BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hungry Chick Dieting Solution

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

I Have Already Lost 11 Pounds

After years of struggling with my weight, I finally lost 11 pounds using this book so far. With other diet plans, like Atkins, South Beach and the 17 Day, I won’t lie I too have always found myself feeling too hungry to stick with them. In the end, I usually gained more...
After years of struggling with my weight, I finally lost 11 pounds using this book so far. With other diet plans, like Atkins, South Beach and the 17 Day, I won’t lie I too have always found myself feeling too hungry to stick with them. In the end, I usually gained more weight than I actually lost. Then, I found this book. This is the first book to ever show me how to set realistic goals about my weight, how to manage my portions and how to use the foods that I already eat to maintain my weight loss. The chapters about water and salt are worth their weight in gold. If you are a woman who has ever struggled with her weight, then, you owe it to yourself to read this book first. I highly recommend it.

posted by 10456056 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

I'm missing something here. I feel these reviews don't match the

I'm missing something here. I feel these reviews don't match the book I read. There is nothing new here. It seems to me like old tips recycled from a Weight Watchers meeting- drink water, portion sizes, etc. And I don't believe it was proofread before printing. Tons of ...
I'm missing something here. I feel these reviews don't match the book I read. There is nothing new here. It seems to me like old tips recycled from a Weight Watchers meeting- drink water, portion sizes, etc. And I don't believe it was proofread before printing. Tons of grammar mistakes and some typos. I'm disappointed in the content and quality of this book. Don't waste your time or money.

posted by 3744378 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    I Have Already Lost 11 Pounds

    After years of struggling with my weight, I finally lost 11 pounds using this book so far. With other diet plans, like Atkins, South Beach and the 17 Day, I won’t lie I too have always found myself feeling too hungry to stick with them. In the end, I usually gained more weight than I actually lost. Then, I found this book. This is the first book to ever show me how to set realistic goals about my weight, how to manage my portions and how to use the foods that I already eat to maintain my weight loss. The chapters about water and salt are worth their weight in gold. If you are a woman who has ever struggled with her weight, then, you owe it to yourself to read this book first. I highly recommend it.

    42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    I really do owe Chef Jai an apology. I wrote a scathing review o

    I really do owe Chef Jai an apology. I wrote a scathing review on this book because I bought this book and really didn't get into it. I honestly thought that it was a recycling of Weight Watchers and I said it. I honestly didn’t read it and it was one the biggest mistakes that I ever made. In the end, I gave this book to my sister. She did get into it and she ended losing 17 pounds and is still going. I became even more jealous when she convinced six of our friends to join her using what they learned in the book to lose weight. They have lost a whopping 134 pounds. That is a whole person! So with another copy in hand, I am working on getting back on track. I now know my goal weight. I am feeling better thanks to the increase in the water that I drink. I also love the little tips about fitting exercise into your life. Should you buy this book, I wholeheartedly recommend it. Don’t do what I did the first time around. Buy it and use it. Chef Jai, I am so sorry. I will never doubt you again and I look forward to your cookbook. 

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Recycled Weight Watchers meeting? I bought this book because of

    Recycled Weight Watchers meeting? I bought this book because of the one bad review on here. I have been on Weight  Watchers and I'll admit, I was curious what he or she was talking about.  In the end, I was trying to figure out what book did that person read? It wasn’t the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution. This book is filled with a wealth of information, so much I would have gladly paid twice as much for this book. I have only followed what it said to do the first week and I have lost 6 good pounds. This is weight that I too have struggled with because I like the book said I substituted food for a real relationship. I actually kept food on my night stand. The chapter about the metabolism fire is the best information that I have ever read. My recommendation is that you buy this book!

    31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Who knew? I am on my way to my ideal weight. I am using the Hung

    Who knew? I am on my way to my ideal weight. I am using the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution and I never once felt hungry with this plan. Thanks!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    I heard about this book on Facebook and I decided to give it a t

    I heard about this book on Facebook and I decided to give it a try. I am so glad that I did. I actually decided to buy a copy for my best friend and I. This book has proven to be a wealth of information for the both of us. It has literally changed our lives. Not only are our families eating better, but we both feel better. We also never realized how little water that not just the two of us were drinking, but our families was actually drinking. The results? Drum roll please...my friend has already lost five pounds and I have already lost 8. Great book, it is a must have for every woman and every family .

