Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48704 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38887)

4 Star

(6017)

3 Star

(1779)

2 Star

(737)

1 Star

(1284)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

922 out of 1183 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

196 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

omfg!!!!!!this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the ...
THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the characters are all unqique and super special:0

posted by Betty_Betty on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 49248 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 2463
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Bad

    Poorly writen. Margret Peterson Haddix should have written this instead, then i acctually would have cried and felt emotion when Rue died and i might acctually have liked prim. She writes this book like a second grader and has no vocabulary. I would really love to give this book a good review but its almost impossible considering the style its written in and vocabulary used. Im sorry you crybabies but its true. And to all you haters out there deal with it because i could argue with u forevr and since u dont know me, u hav to sit around and complain because i hav something called freedom of speech ... or just freedom... or both. I really wasted my time reading this piece of crap!!!

    13 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Hunger Games Review

    I'm sorry to all those hunger games fans out there but this book sucks! The concept of a book based on kids in an arena forced to kill each other is not very entertaining. And trying to mix in romance and sex in with it definetly does not work. I would give this book a one star because even thoughthe plot is amazing, the read is horrible, if you call Katniss a heroine your kidding yourself, she's just a 16 year old girl who doesn't know what's right and what's not, and she tries to seem all tough but she really isnt at all. I think it was a total waste of money, and I will not spend my money on the stupid movie, or the sequels. AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do not like this book. I would reccomend Harry Potter series, Matched trilogy, and the Twilight series.

    12 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Battle Royale for the States

    True, it has the same basic premise as the Japanese film Battle Royale, but it has a few twists to the tale that make it unique, engaging and irresistible!

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE This Book!!!!

    I got this book for TAKS (I think Texas is the only state that has TAKS....it's not fair....)..........
    Anyway....I read this book in about a day cuz I couldn't put it down, the whole time I was taking the test all I could think about is 'What's gonna happen next!?'............
    The books about this girl named Katness, who just saved her sister for being in the Games-the Games take place in the forset-and the ponit of the Games? Kill everone else before you get killed.........
    I CAN'T wait for the next book in the series to come out!!!!!!!! I'll probably get the book for my b-day cuz the day it comes out is around my b-day!!!!!!! :)
    You have to read this book you wouldn't reget it!

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Since Twilight Series!

    Working in a high school library kids constantly ask me for a good book to read after the Twilight Series. I've finally found a GREAT recommendation!!! Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down. It sucks you in so you have to find out what happens next! This is by far the most riveting book I've read since the Twilight Series. It's a quick read too, I can't wait for the next book.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Jaw dropping

    Jaw dropping! Didnt even feel like i was reading. It felt likebi was actually Katniss! Highly recomended

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Amazing

    The Hunger Games is the best book I have ever read.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    LISTEN UP

    These are reviews for people who want to know if this is a good book. This is NOT a chatroom

    10 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Sad

    People killing each other?! Thats just wrong.

    10 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Hunger games lover

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could never put it down. Each page was waiting for me to discover the jorney they were on. To be honest i am only 11 and i almost cried when i finished the book. I cant wait to read the rest of the series. GET THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!! Trust me it will change the way you will think forever. It took tragity and love for kattniss everdean to see what life is about. But who will win? Read the book to find out.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Completely overj Sucked

    This book is completely over-rated!

    9 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Peeta

    Team peeta all the way

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A great book!

    Awesome!!
    This is a really cool book that is fun to read and hard to put down. I read this in a couple of hours after my brother got it! A must read if you like books like Harry Potter!


    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Hi

    Each year in the futeristic country of Panem, 24 children between the ages of 12 and18 are chosen by lottery to fight to the death on live television in front of their whole country. Twenty-four go in. Only one leaves alive.

    When Katniss Everdeen steps up as a willing volunteer to take her sister's place in the Hunger Games, as they're called, she is certain she will die. But having lived in the poorest district in Panem all her life, survival against all odds is in her bloodstream. Yet to win the Games, she will have to face formidable odds, and make pivotal descisions. Her life is at stake, she is up against experienced opponents, and everything will come down to her. The clock is ticking,and her time is running out. Can she win The Hunger Games????

    Welcome to The Hunger Games series. If you were only allowed one book for the rest of your life, you just found it.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    TO ALL THE IDIOTS WHO ARE CHATTING

    Get your stupid chat room out of here, along with all the idiots who came with it. This is a place for reveiws, not some where for freaks like you to go chatting and posting personal information to people you don't even know. You probaby havent even read the book, and if you did yy couldnt even comprehend the first page.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    TXT? NO!

    Are WE gonna use this as a texting zone or are we really gonna rate the book? GIVE YOUR ANSWER NOW!!!! /:-(
    I'M WAITING!!! /:-(

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Get out

    To anyone who thinks this is a chat room please stop this is for people who actually read

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Open up

    U people r so stupid this us for writing reviews!!! Do u have cell phones cuz if u do then use them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Why not to purchase The Hunger games seires

    DO NOT BUY This book is just stupid all its about killing for food and at the end the girl and boy win becuase they were going to commit suicide by eating expired cookies and only one person wins do not get this book it really is a waste of time and money!Also Book 2& 3 are bad also The only reason its one star is becuase ZERO was unavailabile

    8 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Should i read it

    If you say yes tell me y thats if u can i want to know why and is the book GOOD or BAD I NEED TO KNOW

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 49248 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 2463