Customer Reviews for

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Inheritance Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

In response to the review "Something to avoid" by Anonymous

NK Jemisin's blog is NOT "anygryblackwoman;" it is one of the many blogs she follows. Get your facts straight before you post comments like that. Also, just because a person has different opinions than you doesn't mean that you can't enjoy their writing. Diversity is to...
NK Jemisin's blog is NOT "anygryblackwoman;" it is one of the many blogs she follows. Get your facts straight before you post comments like that. Also, just because a person has different opinions than you doesn't mean that you can't enjoy their writing. Diversity is to be celebrated, not attacked.

posted by lunashimmer on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Something to avoid

This author has quite a paper trial behind her on the web that details her world view and thinking in general (google her blog "angryblackwoman"). Personally I find her perspectives so radical and offensive that I can't imagine reading this book under any circumstances....
This author has quite a paper trial behind her on the web that details her world view and thinking in general (google her blog "angryblackwoman"). Personally I find her perspectives so radical and offensive that I can't imagine reading this book under any circumstances. She has very directly and publicly made her thinking known to the world. Thus it is quite reasonable to take that into account before deciding whether or not you want to read this book (as no doubt that thinking manifests in her work). Potential readers would be wise to read up on this author before purchasing this book.

posted by 4675863 on March 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing start to a new fantasy trilogy.

    Shortly after Yeine's mother passes away, a mysterious death, Yeine is called to Sky. Sky is the elite city in the air on a single column overlooking the kingdoms in which the Arameri, people awarded by the god Bright Itempas with contol of weapons given to them, live. Yeine does not know why her grandfather, whom she has never met, has required her presence in Sky. Once in Sky Yeine is bombarded with many things; being named heir to the throne, the difference in culture, the imprisoned god Nightlord and his three children called Enefadeh, and twin cousins who will do anything to be the heir to the powerful throne. Yeine is warned of how dangerous the imprisoned god and Enefadeh are, yet she has something they need. The cousins are also named heirs to the throne and Yeine is not sure what is to happen with three named heirs.

    I have to say I enjoyed this book very much. I loved the creation of the gods and why they were weakened, trapped, and tortured. Along with the way a god could be kept under thumb and used for the power holders ways, needs, or just for the power possessed. I was also mesmerized by the relationship and differences between two cultures and way of life. Then there's the wondering question of who do I trust or not trust in a new world. Not only do I, as a reader, ask this question in a new book or series but Yeine the main character has to work this out herself. I started learning of the magic present in the story, and I look forward to learning more as the rest of the trilogy unfolds.

    The story is written from Yeine's point of view, in the first person, which gives the feeling I am seeing, experiencing and learning everything with her. There are sections at the beginning and through out the chapter in which Yeine is remembering pieces of additional information or stumbling slightly in her storytelling, but if you know these sections are there you should not be confused. I liked the insight these shared as potential tidbits to help know what is going on or why.

    It was a great debate novel for Nora Jemisin and an amazing start to a trilogy. I WILL be looking forward to book two, The Broken Kingdoms due out fall 2010, and book three.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Like a novelised version of a Manga!

    Ok, as a 30something male, I'm going to try not to gush like a 19yrold girl over a book about a 19yrold girl...but, this book was excellent. Combining an original and enveloping writing style with an original take (heavily influenced by the Greek pantheon) on the relationship between gods and mortals, made this debut novel for N.K. Jemisin a page turner that couldn't be put down. The author is clearly right there on the page for the reader, making the sometimes convaluted segments easily overlooked in favor of the book's overarching sentimentality.
    In the hands of most other authors this first book would have been stretched into 2 or 3 seperate parts of an overlong saga, in Jemisin's hands however, the book is compact and the story succinct leaving the reader wanting more. Like most great books the 100k Kingdoms leaves the reader wishing it hadn't ended. In a rarity however, the story is original enough and the characters hinting at a complexity that could have easily allowed this book to double itself in size.
    With a STRONG female character I'd recommend this book to anyone with highschool age daughters (strong erotic/sexual story lines may make it inappropriate for younger readers).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    Enjoyable and different

    The book is a great read and not your typical fantasy. It is Yeine's story told in the first person, as she is reminiscing yet sometimes backtracks. Occasionally, hard to follow but explained eventually. I'm definitely picking up the author's next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    It has been a long time since I started reading a book and couldn't put it down until it was over! What a fun book, with unique characters in a fantastic world. I am so glad I bought this! Can't wait for more from this author!

