Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48739 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38912)

4 Star

(6023)

3 Star

(1780)

2 Star

(738)

1 Star

(1286)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

925 out of 1186 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

196 out of 283 people found this review helpful.

omfg!!!!!!this book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the ...
THIS BOOK IS BETTER THAN TWILIGHT!!! i COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN IT WAS REALLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVERREAD.. MY FRIEND GOT ME INTO IT AND THEN I GOT A BUNCH OF OTHER PPL INTO IT TO:D you will absolutely love the story and how more action is slowly added and how the characters are all unqique and super special:0

posted by Betty_Betty on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6023 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 302
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Finally something realistic!

    First I want to point out to those of you with a overly critical point of view... Life is not all peaches and cream, young people need to know that in order to deal with it later down the road. So instead of saying this book series will cloud kids heads and confuse them why don't we do a reality check first. See what kind of world you already live in. In my opinion (which isn't much I admit) Fantastic book. Don't stop after the first. Go ahead and read all three. For me Katniss was not a relate-able character, and i will agree that at times she seems overwhelmingly self-centered, but she also displays great courage and sacrifice. Give it a chance and keep going and I think most of you will like this one.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Just Finished.

    I just litterally finished reading this a couple minutes ago. I think it was a good book and I'm definatly reading the second book, but I feel that some of the parts in the book didn't make sence to me at all. I think some of you will understand what I mean.

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Since Twilight Series!

    Working in a high school library kids constantly ask me for a good book to read after the Twilight Series. I've finally found a GREAT recommendation!!! Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down. It sucks you in so you have to find out what happens next! This is by far the most riveting book I've read since the Twilight Series. It's a quick read too, I can't wait for the next book.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Hunger Games Proves Addictive

    I loved this book although not right from page one. The beginning tends to be a little slow moving. However, once Katniss gets to the games, you will not be able to stop reading. Hanging on to every move she makes, I never wanted the book to end. It is so intriguing and I cannot wait to start book two asap!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Quick Read

    Fun, quick read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Omg... this book

    This book had me on the edge of my seat for hours. I couldnt stop reading, and its so wicked, the hunger games. I have to honestly say that when Rue died, i almost cried.

    I found that the book could have more dialogue during the arena scenes. I was always happily suprised when i could find some dialogue.

    I really felt for the characters, i could really relate to them, i was nervous, sad, happy for them. Suzanned Collins is amazing.

    ALL IN ALL... if you havent read this book yet, you dont know what real entertainment is :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I am an avid reader, so I have read a LOT of different books. But honestly this one is probably among the best.
    It may seem a little grotesque at girst, but once you REALLY get into the series, you can't put it down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Page Turner

    This book is a page turner and it kept me quite entertained the last few days. I know this book was written for the younger generation, but those of us who are older still can get swept up into the story. I'm looking forward to reading the next book just to see how this story plays out. Seeing there are 3 books, I can only imagine the twists this story will take

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    This book is excellent for both genders and of any age. Get off

