BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Inheritance Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

In response to the review "Something to avoid" by Anonymous

NK Jemisin's blog is NOT "anygryblackwoman;" it is one of the many blogs she follows. Get your facts straight before you post comments like that. Also, just because a person has different opinions than you doesn't mean that you can't enjoy their writing. Diversity is to...
NK Jemisin's blog is NOT "anygryblackwoman;" it is one of the many blogs she follows. Get your facts straight before you post comments like that. Also, just because a person has different opinions than you doesn't mean that you can't enjoy their writing. Diversity is to be celebrated, not attacked.

posted by lunashimmer on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Something to avoid

This author has quite a paper trial behind her on the web that details her world view and thinking in general (google her blog "angryblackwoman"). Personally I find her perspectives so radical and offensive that I can't imagine reading this book under any circumstances....
This author has quite a paper trial behind her on the web that details her world view and thinking in general (google her blog "angryblackwoman"). Personally I find her perspectives so radical and offensive that I can't imagine reading this book under any circumstances. She has very directly and publicly made her thinking known to the world. Thus it is quite reasonable to take that into account before deciding whether or not you want to read this book (as no doubt that thinking manifests in her work). Potential readers would be wise to read up on this author before purchasing this book.

posted by 4675863 on March 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    In response to the review "Something to avoid" by Anonymous

    NK Jemisin's blog is NOT "anygryblackwoman;" it is one of the many blogs she follows. Get your facts straight before you post comments like that. Also, just because a person has different opinions than you doesn't mean that you can't enjoy their writing. Diversity is to be celebrated, not attacked.

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms... A great way to make an entrance!

    I have just finished reading The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. I must say, "Bravo!" to Jemisin! I am not a professional book critique in the least, nor a very adept writer. However, I must say that I have read many fantasy / science-fiction novels over the years and "The Inheritance" Trilogy is shaping up to be one of my favorites already.

    I am highly anticipating book two, "The Broken Kingdoms" and I hope Jemisin brings the thrills and suspense back with Yeine and her friends! Bravo, once again!

    V/r
    -B_Sierra_Murray

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Awesome read!

    I cannot wait for the next book! I could not put it down! Awesome!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    An absolutely amazing book

    I read the sample, and at first the writing style seemed a little odd, not what I'm used is all, but by the time I got through the first chapter I was hooked. Excellent story, great characters, awesome plot. This has instantly become one of my favorites, I can't wait for the second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling fantasy

    Barbaric warrior Baroness Yeine Darr lives in the Northern Kingdom of Darr. When her mother dies mysteriously, she has no time to grieve or investigate. Instead she is "invited" to come to the center of the universe by the Emperor of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by her grandfather the Dekarta Arameri ruler of all. In the capital city of Sky, a bewildered Yeine learns her grandfather the ruler names her his third heir along with her cousins once removed twins Lady Scimina and Lord Relad.

    Confused and bewildered over her selection to the competition to replace the aging Dekarta, Yeine soon realizes her role at court is to be an expendable pawn used by her cousins as each has ambitions to be the next ruler. However, she also learns more about her family's history and the gods serving them; losers in the Gods War eons ago who humiliatingly must bow to the mortals as their retribution for the crime of defeat. She proves to have backbone though all at court thought she would and intelligence that none thought she had while trying to save the kingdoms and free the god-slaves.

    The first tale of the Inheritance Trilogy is a fascinating adaptation fantasy told through the filter of the heroine who uses her experiences as a chieftain and lessons from her late mother to understand the glamorous cesspool she has been tossed into. Yeine is a terrific lead protagonist who keeps the deep story line focused whether she deals with her grandfather, her amoral rivals, the slave-gods especially Nahadoth. Although the engaging story line is simplified too much between the forces of good and bad, readers will enjoy the opening account of a fully developed convoluted world in which debts of the soul are paid by losing your rights as Nahadoth the Nightlord One of the Three and now Yeine know the difference between the slave and the princess.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    A novel that focuses on emotional bonds, characterization, and p

    A novel that focuses on emotional bonds, characterization, and personal
    conflicts. If you are looking for sword-fighting or armies clashing
    you'll be disappointed, but battles of will, cruel and complex plots,
    betrayal, love, and surprising but logical plot twists abound.
    Well-written technically. Jemisin creates an interesting world based on
    a unique take on gods, godhood, and the interaction of such with
    humanity. Some of the main supporting characters are gods, though the
    protagonist herself is human. Some authors flounder when using gods in
    their fiction, but Jemisin shows a deft hand, making them at once
    immensely powerful and vulnerable to their own natures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED this book

    This is an excellent read. I picked it up on an impulse and I'm so glad that I did. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down.

