Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38668)

4 Star

(5989)

3 Star

(1768)

2 Star

(731)

1 Star

(1282)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

909 out of 1168 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

196 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

omfg!!!!!!this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the ...
THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the characters are all unqique and super special:0

posted by Betty_Betty on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48981 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2450
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    909 out of 1168 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Wow...

    There's really not much to say other than I just read a book that was equal part disturbing and completely compelling.
    I can't even say how much this book effected me, both emotionally and physically. (I bought a bow and arrow set. No kidding.)
    I think this is a book that will stick with me for a very long time.
    Caution: It's violent and a lot of parts are very unsettling, but if you can get through it, it's really an amazing read. Opens your mind, for sure.
    I can't wait for the sequel.

    630 out of 820 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    The hunger games is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading this book from start to finish.

    396 out of 515 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Excellent storyline. read it in less than 24 hours.

    342 out of 569 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!

    I absolutely and completely love this book! It's exciting and thought-provoking and all-over amazing. It is a bit brutal at times, but overall it's simply fantastic! A must-read!

    287 out of 350 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book,Intense Thriller!!!!

    I have never heard of this author but i have to say Suzanne Collins knows how to write a book. The book kept me on edge of my seat. The characters are real and easy to relate to. The ending is werid but i have heard Suzanne is coming out with two more bokos for this series. I highly recommend this book to any age.

    245 out of 301 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Best Book in a Long Time

    The Hunger Games is the best book I have read in a very long time. And I never would have expected it! Unfortunately, I judged the book by it's cover in the beginning. It looks a bit bland and emotionless, but now it makes much more sense! It grabs you and pulls you in. I ate it up in just a few hours last night because my eyes were glued to it. The story is so unique that it's hard to predict anything. And that is very rare these days!<BR/>As a reader, I felt every single emotion that the main character, Katniss, was feeling. There was never a boring stretch or dull moment in the whole book. Expertly woven, and containing some very deep and complicated human decisions, this is a read that I will soon be experiencing again. It is nothing like you would expect, and well worth it. I recommend this book to everyone! Read it now!

    179 out of 211 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome..... could not put it down.

    Very, Very Highly Recommend this book. My 13 year old son kept telling me to read it. He was half way through the book and kept saying how great it was. I had nothing else to read one night so I started to read. Figured I would read a chapter, the most two and tell him I tried, but didn't really like it.... turns out I end up finishing the book before him because I could not put it down.

    176 out of 227 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Great book

    This book is a book that is hard to put down, I could not help myself and would read late into the night. its a must read.

    167 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the hunger games!!!!

    i mean WOW ... the best book i ever read soo far!!!! u have to read it!!!!!!

    116 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    i listen to books at work instead of music because is makes the time go fast. well time went too fast while listening to The Hunger Games. it had me at the first cd. i didn't want to answer the phones at work. i would listen in the car going home. this book was GREAT!! i actually listen to the book twice. i can't wait for the next two books.

    78 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't pass this up just because its YA or people hunting...

    I almost did not read this book because of the idea of people hunting people, let alone kids being forced to do this. So, I have to thank Krista for convincing me to read this book. If it was not for her I would not have picked this book up at all. Once I started reading this book I realized it is not as harsh as I had anticipated, which I am thankful for, and was not able to put it down. (I read this book of 374 pages in two and a half days, which is extremely fast for me.) Most of the book is not even set in the actual arena of the fighting. This book is more of the survival of Katniss and Peeta who are on the defensive and trying to stay alive. There is no cannibalism nor is it gory or brutal. I am very glad I did not pass this book up any longer.

    I know there is a lot of talk of this book currently, which may be due to the second book recently being released. So with all this amazing praise I had to read it. Which was also a fear to me that with all the hype I would have higher expectations and the book would not measure up. Well, the book exceeded my expectations tremendously. Let me just say the praise is well deserved.

    You meet Katniss here in the beginning right away. She sneaks past the fence around District 12 ment to "keep the animals of flesh eating out" and the citizens are not aloud to go outside the fence. Katniss has a spot she sneaks out and meets her friend Gale to hunt. See, they don't get caught or in trouble because the Peacekeepers of the city look the other way, as they like to eat meat too. Katniss has been trained at a young age by her father to hunt, and this is what Katniss has done to help keep her family alive after her father passes away in a mine accident years before.

