Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Pains: A Parody

Average Rating 4
( 913 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(520)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(206)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

153 out of 196 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book!!!

This book made me laugh out loud! My family thought I was crazy. It's really funny. I love the Hunger Games Trilogy, it's one of my favorite series. To all of you people saying this book is offensive: a parody doesn't mean it has to be offensive it means you took someth...
This book made me laugh out loud! My family thought I was crazy. It's really funny. I love the Hunger Games Trilogy, it's one of my favorite series. To all of you people saying this book is offensive: a parody doesn't mean it has to be offensive it means you took something and made it funny, it's for people to enjoy. And by the way The Harvard Lampoon is a group of people(girls and boys)not just one!!!!!!! And they can't be sued because they changed all the things(like names and places) that are copyrighted.

posted by 4366414 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Review Ninja

Looks like I'm sticking up for the Hunger Pains. I personally want to read this "offensive" (not) book because I read the trilogy and I want more. Paradoys are supposed to make fun of things. I bet most of you got mad when Vampires Suck came out. Oh, you...you didn't? Y...
Looks like I'm sticking up for the Hunger Pains. I personally want to read this "offensive" (not) book because I read the trilogy and I want more. Paradoys are supposed to make fun of things. I bet most of you got mad when Vampires Suck came out. Oh, you...you didn't? You found it....funny? Same with Hunger Pains!

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 913 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Awesome book!!!

    This book made me laugh out loud! My family thought I was crazy. It's really funny. I love the Hunger Games Trilogy, it's one of my favorite series. To all of you people saying this book is offensive: a parody doesn't mean it has to be offensive it means you took something and made it funny, it's for people to enjoy. And by the way The Harvard Lampoon is a group of people(girls and boys)not just one!!!!!!! And they can't be sued because they changed all the things(like names and places) that are copyrighted.

    153 out of 196 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    The Hunger Games Would Be Proud.

    I am one of The Hunger Games BIGGEST fans, and I do not find this offensive at all. It is just to make people laugh and to honor the humor that can be brought to any novel.

    139 out of 180 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Hilarious!!!!

    Absolutely hilarious. I got the sample and will definitely be getting the book itself. I love The Hunger Games, and this is a greatly amusing parody of it. Can't wait to read the whole book!!

    84 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    <3!

    Read the Hunger Games, then read this.

    Luv them both!

    63 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    So there's the lovers and the haters and the peacemakers...

    Hear me out. I love the Hunger Games trilogy too. Who doesn't? But just because you love those books doesn't mean you can't love this one. It's all a big joke anyway. That's what parodies are for. They're not meant to be offensive or rude in any way. They're just for you to stand back and laugh at.

    Plus, all that stuff about being disrespectful towards Suzanne Collins is a bunch of baloney. I know that if I were the author of a best-selling book series that was even made into a movie, and I heard that someone was making a parody of my books, well, I wouldn't be able to contain myself. I would want to go out and buy it and read it right away.

    Now, I know that the book portrays Katniss (Kantkiss) as someone so obviously stupid that she can't get past her hunting partner's "dreamy eyes." The Harvard Lampoon is obviously Team Gale. Get over it. I got over it, and I'm Team Peeta. (Don't bother fighting about it, I've set my mind, even though I haven't even read Mockingjay yet.)

    Yes, Butterball is, in reality, a dog. But the people in the Crack have probably never seen a cat-like dog before, if they've even seen a dog. So they tagged Butterball as a cat. Okay, now that that's settled, we can move on to Peeta.

    In the parody, Peeta is portrayed as Pita Malarkey, a name that reveals the clever pun that Suzanne Collins used, even if she didn't mean to. But she probably did. Anyway, he is a very chubby, pale-faced doughboy. (Haha. :] ) He breathes heavily with every step. Believe me, it's funny. Oh, and Kantkiss's name for him: the Boy with the Head. In my opinion, it's hilarious.

    Gale is a different story. Now, I haven't read the entire book, so I don't know if Kantkiss falls for Pita or not. But Carol Handsomestein (what did I tell you?) is definitely a looker. Kantkiss never comprehends what Carol is saying because she is too busy concentrating on his dreamy eyes. When he comes to say goodbye after the Reaping (or, rather, Super Fun Day), Kantkiss thinks of something to say when their time is up, but forgets when she catches sight of his backside.