    I loved the characters, I really feel like I got a good grasp of them, and the world and cultures were just so well done. The writing style took a little getting used to, but all in all, that really worked well also. I would highly recommend this book to anyone at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Like

    Bought 2nd book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Giselle

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Outstanding!

    Well written, original and engaging. I've read hundreds, if not thousands, of fantasy and sci-fi novels, so it's not very often that someone comes along and really shocks me. Ms. Jemisin has created something new and fresh here, and I can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    Loved it! Great world building. Nice to have the female lead be a woman of color and not a supermodel. I loved this take on harnessed gods. If you like fantasy you will love this too. I found this through a sci-fi/fantasy romance book club and found that this is great fantasy with some sexy time. You will be impressed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Amazing book!

    This book was amazing! It was very well written and I loved how the story unfolded. A world with magic where old god feuds shape the world. One of my new favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The narrative style of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is poetic a

    The narrative style of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is poetic and lilting, lending a dreamlike quality to Yeine’s perspective. I actually found the style of storytelling one of the stronger parts of the book—while parts of it are disjointed, and often broken up by tangential anecdotes that are seemingly unrelated to the story, the narrative flowed like those told in the oral tradition. Indeed, Yeine seems much like an African griot or one of the countless who recounted the Hellenic epic poems of Virgil and Homer.

    The setting, Sky, was intriguing, and of course the premise had me fully invested in the story. Gods as slaves… all that power at the disposal of selfish royals… you can see where the problems arose in the story. Another thing I appreciated was the fantastic inclusion of what seemed like many different races of people. While I didn’t necessarily identify with Yeine, per se, I still sympathized with her struggles in trying to stay alive in the deadly game of cat-and-mouse of the Sky royal court. Yeine was strong, witty, and had a clever head upon her shoulders, qualities all good heroines should possess. I found myself drawn to other characters as well, particularly Nahadoth, the mysterious and captive god of darkness (and one of the three original gods who created the universe). The love story was a kind of complex [spoiler] and [spoiler] hybrid, but I liked it nonetheless, despite the fact that I felt like Nahadoth did not love Yeine for her, but instead because of the power she had inside of her.

    I was completely enthralled by the magic of this book. It had all the key elements of a fantastic tale: a compelling plot, likeable characters, and a subtle romance aspect. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is truly a unique and daring entry in the world of high fantasy, and I couldn’t recommend it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Read this right now

    I wanted to read this again right after I finished it. The perspective from Yeine's point of view was so rich and colorful. I loved the background of her life and the war between the Gods. I loved the foreshadowing of things to come.

    As someone who's read a lot of books and watched a lot of television and movies I was so happy to get engrossed in this story and not be able to predict the ending.

    As for reading it again, I did manage to hold off for about two weeks before picking it back up and reading it a second time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    AWESOME!!! Hightly recommended

    N.K. Jemisin is an amazing writer. Once I started, I couldn't put this book down. I have also just read the second book and it's equally amazing... Looking forward to the third...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A DIFFERENT KIND OF WONDERFUL!!!!

    I have just finished reading "The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms" and I was highly impressed. This is my first read by Ms.Jemisin and it definitely won't be my last. What a wonderful start to a new series!!! The book starts with Lady Yeine who is named as one of the three heirs to the Sky Kingdom which puts her not only in the race for the thrown but in a battle for her life. This book has it all-vengeful & beautiful gods, magic, & scheming family who would love to see you dead. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. A very unique story. A different kind of wonderful!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Writing

    The writing in this book is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6