    Also, in the beginning you learn of the history of Panem, and how the Capitol has a gripping control over the 12 different Districts. As a lesson for trying to over throw the Capitol years past the Hunger Games came to exist. All the people are forced to have their children entered in the contest starting at age twelve through to eighteen, no matter stature or standing in the District. However, the poor children could very well have more entries than the richer. See, if the family is in need of food rations the child can enter an extra name in the drawing for this and you can do so for each person in your family. So with Katniss, she has a sister and a mother along with herself - this would be three more entries along with the one for this year. Oh yes, the entries are cumulative, so they carry over each year. That would get scary after a while.

    On the day of the drawing all the people of the District are required to be there to witness this, and as a reminder. Katniss is shocked when her twelve year old sister who only has one entry gets picked as the girl to go to the games. What would you do for your sister? Would you sacrifice yourself to take her place? Well, that is just what Katniss does, volunteers to go in her spot.

    I am surprised with the extent the Capitol goes to, to try and make this an exciting game to watch. The Capitol actually seem to enjoy this. The publicity the winners of the drawing get is unbelievable. There is lavish foods, complete make-overs, parades, and interviews. They are treated like royalty. People chant for these poor kids and bet on them. All this before they are sent to the arena to fight for their lives. The suspence is held through this section and there are peaks and valleys thro

    56 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Sick of the twilight comparisons!!

    Now I'm ok with finding parallels between novels but to call the The Hunger Games the next twilight simply because of the popularity behind the two, doesn't count. They're nothing alike. The Hunger Games for one, is a good read. There is actual plot development and heart to it. twilight was practically a wet dream (how many times must bella make it a point to praise edward for his beauty?) and was as exciting as watching the grass grow. The Hunger Games swept me away from the first chapter. I love how self sufficient katniss is and The obstacles theyre forced to face in the arena (dehydration, fires, wasps, etc.) takes you away. A real page turner. Here's hoping I will like Catching Fire just as much.

    52 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Great Book

    This was a very good book, different from anything else I've read. It is the first of a series, and I can't wait for the next book to come out. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading about different worlds/realities.

    51 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    This book will keep you at the edge of your seet!

    The Hunger Games is an amazing adventure book that will kept readers wanting to flip page after page. The author, Suzanne Collins, published this book in October of 2008.

    In the nation of Panem, lives a girl, Katniss. She lives in district twelve, one of the small places surrounding the capital. Of all the districts, her's is the poorest one, which is a disadvantage to her and her family. Every year all of the districts come together for an event called,"The Hunger Games." The Hunger Games require all districts to participate by selecting one girl and one boy to fight against all other districts and each other. They are put in a remote area and for many days they are to survive by being the last one standing.

    In my opinion I thought this was one of those books that you never wanted to abandon. It was a really well written and detailed book. There was so much adventure that you could visualize every moment.

    I recommend this book to anyone who wants to be kept on the edge of their seat and explore an imaginary world.

    48 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    The hunger games

    Words cannot describe how good this book is! TO DIE FOR!

    45 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Omg"!!!!!!""!

    I LOVE HUNGER GAMES!!! This book is a MUST READ?:D

    44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Enjoyed this series

    My friend told me i had to read this series and i'm so glad i did. I loved the way the story line was presented through out the book.
    I recommend reading The Hunger Games you wont be sorry!

    32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and everthing a good book should be!

    I read alot of books, and this one, in my opinion, was one of the best. I actually liked it better then Twilight *shock*. Once I started reading it I couldnt put it down. I mean I think I read until 2:00 in the morning trying to finish it. Since, I have given it to several friends and everyone loves it. I am counting down the days until the sequel comes out in September.

    32 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to read

    I'm a person who naturally loves reading. I read all the time, and because I've read so many, I've become pretty good at sniffing out the stinkers. I was a bit leery about this one because everyone kept telling me it was the next Twilight. I didn't like Twilight in the least and wasn't exactly jumping at the chance to read a book that has been unjustly compared to that garbage. But when I finally read it, I was surprised at how much I liked it. I found myself liking Katniss, Peeta, Gale and Haymitch as well as many other characters Katniss encounters. This book was great and I couldn't put it down. I immediately went out and bought them all. I've read them over and over and can't stop talking to my friends about how great this story is. Many of them have been sick of listening to my praises and have decided to read the books themselves and have been pleased as well. I have yet to meet someone who has read these books and has not liked them profusely. It was great! You won't be disappointed.

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48981 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2450