Customer Reviews for

The Hundred-Foot Journey

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What a Wonderful Story!

I loved, loved, loved, this book. Had a hard time putting it down and couldn't wait to pick it up again. I'm not a "cook" by any stretch of the imagination, and really just recently started trying new recipes and experimenting with flavors and spices, so I wasn't sure i...
I loved, loved, loved, this book. Had a hard time putting it down and couldn't wait to pick it up again. I'm not a "cook" by any stretch of the imagination, and really just recently started trying new recipes and experimenting with flavors and spices, so I wasn't sure if this book was going to appeal to me. NO WORRIES! You do not have to know much about cooking at all, but maybe just have an appreciation for the dining experience and love a really well-written, vivid, and passionately told story. The characters were so well written, they just came out of the pages as well as the author's descriptions of the food and the atmosphere of a restaurant/kitchen. I simply fell in love with Hassan and the entire cast of characters. I kept thinking what a great film it would make!!!

posted by slb62 on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The writing is lush, very descriptive of the tastes, smells, and sights.

The Hundred-Foot Journey is the story of Hassan Haji, a young Indian boy who grows up above his grandfather's restaurant in Mumbai. A tragic incident prompts his family to flee to France were Hassan shows an unexpected talent and taste for haute cuisine. The novel follo...
The Hundred-Foot Journey is the story of Hassan Haji, a young Indian boy who grows up above his grandfather's restaurant in Mumbai. A tragic incident prompts his family to flee to France were Hassan shows an unexpected talent and taste for haute cuisine. The novel follows his ensuing career as a chef and the fate of his family in France.

The first part of the book centers on Hassan's family, his history and the importance of food in his life. The writing is lush, very descriptive of the tastes, smells, and sights. The characters are interesting and the plot is fast-paced. However, after Hassan becomes a chef the thread of the story changes. The second half of the book is mostly about the politics of the restaurant world in France. The star system of ranking, the changes in haute cuisine, and the hierarchy among chefs. I didn't like this part nearly as well and I felt like Hassan's progress was stagnant. He seems to stop developing much as a person after a certain point.

Still, a pleasant, easy read and not bad at all for a first novel. I'll be interested to see what Richard Morais writes next.

posted by Frisbeesage on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    What a Wonderful Story!

    I loved, loved, loved, this book. Had a hard time putting it down and couldn't wait to pick it up again. I'm not a "cook" by any stretch of the imagination, and really just recently started trying new recipes and experimenting with flavors and spices, so I wasn't sure if this book was going to appeal to me. NO WORRIES! You do not have to know much about cooking at all, but maybe just have an appreciation for the dining experience and love a really well-written, vivid, and passionately told story. The characters were so well written, they just came out of the pages as well as the author's descriptions of the food and the atmosphere of a restaurant/kitchen. I simply fell in love with Hassan and the entire cast of characters. I kept thinking what a great film it would make!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book makes you hunger for more!

    I know, bad pun with a book that centers on food, but oh my goodness is this book ever spectacular! Read it before the movie!

    First of all, definitely a quick, light read, a definite palate cleanser to a lot of the heavy fiction novels out there. I finished the book in two days as I couldn't put it down!

    Second, the characters, or my goodness the characters! The story focuses on the young boy who we see grow through the story as a chef, he ends up meeting some lively people throughout his journey, many helping him on his way and encouraging him to keep reaching for the stars! Most notably an initial rival to his family Chef Gertrude Mallory. Mallory certainly becomes the biggest influence on the young mans life in numrous ways that I'll let you discover. But these exotic characters definitely come together in this majestic recipe of a book.

    There are moments I had to remind myself while reading this book that it is a work of fiction, not a biography of Hassan's life. But the story flows in such a way that you feel each of these characters was/is real. Morais' descriptions of the food make you truly hunger for more of the book (as well as a snack for yourself - there were definitely some notable points when my mouth was watering thanks to his beautiful descriptions that only a chef could describe in such detail)!

    Family, love, and food definitely become the overall focus of this story. It is endearing and heartwarming and fills you in many ways like a delightful 5-star meal. The closing moment of the novel probably being one of the sweetest tie ins of the story line and that moment alone being a huge reason to read this book.

    Great for someone looking for a light read, but would also make a great book club book (in the copy I possess you even get book club discussion questions and an interview with the author). Definitely one to read before the movie comes out!

    Also, if you are more preferential to biographies but feel the need to dabble in a little fiction this would be a great place to start as it reads like the bio of young Hassan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Richard C. Morais' debut novel, The Hundred Foot Journey, is a t

    Richard C. Morais' debut novel, The Hundred Foot Journey, is a travel book for anyone who has ever watched The Food Network and thought, "Wherever that kitchen is, that's where I want to go."

