Customer Reviews for

A Hunger like No Other (Immortals after Dark Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(831)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I avoided this book for months!!!

I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I l...
I was looking for a new paranormal romance series and this one kept popping up, but I would take one look at the cover art and invariably say "NO Way." Finally, I got a little desperate and broke down and bought the thing. I have never been more shocked in my life...I literally could not put it down after the first five pages. I was utterly captivated from the first scene. I have since become an Immortals after Dark Series FANATIC. I am impatiently waiting for the next ones due out in November and January. Completely cliché to say "don't judge a book by its cover", but in this case the old adage has proven correct. I hope you come to love Nix as much as I do...I need to reread and get all of the hilarious T-shirt quotes.

posted by LuvsMenWhoBite on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointed

The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them. I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

posted by JoyFul_1 on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 64
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    I have read this first book of the series 5 times. When I run out of things in my library I always go back to it. I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Loved it !!!!!!! LOVE IT !!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Dissapointed

    The book may be great but I finished it because I bought it. I don't like Vampires et al. is not my personal preference. I have read some books about immortals and liked them.

    I loved her Sutherland books and her other trilogy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    What a Great First Book for the Series

    This was a fun book for people who enjoy paranormal romance. The characters are hot and the lore world is very interesting. You won't want to put it down. You'll fall in love with it. Besides, how can you not fall in love with a Scot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Beginning of An Addiction!

    This novel was a great introduction to the world of Kresley Cole and Immortals After Dark! Don't let the cover of this book fool you into thinking that it's just another cheesy romance that's only full of sex, sex, and more sex. This book is just the opposite of that and I could not put the book until I finished it! Kresley Cole wisely evolved the characters before letting the readers see them as a pair. Lachlain MacRieve is a tortured soul, physically and mentally, when he found his mate, Emmaline Troy. Throughout the novel, he goes through the challenge of accepting Emma as his mate and his only salvation to achieving a mental recovery. Emma, on the other hand, is an extremely innocent and is in shock throughout this book in having Lachlain by her side. But Emma finds that Lachlain is what she needed in order to find out who she really is and who her father is. Their journey as a pair was quite amusing and you could not help but cheer them on and hope that they will live "happily ever after." Once again, this was a great introduction into the world of Immortals After Dark and just the catalysis I needed to continue on to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Dreamy

    All I can say is the meadow scene has been etched in my brain forever! Where is my werewolf with such strong charisma! I need a man like this and if he exists OH Yeah! Yummy and what a start to a wonderful series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this Book!

    I, too, like some of the others who have left reviews passed by this book many times in my search to find something new to read beacause of the cover. But I have to say this book, when I finally did purchase it, held my attention the whole time and I read it in 2 days! This book has a great story with (a lot of) hot romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovin the Entire Series

    Imortals after dark is a series is one that was different that the books I normally read however it is one that I recomend. I loved all the characters and cant wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    Excellent!!

    I absolutely loved this book! There was just the right amount of everything in this book to make you want to read the next in the series! I would definitely suggest this book to anyone as a great, steamy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kresley Cole is my new fav author

    This was my first intro to Paranormal romance and I was blown away! I feel in love with Kresley Cole's writting style and her originality. I love her women characters they are strong and independent and interesting. The men are just as mouth watering too! This is an awesome series and it leaves you wanting more !! I cant wait for the next in the series. There is never a dull moment in this book. From start to finish it is thrilling and the passion in it is OMG! Lycans are my new fav dream guys!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Totally awesome!

    I love this book. At first, I didn't really want to get started on it due the the book cover. I don't know why! But now I know why people say don't even judge a book by it's cover because you could very well be a fool. This book was awesome. I loved it. I love everything about it. Emma and Lachlain makes such a cute couple and the ending was soooo... touching. I'm looking forward to the next book now. The author is a great writer. I like her style in writing. I'll continue on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In Love With This Series

    This was an amazing book that had a little bit of everything you could want in a romance! The plot was amazing and thrilling and kept you turning pages until the very end. I was emotionally invested in both of the main characters. You want so badly for them both to have the happy ending they've always dreamed about having. I would recommend this book to anyone who is fan of paranormal romance. I intend to read every book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't judge a book by its cover definitely applies to this!

    I was looking for a new series after Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed and I do believe I have found it. Now this series is definitely not like any other I have read and the author is a bit different with his writing, but boy of boy can they tell a story.
    A Hunger Like No Other is the first book in the The Immortals After Dark series.
    The book is an enjoyable read with the romantic tension between Lachlain and Emma effectively holding the readers attention. There are several relationship issues that they have to work out; his hatred of vampires (when she is one) and her not wanting to have anything to do with him because he's a werewolf. HILARIOUS mating, these two.
    Emma developments from being afraid of her own shadow to someone who is self-confident and a power to be reckoned with.
    This series is definitely an original and not like any you have read before.
    I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a little romance and some nice sexy scenes. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book!

    I am a huge romantic so this was the perfect book for me. I have read the Twilight series and was looking for something similar. The story had smiliarities with Twilight but was still different from any other fantasy romance that I have read. It kept to the traditional view of the fanatasy characters (vampires can't go in the sun, etc.) which I liked. However,the story introduced several characters, and you don't learn about all of them, which was a little disappointing. But looking at the other books in the series, it seems it goes into more detail about those characters in the other books. This means I am going to buy the rest of the books :). It didn't take me long to finish the book. The plot moves swiftly and keeps you interested. Can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Was engrossing and surprising

    I loved the book.It was light and yet it had alot of dimention. Alot of different characters and alot of details. I loved how the men were hot and yet caring, and the women were tuff and yet compassionate. The story is different than all the other vampire, werewolf, stories and adds some spice to it. I am a paranormal book reader so this fits right in. It isn't just all about the sex but has sex, and it also has plenty of fighting among the creatures/characters. I will be reading the rest of the series for sure. If you like these, you may like Gena Showalter and P C Cast, who are also great authors. They are what led me to this author.Happy reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Loved it

    I just read six books in the series Immortals After Dark. They all kept my attention and didn't want to put them down..I read in the order written and kept up with each of the characters and the plots..I enjoyed her writing technique and found she kept it going with out a lot of back tracking or repeating... I highly recomend this series. I am now a fan of Kresley Cole...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Immortals after Dark...the best series!

    This is by far my most favorite paranormal romance series and I have pretty much read them all. It has everything funny charming characters, great action, amazing romance, and a well developed/smooth story line. I love all the books in this series. Cole is a fantastic author! I have re-read all of the books numerous times!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A+

    I really like this book, i had to get used to the style at first, but once i did it was wonderful. I am a hopeless romantic and i love drama. This gave it all to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    loved it

    i don't normally read books like this, but i really enjoyed this one. i can't wait to read the others in the series!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Very Good Book.

    I really enjoy reading the this book. After, I wanted to read all the "Immortals after Dark Series"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 64