    There's a whole lot more I could tell you (like the origin of the Hunger Games, and don't forget Prin) but if you want to know, you have to read the book.

    For all you Hunger Pains lovers out there: thanks for understanding that this is JUST A JOKE!!! And for all you haters: calm down, we all know that you need to give at least one star to post a comment, but if you hate it so much, you shouldn't post anything. And to the peacemakers: keep doing your job, we need all the help we can get.

    I recommend this book for anyone looking for a good laugh! And if you are one of those that hates anything that makes fun of your favorite books, don't bother. Thanks for staying with me this long. ;) <3

    53 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    None of You Can Spell So How Can You Even Read?

    The only thing I'm making fun of (besides this hilarious book) is how many people are freaking out. Also, barely any of you can spell. It's a PARODY. I seriously doubt Suzanne Collins cares. She's still making money. I personally LOVED The Hunger Games and love the merchandise too (including this "offensive" book) and I think you all need to chill out.

    40 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Take A Chill Pill People!

    Everyone is leaving mean comments on this book. I would like 2 say TAKE A CHILL PILL! It is just a random funny parody book! Its is actually a funny book! I would suggest this to anybody who has read the hunger games! I would not suggest it to people who cant take a joke. Lolz... catpiss XD

    32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Stop

    Stop complaining that this is disrespectful. The author was just trying to make a hilarious parody. People do it on youtube but you dont complain. Whats the difference?

    30 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Lol

    I read the sample and it was so funny! This might be to make fun of the hunger games but its so funny you have to laugh! Even haters of the hunger games are going to have a good laugh.

    28 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great book

    I think that this is just a fun way to make kids read it.I know that some of us dont like it and sum do...but all you haters read the book all the way and then post the rude stuff you posted cause you can call this book dumb and stupid and make the athour fell bad or...you can be nice and post good things.If you hate this post then whatever cause i could not care at all...btws you guys are just being mean you kniw how long it takes to write a great book like this.well get over this and go get a life ppl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿¿!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    This is mean

    This is like making a joke out of suzanne collins!!!!!!

    Ya its funny but still she worked so hard and now they r makin jokes.

    24 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I love the Hunger Games so I bought this and it was HILARIOUS! it follows the original characters in really funny ways and hits all the best parts of the Hunger Games with a new spin. really funny reading, I LOL'd on just about every page. definitely get this if you like the Hunger Games and you like to laugh. I'm buying it for my friends.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Nice

    Listen, we need to make fun of it. Its how we interpret things. Turning death into something funny is necisarry. DONT YOU UNDER STAND?!!!?!!!

    22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Rude

    This book looks kinda mean suzanne collins booksare amazing Hunger games forever!!!!!( not pains)

    18 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Stupid!!

    I cant even believe someone wld do this....just understand tht the series is amazing so dont even try to write a parody.....doesnt even deserve 1 star...

    18 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was pretty darned funny. The ones giving the low s

    I thought it was pretty darned funny. The ones giving the low stars are obviously illiterate FAN BOYS. Not a one of you can spell, or have an ounce of decent grammar. It's a PARODY! Don't know what that means, look it up. It is meant as &quot;haha, goofing off, having a little fun&quot;. They do it for almost all HIT books. They did it for Twilight too (which was a HORRID set of books, by the way). They did it to Jane Austen (Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, anyone)?
    Lighten up, FAN BOYS. Lighten the heck up. Have a little fun.

    16 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Is it really stupid?

    Everyone who says it's not right should really:
    A) Just ignore.
    B) Wonder ow much effort this would take.
    C) Not get the book.
    It's really your choice.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Bull crap

    The best series is beeing made fun of?

    15 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Funny

    I've only read the sample, but its one of the best books ever. I recomend this book because it is hilarious. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Anon

    Hey all yall haters should shut up and read it as a parody not as the hunger games ps I WILL GO ALL CATO ON YOU IF YOU HATE THE HUNGER GAMES OR PAINS SERIES

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 913 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46