Customer Reviews for

Hundred-Dollar Baby (Spenser Series #34)

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Parker is Parker

    Typical Parker dialogue and plot but a fast and interesting read. Happily, Hawks vocabulary improvement has enabled him to minimize use of the "f" word, a problem I've found in some other Spenser novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    Over all is good, but plot is little boring.Like other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    Ho Hum

    My first Spenser novel (used to watch Robert Urich TV series). Not terribly "gripping" as blurb writers like to say. Really rather boring. Could have wrapped it up in half as many pages. Short choppy dialog makes it a "page turner" (another blurbism) only because it's short and choppy. Characters have no depth. Made me want to take a shower when I finished. Okay, so the world isn't perfect. But this? Not sure I want to take on the Jessie Stone I've got waiting in the wings. Got the feelng Parker was tired and really struggling to make something of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Not Up To Spenser Quality

    Hundred Dollar Baby" lacks the impact of the hard right hook I have came to enjoy in the early Spenser novels. Spenser has become old and predictable, nowhere near the Spenser of "Godwulf Manuscript." Let him take his well earned retirement with Susan. The plot was as predictable as a drive on an urban highway at rush hour. The culprit was known from the moment the crime was discovered. The recurring characters are stale as month old bread or this cliche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If You Love Spenser....

    This is one of Robert Parker's best Spenser novels. I own them all, from the Godwulf Manuscript through to his most current, and this is one I've reread several times. <BR/><BR/>April Kyle was introduced in Ceremony, as a teenage runaway. In Million Dollar Baby, she returns, fully grown up and looking for Spenser's help. Or is she? In reality, she wants Spenser to help her without really delving into what's actually going on. But she should know better; Spenser never quits, even when he's fired.<BR/><BR/>The ending is shocking, but appropriate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Spenser and his baby

    I have to confess, I didn't read the book. I listened to the audio version of Hundred Dollar Baby. I've not experienced any of Parker's books before so I was meeting Spenser and company for the first time. Parker knows his characters inside and out. I enjoyed the interplay between Spenser and Hawk and learning about Spenser's 'softer side' in relation to Susan and Pearl. The mystery, I felt, was a bit predictable as it was clear who the guilty party was long before the end. I also found the conversations between Susan and Spenser to be a bit repetitive. She does go on and on about her degree and their conversations all sound alike. All in all, it was an enjoyable read and I would pick up another Parker novel and jump into Spenser's world again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    twist &more twist

    first off a GREAT read for us die hards, especially if you are familiar with April Kyle. For first time readers this will have you running back to the book store for the back issues. As always, Spenser toes the line of the law with his own sense of morality, and if Hawk's along for the ride you know it isn't going to be pretty 'for long'! The ultimate wise ass, smart mouth detective pissing the wrong guys off and taking you along for the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    If only Susan went on an extended vacation

    I love the Spencer series. Having said that, I sure am getting sick up and fed with the cutsie banter between Spencer and Susan. Enough already! This is a classic series, don't ruin it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Not up to Spencer standards

    Having read every Spencer and Jesse Stone novel, this Parker effort was way below the norm. Lots of characters, poorly developed. Even Susan was disjointed, lacked focus and was difficult to follow. Phsyco babble in lieu of the usual insightful speculation. Please, no more 'I went to Harvard'. Maybe time for no more Susan. Page after page I waited for it to take shape and flow smoothly. Alas, I waited in vain. Even the normally crisp and pleasing banter with Hawk was prolonged and often boring. What was the point with Tony and Ty Bop and Cholo and others but to keep their names alive.The whole thing felt like a disinterested effort to meet a publishing committment. We need better from our favorite sleuth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    WHAT!!!!!!

    Come on Robert, you can do better than this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    ANOTHER TOP FLIGHT STORY AND A FIVE STAR READING

    Yes, he's a Tony Award winner for his Broadway role in Glengarry Glen Ross, an Emmy nominee for his television appearances and a star of feature films. Nonetheless, for this listener Joe Mantegna is the voice of Robert Parker's iconic hero, Boston PI Spenser. This actor has brought excitement and thrills to such Spenser escapades as Back Story, Bad Business, Cold Service, Hugger Potshot, and Widow's Walk. He does it again with Hundred-Dollar Baby. There's little that ruffles Spenser but the reappearance of April Kyle does. She was once a teenage runaway (Ceremony, 1982) who had the beauty and nerve to turn to prostitution because she believed she had no other choice. She learned her trade well and now is back in Boston running a high priced bordello. Problem is some men are trying to muscle in on her territory and she needs Spenser's help. Well, April may be beautiful and clever, but she's not too candid as Spenser soon discovers. She had maintained that she had no idea who was trying to scuttle her operation but Spenser and his trusty sidekick, Hawk, find that April isn't the unknowing victim that she claims to be. Another top flight story in this ever popular series. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Not enough of Hawk

    I have read all of the Spenser series and loved them all, including this one. My only objection was that Hawk wasn't a bigger part of the story. I love the character of Hawk, and the funny dialogue between him and Spenser is always my favorite. I missed that in this book. My hope is that thre will many, many more books with the Spenser character in the near future and that Hawk will play a bigger part. Thank you, Robert Parker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    Hard to put down this mystery novel but . . .

    This book was very good in Robert B. Parker style. I had trouble putting it down. But . . . it just didn't have the punch of a top notch Spenser novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Boston private investigator Spenser makes no moral judgments of how people live so when hooker April Kyle (see CEREMONY and TAMING A SEA HORSE) needs help, he provides it. He goes even further hooking (pun intended) her up with a high class madam. April is in trouble again so she turns to Spenser for help. Someone wants to take over her business and so has hired Ollie DeMars to harass and frighten her into paying for protection.----------- Spenser learns that the man behind the muscle is Lionel Farnsworth who teamed up with April to scare her mentor out of money used to open up a chain of bordellos. April claims she broke off with Lionel when she caught him having sex with one of her girls and tells Spenser to back off. Soon after confronting his client, Spenser finds out that someone murdered Ollie, who once shared a low security cell with Lionel. Spenser feels strongly that April is hiding something from him he needs to find out what that is because he believes she is in a lot more trouble than she admits.----------------- Spenser is at his best in HUNDRED DOLLAR BABY as he tries to help a female friend who rejects his assistance as she spirals downward. One of the hero¿s endearing traits is he makes friends with politically incorrect individuals who in many cases work outside the law. Robert B. Parker refreshes his long running series as Spenser struggles with the object of his protection insisting he butt out.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2