BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38772)

4 Star

(6008)

3 Star

(1773)

2 Star

(734)

1 Star

(1280)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

912 out of 1173 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

196 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

omfg!!!!!!this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the ...
THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the characters are all unqique and super special:0

posted by Betty_Betty on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2456
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever had the pleasure to read

    I'm a person who naturally loves reading. I read all the time, and because I've read so many, I've become pretty good at sniffing out the stinkers. I was a bit leery about this one because everyone kept telling me it was the next Twilight. I didn't like Twilight in the least and wasn't exactly jumping at the chance to read a book that has been unjustly compared to that garbage. But when I finally read it, I was surprised at how much I liked it. I found myself liking Katniss, Peeta, Gale and Haymitch as well as many other characters Katniss encounters. This book was great and I couldn't put it down. I immediately went out and bought them all. I've read them over and over and can't stop talking to my friends about how great this story is. Many of them have been sick of listening to my praises and have decided to read the books themselves and have been pleased as well. I have yet to meet someone who has read these books and has not liked them profusely. It was great! You won't be disappointed.

    30 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Drake

    Epic!!!!!!!!

    25 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Best book ever

    OMG if u havent read it yet........dooo it. everyone loves it in my grade!!! I am still not in middle school though!! This book is a must read, and a must have.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Best book ever

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    23 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Well,I haven't exactly finished reading the first book but I giv

    Well,I haven't exactly finished reading the first book but I give a shout out to my friend Kayla read for getting me to read it in the first place!!!!!! I can definitely tell the book and series is awesome!!!! I bet the book is like 100 times better than the movie!!!!! My message: READ READ READ READ READ!!!!!!!! You must read it know because it's great and suspenseful!!!

    22 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Marvelous!!!!

    I'm an avid reader, and I read all different types of genres, and I can honestly say this book is one of my favorites. The author seamlessly weaves together action, suspense, romance, horror, and mystery, taking the reader on a wild adventure. I was racing to finish the story to see how it all ended, but once I was done, I found myself at the beginning of another adventure waiting to be read in book 2 of the series. I have a strong feeling this whole series is going to be one of my all time favorites, right up there with Harry Potter, and Anita Blake.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Seriously?!?

    Seriously people?!? This is a REVIEW section, NOT A CHATROOM!!!! I've just spent the past 30 minutes trying to find reviews on this book, and all I'm seeing is little chats "Jenny to Suzy" or "John to Jack"! I don't want to read all your messages to your friends! Email or text them!!! Don't use a page to review a book for a chat session! Please! I'm not meaning to be rude or a bad person. I just want people to stop using the review section as a chat room. Thanks

    20 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Best Book I Have Ever Read!

    I am in love with the hunger games!! This book is far better than the other two but if you read this one you will have to read the other two because its a cliff hanger! But over all its amazing!

    20 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Great series! I couldn't stop reading until I literally fell asleep. Went past my bed time! Every chapter has a ending that makes you read more! Best Series Ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    HUNGER GAMES

    The hunger games is one the best book I've read so far. I love the character Katiness, she very headstrong that she will do anything to protect her family and friends. Though above all its a great book but it was kinda disturbing of on the kids are force to be put into a horrifying position in killing each other and that is being aired in front of the whole nation. Although i think that the book shows of how a government (like in the book) can be so dominated and in control that everyone within the nation has to obey want ever they are being told to do and don't, that if caught they will be serious (i mean really serious) consequences is in count. Also it shows how they are like sections or districts from the rich to the poor. I believe its a eye opener to learn from this book that everyone has to be grateful of our government even if some ppl disagree with decisions and thinks they screwed up haha. no offense.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    I LUV THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    BEST TRILOGY EVA!!!!! I CANT WAIT 2 C THE MOVIE!!!!!! MAY THE ODDS B EVA IN UR FAVOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Finally something realistic!

    First I want to point out to those of you with a overly critical point of view... Life is not all peaches and cream, young people need to know that in order to deal with it later down the road. So instead of saying this book series will cloud kids heads and confuse them why don't we do a reality check first. See what kind of world you already live in. In my opinion (which isn't much I admit) Fantastic book. Don't stop after the first. Go ahead and read all three. For me Katniss was not a relate-able character, and i will agree that at times she seems overwhelmingly self-centered, but she also displays great courage and sacrifice. Give it a chance and keep going and I think most of you will like this one.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hungar Games

    The Hungar games is a thrilling, Unforgettable book that keeps bringing you back for more. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. I really liked this book because it is realistic and was just the kind of book that keeps pulling you in for more. I would recomend this book to anyone but mostly people that like realistic fiction and survival books. Also be sure to read the next in the series Catching Fire.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ENCOMPASSES SEVERAL GENRES

    This may be science fiction, fantasy or apocalyptic fiction, but it has a ring of truth to it. Subsistence living, few consumer goods, no choice in how you make your living, travel restrictions, no political freedom, and no freedom of expression calls up images of communism. What used to be North America or what is left of it, arrived at this end due to a series of natural disasters and encroaching seas which undoubtedly represents a warning of the potential of global warming. This state of affairs led to war and anarchy as people fought to survive. The Capital supposedly brought peace and prosperity in the same manner as communism purported to have accomplished this feat. However, thirteen districts rebelled and in the process of terminating the rebellion District 13 was obliterated. The annual Hunger Games is intended by the Capital to intimidate the people in the remaining districts to avoid future rebellion.

    There are many parallels from the past, the present and possibly the future below the surface. The lottery method used to choose "Tributes" from each district is reminiscent of Shirley Jackson's "The Lottery". Our Olympics can be seen in the Tribute parade in the opening ceremony. Hero worship of athletes and fan obsession towards sports can be seen in the interviews and hype surrounding the Tributes as well as through the activity of the odds makers and sponsors. The vast outdoor arena and the manipulating of the environment to ensure excitement and bloody conflict are reminiscent of Rome and the Coliseum. This could also be seen as the ultimate in reality television. The material rewards and acclaim of the victorious Tribute is both reminiscent of the successful gladiators of Rome and athletes today. The technology and science the Capital has employed to create deadly mutant plant and animal life contrasts with the more primitive conditions in the districts.

    "The Hunger Games" may be found in the teen section of some bookstores but it is not a light or frivolous read. Admittedly, the protagonist is a teenage girl. However, the harsh environment and conditions in which Katniss has grown up has made her cynical, practical and resourceful well beyond her years. The only element that reflects her youth and innocence is seen in her romantic relationships. This book encompasses many genres and I found it very entertaining.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    AMAZING

    Love this book whoever has not read this book must read it

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Just Finished.

    I just litterally finished reading this a couple minutes ago. I think it was a good book and I'm definatly reading the second book, but I feel that some of the parts in the book didn't make sence to me at all. I think some of you will understand what I mean.

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED IT!

    I loved The Hunger Games. I started out reading it slow, but then after a few chapters i got hooked and couldn't put it down, i literally flew through the pages. It was very edgy and thrilling with a twist of love. I LOVED it and i can't wait for Catching Fire to come out.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    To whoever said that they swore 67 times...

    To whover "minecraft signing off" is,

    It is obvious to me that you did not read the Hunger Games, or just falsified information. This is for all people who read the 1 star comments only.
    Katniss, Peeta, Gale, and everyone else utters not 2, not 1, but 0 swear words. There is no inappropriate conduct, except for the whole fight to the death thing, and like 2 kisses.
    Whatever you have against the Hunger Games, characters,or author, PLEASE keep them to yourselves,unless is a REVIEW.

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    The most amazing book ever!

    I love this book!

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49110 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2456