    This book is excellent for both genders and of any age. Get off your butt and go read it. You are probably saying, "I already watched this movie in a theater or on Netflix." Even if that is so, go buy this novel because the movie is not on par with the amazingness of the book. The Hunger Games is a fast-paced, easy read, so you won't have a lazy excuse to skip this great book. It is actually likely that you will find that this book finishes way too quickly and you will instantly reach for the next book in the series. In the book you will discover information that the movie fails to show. For example, there is a story of an Avox girl in the book that you will not see in the movie. This story is an important development in Katniss's (main character) mental conflicts. She is conflicted by the memory of the Avox girl and wishes to help the girl but can’t. She almost breaks down, but is able to pull together by the comforting of the Avox girl. Another scene not as developed in the movie is the time spent in the arena. In the book that time feels like weeks and seem more desperate for Katniss than shown in the movie. This is simply because a movie is not able to include every bit of information, otherwise the movie would last for hours (cough, cough… the Hobbit, the Desolation of Smaug). The book, in many ways, also has better version of events. For example, remember the scary dogs in the arena. In the book the dogs are not even dogs, they are mutant creatures that have a combination of body parts from fallen tributes. This frightens the heck out of Katniss because she sees the resemblance of a fallen tribute’s eyes in the mutant creature. This is much scarier than those silly dogs. Another detail that you will notice is the better description of other districts and their tributes. In the movie it was not said as much about the different districts, but the book will clarify them and their tributes. The more details of the characters enhances the story because you are going be more mesmerized and invested in the story. I rated this book four out of five because even though it was exciting, there were some breaks in the suspension of disbelief. At times, I would question the society and reasoning behind events. For example, I am confused of why they use train when they have gigantic hovercrafts that is able to transport people great distances over a short amount of time. It would make sense if they just used the hovercraft. I guess that’s just me. I also don’t like the fact that the game makers are able to easily change the rules of the game. I seems as a easy way for the author to add suspension at the end the story. There are couple little things I question, like the aide being sent to Katniss. It those aides were parachuted, wouldn't the other tributes be able to track her by following the parachutes. Those are the little things that bug me, other than that the book is fun to read. When you finish reading this book, you will thank me because you will be better fulfilled with the Hunger Games experience. You won’t be able to wait to read the next book, Catching Fire.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Addicting

    Literally could not put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    To be fair, I read the book about five months after seeing the m

    To be fair, I read the book about five months after seeing the movie, so
    I had a pretty good idea as to what would happen as the film is, for the
    most part, faithful to the book. Perhaps that killed a bit of the buzz
    for me, however it is still quite a good book that has those dark themes
    that Suzanne Collins handled so well in the Underland Chronicles (I hope
    this series has a more conclusive ending than that one.) Full of
    action, violence (often gory), and suspense I can't help but be
    impressed with Collins' ability to draw the reader into a world that
    seems so macabre and far away, and that's after I already had a good
    idea as to what was going to happen. One advantage to seeing the movie
    first: it makes it easier to picture the characters. Jennifer Lawrence,
    Josh Hutcherson, and Amandla Stenberg may not have fit the descriptions
    perfectly in the book, but in my minds eye that's who I saw while
    reading this novel and as good as the performances were in the motion
    picture, that's not a bad thing. So is the movie better? Again,
    admitting that I saw the movie first, I would say yes as this story
    works very well in the visual medium of film. However the killer dogs
    at the end did not get the justice they deserve in the movie. Truly
    terrifying creatures (those eyes!) this is the book's climax that
    outdoes it's cinematic version. 3.5/5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    H

    Not ok for kids younger than 12, it's way to violent and gory. I liked it at first, but now the idea just seems so gruesome and horrid. Don't really like it any more.

    -Mimi

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Graet Book- Slow Start

    This book was a great book. It had all of the things a great book should have. The only thing bad about this book is that the start of the book was slow. Therefore I gave it four stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Hunger games

    This book is definetly better than most, however if you just read it because of the hype behind it you are missing out. This book is an excellent one to have discussions with family/friends. Its mindblowing when you think about that happening in our society. Make sure to read all three books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Hreat read

    I dedinitely recommend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Aws Awsome!!!!!!

    This book is amazing!!! But DONT read it before you go to bed! It might scare you alittle. The series is great! I recamend you get this book because it is outstanding!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    :)

    This book started out a little slow but quickly picked up the pace. I soon became engrossed in the book and finished the entire series in a short time. The only bad thing was the ending of the final book (mockingjay) It was kinda disappointing. Overall its a series you would want to read for sure. Cant wait for the movie! C(-__-)D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Hi

    So far i like it . But its my first time reading it so bye.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Hunger games

    I think this is a really good book and i think lots of people who like survival topics would like this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A page turner

    Excellent book. It keeps you wanting for more. Each page is masterfuly written and the plot never weakens. I will surely read more Suzanne Collins in the future. I'm glad there are more books about Katniss and the Hunger Games.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6023 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 302