BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Hunger like No Other (Immortals after Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(834)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

I avoided this book for months!!!

I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I l...
I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I literally could not put it down after the first five pages. I was utterly captivated from the first scene. I have since become an Immortals after Dark Series FANATIC. I am impatiently waiting for the next ones due out in November and January. Completely cliché to say "don't judge a book by its cover", but in this case the old adage has proven correct. I hope you come to love Nix as much as I do...I need to reread and get all of the hilarious T-shirt quotes.

posted by LuvsMenWhoBite on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them. I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

posted by JoyFul_1 on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Awesome book!

    Definitely got everything you would want in a fantasy fiction novel. Action, romance, dark humor, hott characters. Definitely worth it. Pick it up and get started on this series. It's a good one to lose yourself in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All mythic creatures join in!

    A Hunger Like No Other was an interesting book. I wasn't sure I would like it coming off of the Midnight Breed and Black Dagger Brotherhood series', but this book really did stand on it's own and opened up a new realm of PNR options for me.

    There were some strange things about this book though, Emma's family mainly. The characters were convoluted enough that they were hard to keep track of, but it seems that they will each have a role in future books, so maybe their roles will be a bit more clear... I hope.

    I'm still not sure exactly what a Valkyrie is, but I'm assuming it's similar to a fae.

    All in all, I'll read more of this series and this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    This is the first time for me with this author,tho it took several chapters to really get into it, once I did, I couldn't put it down. Loved not only the "steamy" parts, I thoroughly enjoyed the story, the fantasy, and Emma's coven. They all had wonderfully, crazy personalities, and their "special powers." I just downloaded the second of the series, and can't wait to start it. Keep em coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read!

    Interesting storyline that kept me reading until the very end. Had to download the next book right after so the journey continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Pretty Good!

    I read this book in a day. Good adult book. I will read more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    BEST BOOK OF THE SERIES!!

    Oh My Gods this book was amazing!!! I 've knid of been reading the series out of order which can be confusing at times but this so far is my absolute favorite. There's hot, possesive guys sexy killer accents and magnificant bodies- whats not to love? This is a definite read in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was great, LOVED IT!

    A wonderfully charming world to drive into! Try it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    I bought this book on a whim like so many others. The book cover to me was misleading... at least mine was, it appears that HE is the vampire and she is about to be biten, but she's actually the vampire halfling and he's the werewolf. It has some nice romance in it. There is ALOT of sexual tension built up throughout the book until finally, on the night of the full moon, they get it on. All of a sudden she's in love with him. Even with that, the book was not bad at all. I could have done without all the sexual tension, there was just to much of that going on. I felt that the girl was stupid, if you DON'T want him looking at you in a particular way, then WHY dress that way? It had an interesting storyline, I left that the ending battle was finished to quickly and left me with going "huh...?" but oh well. Maybe in the later books the author will let us in on more details. I do recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Stuff!

    This is another series and their all good. Some better than others but fun to read regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Romantic Escape book

    If you like the Sookie Stackhouse novels this will definitely be a nice substitute until the next installment. It's definitely an escape. Read the excerpt. You won't be sorry you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great lady reading

    If all you want is a rainy day off beat girly romantic read this is it. Take a typical romance throw in a dash of the paranormal universe and some classic storylines with a twist and you've got the gist. Great read, very easy going, it provided something pleasingly different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Gives me some other things to hunger

    Great book, truly enjoyed. Kresley writing is enthralling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    How to leave a reader hanging for more...

    Okay the brunt of it is this: the background stories are so good the characters so entertaining you just want to read more. At a certain point I caught myself thinking that I would even trade in a bit of the eroticism for more in-depth character construction. The book hooks you and hugs you and is hot to boot. What more can you ask? Well you can ask for more of course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Tasty

    As a modern supernatural fantasy, this book works very well. What doesn't work is the explicit sex. It's poorly writen and is in no way erotic it mostly just distracts from an otherwise fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Shocked

    I was pleasently surprised when I picked this up at the library as a random book, the moment I started reading it I couldn't put it down, the story drew me right in. The people at the library had to kick me out, I took it home and finished it that night, I was sad when it had to end. If I had to recommend only one book in the whole world, this would be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    An Unexpected Treat

    Oh my god, I don't think I've ever seen such cheesy titles and cover artwork for a series. HOWEVER, this was a seriously fun read. The character Emma is hilarious, and I found myself laughing at any dialogue involving Regin. This book made me want to BE a Valkyrie. The plot involving Emma's past was very involving and the set-up for the rest of the series is gret. I will probably get the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13