    If you love epic fantasy and have been bemoaning the lack of good new books in the genre, definitely check this one out!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great new fantasy series!

    After all this time, you would think that I would have learned by now not to judge a book by it's cover. All the years I've been reading, I really should know better. But no, I'm embarrassed to admit that I judged this one by it's cover and blurb, then assumed it wasn't for me. I was mistaken. *hangs head in shame*

    This was a recommendation on Barnes and Noble's book club blog and since I've enjoyed every other book they've recommended, thought I'd give this one a try and requested it from my library. Once I picked it up, I found myself going all judgemental on it. Thought it would be one of those epic fantasy tales that I don't like, so put it to the side. As the due date fast approached, finally picked it up and was quickly hooked! I will never doubt BN's recommendations ever again!

    The main character, Yeine, quickly won me over. She's the main narrator and tells the story the same way I would, in bits and pieces. She'll start to relate something, then stop and say no, no, first I have to tell you about this! Just like a regular conversation between friends, because who remembers everything perfectly when telling a story? I loved that!

    While there are gods and magic and a royal family and plots galore, it wasn't anything like the stereotypical epic fantasy I expected. Loved this story, and especially enjoyed Yeine. Despite being looked down upon by her royal relatives as a barbarian, Yeine is not stupid. She has to navigate her way around a dangerous new situation and figure out why she has been named heir. She knows that she's a pawn, but needs to discover why. I thought she handled herself well, and did much better than I probably would have!

    Gave this a 4/5 rating as I really enjoyed the story. Loved the characters, thought it was well written, and especially loved Yeine's voice! Looking forward to reading The Broken Kingdoms, the sequel due out this fall. Don't make the same mistake I did, or you'll miss out on a great story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    fun and inventive

    I stayed up late to finish the book. I have been out of the SciFi genre for many years, and this was a fun re-introduction. I will try other books by Jemisin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I love a good political drama, and this book has a lot of it as well as many other things I love: political intrigue, mystery, romance, and the typical fantasy coming of age tale. The book begins with Yeine travelling from Darr to Sky, the largest city in her world and also the Palace of the ruling Arameri family...the family her mother left years before to marry Yeine's father. She is called mysteriously to the city by her grandfather, Dekarta Arameri the head of the family and all around ruler of the world she lives in. When her mother left the family, she was disowned and no one ever bothered with Yeine before, so she wonders what her grandfather wants with her. She has no interest in her mother's family other than to find out what role if any they had with her death. She soon learns that Dekarta is acknowledging her as one of his heirs and wants her to compete with her two cousins for his position. Yeine and everyone else know that this is impossible because her cousins have a head start on her and are known, like all other Arameri before them, to be vicious. They have been battling each other from the womb. They would stop at nothing to win, and murder seems to be a totally acceptable method. The head of the family is encouraged to be without remorse and hard in order to maintain rule. So everyone knows Yeine will probably not make it out alive.

    The history of the Arameri family is slowly explained as the chapters go by, and it is shown why they are such a vicious and hard people. Their task in the world is to serve as priests of the sort for the God Itempas. There was a war between the Gods: Itempas, Enefa, and Nahadoth, who are sibling. Itempas defeated them, killing Enefa and imprisoning Nahadoth and his other Godling children in human flesh and giving them basically as slaves to the family of his most trusted Priestess...the Arameri. So the Arameri have so much power and control because they control Gods and use them to do their bidding against their enemies, or heretics. They use the Gods to maintain their rule and to make sure everyone continues to worship Itempas. As with anything, when one group has so much power over not only other mortals, but Gods....they can become twisted. And the Arameri are very twisted as Yeine learns. She can't trust anyone at Sky. They all have an ulterior motives for what they do and none of them would benefit from Yeine living. She is basically the pawn in a game between her powerful family and the Gods. None of them see her as than a tool for their own ends.

