Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48445 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38673)

4 Star

(5992)

3 Star

(1769)

2 Star

(731)

1 Star

(1280)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

909 out of 1169 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

196 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

omfg!!!!!!this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the ...
THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the characters are all unqique and super special:0

posted by Betty_Betty on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1280 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Well,I haven't exactly finished reading the first book but I giv

    Well,I haven't exactly finished reading the first book but I give a shout out to my friend Kayla read for getting me to read it in the first place!!!!!! I can definitely tell the book and series is awesome!!!! I bet the book is like 100 times better than the movie!!!!! My message: READ READ READ READ READ!!!!!!!! You must read it know because it's great and suspenseful!!!

    21 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Seriously?!?

    Seriously people?!? This is a REVIEW section, NOT A CHATROOM!!!! I've just spent the past 30 minutes trying to find reviews on this book, and all I'm seeing is little chats "Jenny to Suzy" or "John to Jack"! I don't want to read all your messages to your friends! Email or text them!!! Don't use a page to review a book for a chat session! Please! I'm not meaning to be rude or a bad person. I just want people to stop using the review section as a chat room. Thanks

    20 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Best Book I Have Ever Read!

    I am in love with the hunger games!! This book is far better than the other two but if you read this one you will have to read the other two because its a cliff hanger! But over all its amazing!

    19 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    To whoever said that they swore 67 times...

    To whover "minecraft signing off" is,

    It is obvious to me that you did not read the Hunger Games, or just falsified information. This is for all people who read the 1 star comments only.
    Katniss, Peeta, Gale, and everyone else utters not 2, not 1, but 0 swear words. There is no inappropriate conduct, except for the whole fight to the death thing, and like 2 kisses.
    Whatever you have against the Hunger Games, characters,or author, PLEASE keep them to yourselves,unless is a REVIEW.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Bad

    Poorly writen. Margret Peterson Haddix should have written this instead, then i acctually would have cried and felt emotion when Rue died and i might acctually have liked prim. She writes this book like a second grader and has no vocabulary. I would really love to give this book a good review but its almost impossible considering the style its written in and vocabulary used. Im sorry you crybabies but its true. And to all you haters out there deal with it because i could argue with u forevr and since u dont know me, u hav to sit around and complain because i hav something called freedom of speech ... or just freedom... or both. I really wasted my time reading this piece of crap!!!

    12 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Hunger Games Review

    I'm sorry to all those hunger games fans out there but this book sucks! The concept of a book based on kids in an arena forced to kill each other is not very entertaining. And trying to mix in romance and sex in with it definetly does not work. I would give this book a one star because even thoughthe plot is amazing, the read is horrible, if you call Katniss a heroine your kidding yourself, she's just a 16 year old girl who doesn't know what's right and what's not, and she tries to seem all tough but she really isnt at all. I think it was a total waste of money, and I will not spend my money on the stupid movie, or the sequels. AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do not like this book. I would reccomend Harry Potter series, Matched trilogy, and the Twilight series.

    12 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    LISTEN UP

    These are reviews for people who want to know if this is a good book. This is NOT a chatroom

    10 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Sad

    People killing each other?! Thats just wrong.

    10 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Completely overj Sucked

    This book is completely over-rated!

    9 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    TXT? NO!

    Are WE gonna use this as a texting zone or are we really gonna rate the book? GIVE YOUR ANSWER NOW!!!! /:-(
    I'M WAITING!!! /:-(

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Why not to purchase The Hunger games seires

    DO NOT BUY This book is just stupid all its about killing for food and at the end the girl and boy win becuase they were going to commit suicide by eating expired cookies and only one person wins do not get this book it really is a waste of time and money!Also Book 2& 3 are bad also The only reason its one star is becuase ZERO was unavailabile

    8 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Should i read it

    If you say yes tell me y thats if u can i want to know why and is the book GOOD or BAD I NEED TO KNOW

    8 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    The Hunger Games is about a nation called Panem. It all started

    The Hunger Games is about a nation called Panem. It all started on a day called reaping day. On reaping day each district picks a boy and a girl to participate in the Hunger Games. In the book the district picked a girl named Prim. Her older sister named Katniss stood up and volunteered to take her place. Then they picked a boy named Peeta. The Hunger Games is where people from each district to fight till death and the winner goes home to their families.
    Description and summary of content
    Now that they were chosen they have to say good –bye to their families. While saying good-bye Peeta’s dad came in and told Katniss that he would take care of Prim. Now that the teams were picked they have to go to the capitol to train. In training their mentor told them to not show their best fighting skills. That they could show them to them while they were on one on one training. Their mentor wasn’t a very good mentor because he was always drunk. Training wasn’t that hard they did good and did what their mentor told them to do.
    Evaluation
    This book is a good book in some parts it isn’t very appropriate for young ages. Some parts are very detailed. It talks a lot about disasters. It also talks a lot about starving and what they did to live.
    Conclusion
    This book is a wonderful book for many ages especially for teens. It has a couple of cliffhangers though. In many parts it about lost my interest but it gained it back again. Katniss is my favorite character. The author gives a lot of details and it is very interesting .

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    TO ALL THE IDIOTS WHO ARE CHATTING

    Get your stupid chat room out of here, along with all the idiots who came with it. This is a place for reveiws, not some where for freaks like you to go chatting and posting personal information to people you don't even know. You probaby havent even read the book, and if you did yy couldnt even comprehend the first page.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Get out

    To anyone who thinks this is a chat room please stop this is for people who actually read

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Open up

    U people r so stupid this us for writing reviews!!! Do u have cell phones cuz if u do then use them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Sickening

    You people are sick , my 6year old is rreading all this! You all deserve to die in hell!

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Read Percy

    You should read Percy Jackson insted, they are awsome!!!! Everybody who reads then will get addicted even though it took me awhile to get into them.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A person :B

    Im sorry for all the hunger games fans out there. I found this book quite boring. I felt like it was something that didnt keep my attiontion all that well. Then agian i am 12 so my attintion span is like 1 so sorry. I was talked into reading this book by my teacher. Im sorry that i spent my money on the book. I could have saved my allowence on other things. But series i love are Harry Potter and Twilight!

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    I honestly don't understand why people keep saying that this boo

    I honestly don't understand why people keep saying that this book is so
    amazing. It's really not. My friend convinced me to read it, so I did,
    and I'm kind of sorry I listened to her. It is a very violent and
    disturbing book, and I don't understand why people read something like
    that for entertainment. Honestly, it is filled with suspense, which I
    liked, but other than that, I didn't care for all the brutal, malicious,
    and senseless killing involved in this book. The author was really
    creative, I admit, for being able to think of this idea. But I would not
    recommend this book to anyone, especially children, or anyone who
    doesn't enjoy reading about blood and killing. I don't see how Katniss,
    the main character, can be a good person for brutally murdering other
    kids. I realize that in the book she really has no choice, but the
    author could have somehow changed that. I don't think that the hero of
    the story should be a vicious killer, and be renowned and famous for it.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1280 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 64