    Food is the language of this book. The character of Hassan Haji sometimes struggles with issues of identity and belonging as he travels from Mumbai to London to Lumiere to Paris, but always this struggle is phrased in terms of food: to make curry or frogs legs, to seek out tiffin boxes or fish and chips. Even his Muslim identity is mentioned rarely except when relating to diet: to eat pork or not. Ultimately Hassan's true identity is food. His religion is food. His ethnicity is food. His blood runs with curry and wine and butter and garlic and the jus of fresh oysters.

    It's as though Pi Patel from Life of Pi was experiencing some sort of cosmic opposites day: an Indian boy, instead of trying to find his way home while adrift and alone, is continually travelling further afield while being wrapped in the memories and support of his family; where Pi invented stories to quell his loneliness, Hassan sometimes longs for solitude so he may study the stories of the ancient cookbooks which surround him; where Pi's starvation was his constant companion, Hassan's one constant is food.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Colorful, heartwarming, made me hungry

    Absolutely loved this book. Food plays a major role, and the colors and aromas come alive, making my mouth water. But mostly it is about the journey of a family and one boy in particular, adjusting from the hustle, bustle and chaos of his youth in India to the serenity, detail and distance of Europe. Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Just a luscious little book!

    I totally enjoyed "The Hundred-Foot Journey"! First of all, it's about food and cooking and restaurants and chefs----what's not to love? And it's about the growth and education of one particular young chef from India to England to rural France to Paris and into the Michelen universe. The descriptions of food and recipes and cooking arts intertwined with the fascinating plot made me keep a note pad by my chaise to jot down cooking tips I didn't want to forget. And the wild and wonderful path this young man took on his journey kept me up late trying to finish. The stories about famous chefs and how Michelen stars are earned---and what happens when they aren't---were enthralling. The story of this young man's family, their hopes and dreams for him, and their encouragement and pride added depth to the fast-paced plot. I told a chef friend about the book and he asked me to "donate" it to him. Then he "donated" it to a fellow chef. Even experienced chefs found it a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Highly recommend

    Loved this book. It was good, hearfelt story with so many poignant moments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    The writing is lush, very descriptive of the tastes, smells, and sights.

    The Hundred-Foot Journey is the story of Hassan Haji, a young Indian boy who grows up above his grandfather's restaurant in Mumbai. A tragic incident prompts his family to flee to France were Hassan shows an unexpected talent and taste for haute cuisine. The novel follows his ensuing career as a chef and the fate of his family in France.

    The first part of the book centers on Hassan's family, his history and the importance of food in his life. The writing is lush, very descriptive of the tastes, smells, and sights. The characters are interesting and the plot is fast-paced. However, after Hassan becomes a chef the thread of the story changes. The second half of the book is mostly about the politics of the restaurant world in France. The star system of ranking, the changes in haute cuisine, and the hierarchy among chefs. I didn't like this part nearly as well and I felt like Hassan's progress was stagnant. He seems to stop developing much as a person after a certain point.

    Still, a pleasant, easy read and not bad at all for a first novel. I'll be interested to see what Richard Morais writes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    BORING!

    This had to be one of the worst books I've read in a long time. Very anti-climatic! I kept wondering when it was going to get interesting and it never did. And, to top it off, all I could think of during most of the time I was reading it was the animated movie Ratatouille!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Charming, witty, poignant, heartwarming and thoroughly enjoyable. Story read, not as a novel, but as real life with fully realized characters and situations. Enjoyable read with some laugh out loud scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Loved this book

    Highly recommend this descriptive memoir. The author effortlessly takes your imagination to India, England and France by telling of the scenery as well as the cuisine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    A must read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It gave me an appreciation for differences in cultures and the ability of humans to adapt under difficult circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Learning

    Not much to ssy except I really liked it!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    A good Culinary Read

    This book is almost a rags to riches story set in France. The characters were interesting and the book went fast . I hope the movie is as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Wonderful Story & Lots of Food !!!!

    I read this before I saw the movie, and I'm glad I did. The book covered details of the different recipes a bit more than I needed, but it didn't overwhelm the "people story", which was changed a bit to fit a two hour film.I would call this a "nice read" as a warm up for a " great film" !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Good summer read!

    Story was a little slow at the beginning, but then couldn't put it down! Wanted to read it prior to seeing the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Hundred Foot Journey is a wonderful read. I love all the tra

    The Hundred Foot Journey is a wonderful read. I love all the travel in this book and the characters. I love when a book combines travel, good characters, food, and love. I can't wait to see the movie. Also, I will recommend this book for book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    When does the action start?

    I saw the movie trailer, and decided to read the book before seeing the movie. I found the book to be so heavily filled with descriptive language that the story moves at a snail's pace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book!!!

    Definitely couldn't put this book down!! Will be interesting to see if the movie does a good job with explaining the WHOLE book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Looks great!!!!!

    This book looks amazing. Just reading the preview thing makes me hungry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    A Must Read

    I devoured this book. Exceptionally well written culinary journey across time and culture.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3