    The world created in this book is excellent. This is a world where there is no question that the Gods exist. They walk among the people and are unleashed on those who don't obey the Arameri. So we are introduced to a world that is living under a complete dictatorship. Dissent means death, and too many questions can be bad for your health. The people in Sky look at Yeine and they see a barbarian girl that has no chance in that environment, but Yeine soon begins to show them that she should not be underestimated. She forms an alliance with the most unexpected of people and that alliance leads to the final events that were both expected and surprising as well. Yeine know that either way she goes, it means her death...but her death did not have to mean the end and could be exactly what the world needs. And she is willing to sacrifice herself if it means destroying the Arameri.This is very much recommended for people that like high fant

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Story was mediocre, excluding the excellent mythology, however, it was an entertaining read.

    Succinct review in the title

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    From Fantasy tale to Romance novel

    ---Possible Spoilers---
    The book starts by introducing the reader to a cool and unique fantasy world that really pulls you in... then around the latter part of the book it starts to turn into a romance novel where its about the main character's romances with the different other characters she has met. Still a solid novel and a good read. It was just weird to me that it suddenly started getting into graphic love scenes. I recommend the book to anyone who wants a fresh fantasy world to dive into but don't mind "love" scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Hard to follow

    This book was hard to follow with the jumpimg in and out of conciousness. But i found myself wanting to read more. I often had ro reread a page or chapter just grasp what was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Great variation on traditional fantasy, good read

    I am a common sci-fi/fantasy reader who was looking for something that was a bit more of a stretch than the things I had been reading lately. This book definitely delivered. Without getting too psychedelic, this book changed up my usual basic fantasy with a very interesting story about what it would be like to meet a fallen god. There were just a notable times when the author fell back on the "how could a human possibly understand" crutch, but most of the time she did a good job of using human language to interact with gods. I recommend this book strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Not the usual Fantasy

    I was very pleasantly surprised by The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. It is not just another Tolkien-inspired/copied fantasy world. It really feels unique and I couldn't wait to make it to the end. And when that end happened I thought "How can there possibly be sequels?" Now I can't wait to read those. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Worth Reading If...

    You like to read an up & coming fantasy writer that may still have some kinks to work out in their writing style. The book was over all enjoyable & I will probably read the rest of this series, so long as it continues to improve past the first book.

    What I liked: World building & description of scenery was accomplished well. Writer stuck to the plot to develop the characters & explain why the upper class society is so messed up. Evil & Good are not all white & black or light & dark. Really liked the humanity & humbling of the gods. Some unique concepts on the magic used by the gods & how the soul works.

    What I didn't like: Writer timidly approached writing some of the intimacy in the book compared to the boldness of the more horrible things the main character experienced. The "steamy scenes" felt cheep like a vampire romance novel with little reason for the main character & the god to "fall in love". I felt she had more chemistry with the lesser god how the author was writing her. I don't like when authors make every character that dislikes the main character evil.

    My vote: Give this author a chance. Everyone starts somewhere & I feel she will improve with the support of her fans so long as she doesn't turn her books into a dime store god romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Great Start

    I found this book to both be a challange and a gift. The author knows how to challange my imagination and get me to think beyond normal fatasy fluff. They have also created a rich and wonderful setting. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    What a great book!

    I will definitely read more by this author. I was iimpressed by the setting and the characterization. Therewere so many twists...great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original world building

    Hard to put this one into words. An immediately engrossing character, original world building, and good story arc. I enjoyed the read (book brought to my attention by a friend who could not rave enough about the series and a long wait for this first one to come out on Kindle/Nook or for my friend to loan me her read copy) and look forward to more from author. Plot, world building and characters in parts were very well written. Uneven in other parts hopefully sequels unconfuse some things or don't feel like they need so many sidebars that try and fail to explain; more experienced authors probably know that if a plot point is confused enough to need a sidebar to explain it needs re-done) and other than main character and the "gods" some one-dimensional background characters (author did attempt to to correct by having heroine feel sympathetic/understanding at times towards these which falls flat, for example, when talking about characters who torture, murder, etc. and are one-dimensionally hateful to her). But thoroughly involves you in a way not often seen in first novels and definitely will be reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5