Customer Reviews for

A Hunger like No Other (Immortals after Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

I avoided this book for months!!!

I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I l...
I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I literally could not put it down after the first five pages. I was utterly captivated from the first scene. I have since become an Immortals after Dark Series FANATIC. I am impatiently waiting for the next ones due out in November and January. Completely cliché to say "don't judge a book by its cover", but in this case the old adage has proven correct. I hope you come to love Nix as much as I do...I need to reread and get all of the hilarious T-shirt quotes.

posted by LuvsMenWhoBite on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them. I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

posted by JoyFul_1 on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I avoided this book for months!!!

    I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I literally could not put it down after the first five pages. I was utterly captivated from the first scene. I have since become an Immortals after Dark Series FANATIC. I am impatiently waiting for the next ones due out in November and January. Completely cliché to say "don't judge a book by its cover", but in this case the old adage has proven correct. I hope you come to love Nix as much as I do...I need to reread and get all of the hilarious T-shirt quotes.

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    really good!

    I had this ebook saved in my nook for awhile and was not all that excited to get started reading it. Probably because the cover looked so cheesy. I had it around in case I get an urge to read paranormal romance. Boy am I sorry I waited. The story is engaging, thrilling and far better than a lot of the books in this genre these days. Kresley Cole is an amazing writer. Lachlain's quiver factor is way up there and you can't help but cheer on Emma as she found herself through this wild ride. Entertaining and sexy as hell, I highly recommend this book to lovers of paranormal romance.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Hunger like No Other

    This is my first time reading Kresley Cole and the book was pretty good. I read it in two days. I did get irritated with the characters on occasion. The heroine is timid, shy and secretive while the hero is bossy and arrogant. He-man hear me roar type. He showed complete lack of regard for the heroine even though she was his mate and his instinct is to protect her above all others. The supporting characters did everything they could to separate the two even knowing that the heroine was his mate. The different factions of what Cole calls the Lore are at odds with each other and no one group seems to mingle in harmony in any way. This makes every meeting between different species a confrontation and I just got annoyed reading about hisses at each other. Other than that the plot was pretty good, even though I felt like some of the history of the Lore could have been explained more in depth. I would recommend this book to others that like paranormal romances. I also hope that in the rest of the series author tempers down the confrontational attitudes of the different species within the Lore and allows the characters to have a conversation without bloodshed.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine romantic fantasy

    He searched for his soul mate for a millenium before the vampire horde captured him in the catacombs below Paris. However, after a seemingly endless captivity, Lachlain MacRieve senses the scent of his Beloved One this gives the leader of the Lykae Clan the incentive to escape, which he does. --- Lachlain¿s euporhoria turns into a rage when he realizes the irony that fate has wrought to him. His chosen mate is a hybred vampire-valkyrie, two natural enemies merged inside her soul and body. Even worse following his abduction of Emmaline, he realizes she lacks the strength of either species. Instead she behaves like a frightened rabbit, which Emmaline is as she has heard horror tales about the torture and violence employed by the Lykae. However as scared as she is, Emmaline finds courage in her attraction to her chief kidnapper Lachlain. Her fortitude makes him realize that his beloved has an inner strength few contain. As the soulmates fall in love in his remote Scottish castle, the vampire horde seek both of them at the same time her irate valkyrie relatives seek to liberate her. --- Romantic fantasy fans will appreciate the return to Cole¿s world (see the novella ¿The Warlord Wants Forever¿ in PLAYING EASY TO GET) as this character driven star-crossed lovers tale is so much fun to read. The action-packed story line plays out on three levels: the lead couple¿s seductively sexual encounter while falling in love in his castle her Valkyrie aunt coming to her rescue and the vampires wanting to kill him and abduct her for her different blood type. A HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER is a superb thriller that will allow NO REST FOR THE WICKED as this is a fast sensational read. --- Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    I first saw this book over a year ago picked it up read the back and put it back down. I just couldn't get my mind around the story line. Then about two month ago I needed something new to read and this book popped up again so I read a lot of reviews and decided to buy it. It sat on my book case for a month. I finley picked it up and started to read it and WOW I could not put it down it only took my about aday to read I'm sorry I waited so long but now Kresley Cole is one of my new favorites. This is a must read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL...A HUNGER LIKE NO OTHER

    I love love...LOVE this series! It's romantic, sexy and out of this world. A Hunger Like No Other is book 1 in Kresley Cole's Immortals After Dark series. Ladies you will love reading this book because the adventure continues to the next book...you will see the same characters in each book but they are like cameos...lol!
    In the first book is about Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan & Emmaline Troy, half Vampire/half Valjyrie. Lachlain has been in a hellish prison of fire for 150 years by the Horde Vampires. While he was there burning year after year his one thought before that was to find his mate and when he picks up his scent under the grounds of Paris he rips himself free to go after her. Emmaline journeys to Paris to do research on her parents. She has been sheltered all her live and finally gets the courage to go abroad alone only to clash with Lachlain. Can Lachlain help Emmaline with more then her quest to truly find herself? Is Emmaline be the lost mate that Lachlain has been looking for even through they are considered mortal enemies? This sexy book will have you wanting more!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Do not judge a book by it's cover ;-/

