put all his talents into the book and it s just amzing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Great Book

    I recommend anyone to read this book it is great. It's a bit on the long side but if you read it you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    off to a good start

    This book should have been better considering the beginning. It started out funny and witty. It became overly descriptive in the scenery and not descriptive enough with the character developement. I had high hopes for this book but was sadly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    It stole my heart throughout the book and it wouldn't give it back until the end!

    Simply one of the best books ever in the history of literature! It definitely hooks you in since the first page and you never loose contant with the rest of the pages, it's just too absorbing and the language in which Victor Hugo writes with is so beautiful and vivid! It envokes all human emotions and you'll be astonished until the VERY END! The end was so sorrowful though!!! It'll seriously make you shed tears! Definitely deserves to be on any reader's booklist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Hunchback For The Ages

    A truly great story of Quasimodo, the bell ringer of Notre Dame, and his love for the gypsy, Esmeralda. A story of beauty, love, jealousy, and the grotesque, Hugo deftly describes Paris of the 1400s and creates the myth of Quasimodo with skillful believabilty. Although sometimes I felt as if there was not enough Quasimodo in the book, the overall tale is one of classic proportions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Hunchback

    I would recomend this to anyone who is considering reading it. The first third of the book is farily slow, with lots of descreption. but it soon picks up and is terrific! The ending was great,and the entire book was paradigm shifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    The Huchback of Notre Dame

    The Hunchback of Notre Dame de Paris is a novel full of twists and turns. It takes place in Notre Dame, centering on the Cathedral. Quasimodo is the main character. He is a hunchback that only has one eye. When he was a child, his mother left him on the stairs of the cathedral and the Archduke Frollo felt bad for him and took him in as his own. Growing up, Quasimodo was not accepted because of his abnormal appearance. To escape, he spent his time up in the tower of the cathedral with his only friends, the bells. Due to the loud noise, Quasimodo soon became deaf. The novel begins when Quasimodo is named the ¿Pope of Fools¿. All attention is on him until the beautiful La Esmarelda is spotted in the market place dancing. From there it ends up with La Esmarelda expressing her love for Phoebus. During this time, Frollo witnesses this confession and is filled with a jealous rage. He attacks Phoebus, and lets La Esmarelda take the blame. She is then sentenced to be hung for such a ferocious crime. When La Esmarelda is on the gallows, Quasimodo swings from the top of the cathedral and grabs La Esmarelda and rescues her. During her stay in the tower, Frollo becomes jealous of the relationship between Quasimodo and La Esmirelda. He organizes a rescue party for this so called sorceress. Not understanding the attack on the tower, Quasimodo fears that these people are trying to capture La Esmarelda and put her to death. He fights these people, killing many of them, but while he is distracted, the authorities go into the tower and arrest La Esmarelda. She is once again sentenced to death by hanging, but before she is hung she finds out who her real mother is by way of a slipper that she has carried throughout her life. Her mother pleads to let her long-lost daughter live, but her pleas fall on deaf ears. La Esmirelda is hung, and Quasimodo disappears. The novel ends with the people finding a deceased hunchback wrapped around the body of the dead La Esmarelda. This is a well-written book with a great story line. I really enjoyed the story involved in this novel, but reading it became difficult at times. Victor Hugo put much detail into the book, which made it difficult to remain interested. I would recommend this book to anybody who has patience to read a fully detailed novel with an excellent story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Good for writing term papers

    This book is rather interesting. The plot jumps back and forth from character to character. It is nice to see how all the characters eventually become tied together in a giant web.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13