Customer Reviews for

A Hunger like No Other (Immortals after Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I avoided this book for months!!!

I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I l...
I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I literally could not put it down after the first five pages. I was utterly captivated from the first scene. I have since become an Immortals after Dark Series FANATIC. I am impatiently waiting for the next ones due out in November and January. Completely cliché to say "don't judge a book by its cover", but in this case the old adage has proven correct. I hope you come to love Nix as much as I do...I need to reread and get all of the hilarious T-shirt quotes.

posted by LuvsMenWhoBite on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them. I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

posted by JoyFul_1 on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Dissapointed

    The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them.

    I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Kis your hand three times...

    Post this on 3 other books and look under your pillow...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Stockholm syndrome much?

    Even though this book is listed as #1 in the series, at least that's what it shows now, it was written later and it shows. The first that I am aware of was "...the Dark Prince", which this book includes portions of that book.

    The first few books of this series at least had plots throughout the story, this does not. Those has missions, competitions, etc. before the relationships were consumated.

    Then apparently the stories dried up. Even in this supernatural world does it make sense to consumate before the outside action? Within two weeks, our "heroine" is kidnapped, threatened with death, molested, ridiculed, starved, robbed, blackmailed...after finally being fed and protected (from worse), but still kept from her family, never to be released, maybe just maybe a visit in the future, she decides she LIKES him and will help him?!?!?

    Then after about two thirds/three quarters of the book, finally! A mission! However, by that time, I was ready for the "good guys" to be defeated.

    Oh, and the beast taking over and the man losing control when "claiming/marking" their mate and possibly hurting her something terrible? As far as I'm aware, ragardless of how badly the male beast wants to mate in nature, if the female doesn't allow him, it doesn't happen. All she has to do when the male tries to mount is take a few steps. Man is the only creature that would "claim" anyone in that manner described in the book, making the beast more humane in comparison.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Awful

    There are no words to truly express how awful this book was. I fear The hours I wasted reading this have somehow lowered my intellect. This is by far the worst book ever written ..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    hate it!

    It is the worst thing ever. I want to burn every copy of this series so nobody can read this garbage. If i could i would give it -99999 stars. I would never recommend this trash to anyone. If they liked it i would think they are crazy. I would never read this book if i had to or not.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    Why does harriet klausner ruin every book she reviews? She is the worst to reveal plot points. I am sick of her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Terrible

    This book was boring, predictable, and silly.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Borning

    I’m still working on this book and I’m finding it very hard to finish! I really find this book to be dull and very boring. The female lead in this book is so shy and timid although she’s a Vampire? Please…Really? I found that (personally) Emma gets on my last nerve because she seems so weak and totally irritating with her thoughts regarding her Werewolf kidnapper.
    I thought the dialog is lacking luster, it’s seems so dull and pointless at times.
    I just want to push myself to finish this book and move onto something with a little more pizzazz.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For Fans of Train Wrecks

    The so-called hero, Lachlain MacRieve, is a werewolf. I knew it was a bad, bad sign when the "timid" never-been-kissed heroine, Emmaline Troy, turns out to be--I kid you not--half Valkyrie and half Vampire. (The cheesy "I'm-so-embarrassed-to-be-seen-reading-this" cover was another clue.) Fortunately, my suffering was brief, because by page 10, having chased down our heroine, our hero is sexually assaulting her, ripping her clothes off and threatening her with death. I guess it's all supposed to be OK since she's "his mate, the one woman made for him alone." (At least that might mean other women are safe from him.) And they say the old bodice ripper is dead! And this one got a win from the top Romance genre award. And people wonder why so many have contempt for the romance genre? No way this piece of crap would have won a Hugo or Nebula.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3