    Took me a long time to read this because of the cover. The cover is absolutely, positivity horrible...However, the book inside was great...I luv'd it! Started off weird, ended up fabulous!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME! MUST-READ!

    the story is very heartwarming..and unbelievably sexy!...it makes you dream of having your own man like Lachlain. Kresley Cole writes stories that will leave you breathless and out of your mind. It's totally gonna kepp you up in bed just reading this romantic and sizzling sexy book..<BR/>Lachlain went through great lenghts to keep her Emma, unbelievable it worked out when Emma found out that this Lykae is like no one else, no-one else can soothe her inner desires.. Kresley Cole's way of writing the "sexy" part is totally hands-down! its not offbeat or over the top...<BR/><BR/>This book is fantastic! if you want to have a good night sleep..better read this and u'll be dreaming about Lachlain and wishing he's yours!..makes you escape reality..love it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In love with the whole series!

    This is the first book in Kresly Cole's Immortals after Dark series. I've read the whole series and constantly check dates for the next one. The characters are fun. These books will have you laughing out loud. Reagan is my favorite by far and I look forward to her story. These books are hot and steamy. The Alpha males are yummy. The females are strong and don't stand around screaming. They kick butt! Now that I've boasted the series I'll get to this book. Lachlain is the hero but boy is he pissed off. He has been tortured for years by the vampire hoard. He's a Lykae and scents his mate. Scenting his mate gives him a surge of strength that helps him escape his imprisonment. So his mood doesn't improve upon meeting Emmaline,his mate,because uh oh she is a vampire. How could he be mated to a vampire. A creature he hates. Emmaline is part vampire part valkyrie. She has been raised by her valkyrie coven and only drinks blood from a bag. In fact she has never met another vampire. She has had a very sheltered life until Lachlain shows up. Lachlain is angry and treats Emmaline horribly at first. As he learns more about her he starts falling for her pretty fast. Emmaline is drawn to him but he scares her. They each lust for each other and fight it. Oh does it get hot too. Crank up the AC. Just sayin..When Lachlain realizes what an ass he's been he discovers he might lose her.He doesn't care if she's part vampire. He loves his little halfling. Emmaline's mystery parentage puts her in danger and Lachlain's horrendous past gives her the anger and backbone to earn herself a new name in the book of valkyrie. She'll no longer be Emmaline the Timid.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If I only knew

    Had I known this book was so good. I would have coughed the money for it years ago. I loved the characters and the pace of the story. I needed a book to past the time, i thought it would take me a few days to read it. Needless to say, i finished in 1 day. I really could NOT put it down. I enjoy good storytelling and that's what this is. I will be sure to get completely caught up within the next 2 weeks with the entire IMMORTALS AFTER DARK series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!

    I got to say that when i saw the cover i was a little skeptical. lol i mean look at it. Typical blond young and naive girl and typical tall dark and obviously dangerously handsome "man". But when i cracked that book open and smelled the sweet scent of those pages, i was swept away. I so bladly wanted to see Lachlain become a good guy and make Emma see that he is completely in love with her and that there is no other for either of them. Their connection though very sexual surpasses everything. Even their age. Even their species. I wanted to be Emma and to have some one like Lachlain thats how into the story i was. And i wanted to slap Emma a few times lol just to get her to surrender to him, to give herself comepletely over to his hunger for her. OMG!! I read this book with out stopping to do anything else. I love it. Added it to my growing Library- Kresley Cole has become one of my - few - favorite authors. I might just start writing myself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Good book, not sure about the series

    I am on the third book of the series now. I like the series over all, I like the way the characters are all conected in some way, and its a great story about two beings finding love in the worst situations, but there are a few things that i didnt like so much, 1 the characters are a little too stubborn, they wont admit to what they really want and although that makes for some good suspense..... this just draggs out a little too long. And 2 all the books seem to have the same plot just different characters, I feel like im reading the same book over and over again. There are some differences in the characters of course but its ultimately the same thing in the end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This isn't the typical cliched book where two preternatural people are meant to be together and the male says 'oh, i'm a deeply troubled man who needs to dominate my woman' and the woman falls in love after 5 minutes and starts being easy on him. The plot is well outlined and the characters are all well-developed. The couple actually goes through rocky moments and the heroine is a surprise, all meek and vunerable, but ultimately finds herself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Not a plot spoiler

    Good thing I now know NOT to read Harriet Klausner's reviews since she ruins every book with her plot spoilers. The book was a good start to an awesome series. I would recomend it. Kresley Cole is one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    I AM IN LOVVVVEEEEE

    This whole book series is just amazing! If yourlooking for a great romance/badass book then look no more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    .

    Highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    couldnt put it down!

    This is the type of book that just keeps getting better the farther you are into it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    This ain't your daughters Twilight

    This series is well written, each character evolves into the next story, each staying true to original and did I say sexy, erotic and just plain HOT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Loved it - check it out!!

    I started her series with the novella in Playing Easy to Get and love her Immortals After Dark Series. Have read them all and more then once. Just got her latest. I have also read her other books and have enjoyed them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Must read!

    Great series; every book is five star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64