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I'm missing something here. I feel these reviews don't match the

    I'm missing something here. I feel these reviews don't match the book I read. There is nothing new here. It seems to me like old tips recycled from a Weight Watchers meeting- drink water, portion sizes, etc. And I don't believe it was proofread before printing. Tons of grammar mistakes and some typos. I'm disappointed in the content and quality of this book. Don't waste your time or money.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    My name is Hattie. I am 56 and it is so difficult for me to lose

    My name is Hattie. I am 56 and it is so difficult for me to lose weight. I have lost 9 pounds in 4 weeks and have been able to keep it off. I have not included much exercise, so this is really big for me. I am going to try to do some of the exercises that Chef Jai mentioned. I also love the tracking guide that Chef Jai included to help you keep track of your days. Great book and worth every penny. Every last one red cent!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    To anyone tired of the same old diet plans, buy this book. It re

    To anyone tired of the same old diet plans, buy this book. It really does works. Chef Jai, I can't thank you enough for this book. I don't know if you will read this, but I wanted to say thank you for finally giving real women a realistic way to lose weight. For the first time in my life I know how to set an attainable goal weight and it feels good. I used to think that to lose weight that I had to deprive myself. Chef Jai taught me how to live again and even better than that, how to eat again but still lose weight. I also love the way that the tracking system is set up. The fact that it is so easy to use has been a breath of fresh air to a busy Mom like me. I am no longer embarrassed about my weight so much that I am going to use my real name in this post. I would recommend this book to any and everyone looking to lose weight the right way.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I wish Barnes and Noble allowed you to post pictures. I just fin

    I wish Barnes and Noble allowed you to post pictures. I just finished my first 60 days and I lost a shocking 28 pounds of the weight that I gained after the birth of my son two years. My doctor said it was mostly water weight and after doing what the book said about how to get enough water, I was able to lose this weight and I haven't gained even an ounce of it back yet. So should you buy this book? Yes! Yes! Yes! It's worth every penny. You will definitely see the results.  

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Diet pills have always been my solution to keeping the pounds at

    Diet pills have always been my solution to keeping the pounds at bay but lately, I've been reading too much about the negative effects of such pills. The consequences of some of these pills are just downright scary, and that was the moment I decided I had to stop the pills and to eat healthier instead. The first week I stopped was a total disaster. It seemed that at every minute of every day I was feeling famished! I got this book out of desperation, and this book told me I was allowed to eat. At first that seemed kinda weird, but after reading through the explanations and after trying the diet out myself, I know that it actually works. Now I get to eat AND lose weight at the same time!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    This book does not reinvent the wheel or anything. Same info you

    This book does not reinvent the wheel or anything. Same info you hear everywhere else; however, this book does have some interesting information about certain food products, and also a helpful tool to help calculate how many calories you need to consume daily.

    Otherwise, the one negative reviewer was right about this book being littered with spelling errors. I would like to add, the author's amateur writing style and his overuse of the word "that," causes this book to lose some of its credibility. Makes me wonder if this book is no more than one chef's self-publishing brainstorm, and hooray, it worked?

    Then again, is that such a bad thing? I'll let you decide.

    In a nutshell, the only way to lose weight is to burn off more calories than you consume. That is the message of every weight loss plan out there and this book is no different. This book merely gives you some solid tips on how to live your life and select your food.

    Hope this helps. Much success on your weight loss journey!

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    problem with download

    am only getting 98 pages how do you fix this problem

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I started The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution on December 1, 2012

    I started The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution on December 1, 2012 and my life has not been the same. I have always been a "big girl" - in high school I was a size 16/18 and I hated myself. Over the years I have gained and lost several people on other diets. When a friend told me about this book, I was skeptical. But, I tried it any way. What I found in this book that I have never seen before is a diet book that explains why I should be losing weight and exactly how. I have never felt better about my weight or myself. Say what you want about this book, I have seen some of the baseless reviews, including the ones from the sideline English professors whose reviews are filled with grammatical errors too, this book actually works. And that ain’t no lie! 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Eye opener!

    Great way to get you thinking about what we put in our bodies! A real eye opener! Only downfall, when purchased as a NOOK book, once you hit page 86 it jumps to 74! :(

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I needed this book in my life. Thank you. 

    I needed this book in my life. Thank you. 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Wow! Wow! Wow! I just finished my first seven days and I love th

    Wow! Wow! Wow! I just finished my first seven days and I love the way that I feel. This is the first weight loss program that actually fits my lifestyle. I wasn't one to exercise or eat right, but this book is helping me to change that. Five pounds down, twenty to go and as the book reminded me, I can do it. 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    My daughter rocks! I originally borrowed my daughter's copy of t

    My daughter rocks! I originally borrowed my daughter's copy of this book when she came home from college recently. Biggest mistake ever! Apparently, she had been using the book to fight off the freshman 15 pounds and she needed it back. Well, I ended up getting my own and it helped me drop an amazing 22 pounds by making some much needed changes in my diet. I no longer snack. I actually get to eat. I am drinking more water. I am actually working out. Who knew that my daughter would actually be the one to teach me a thing or two? She did and I love her for it. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    I will not lie, this is the first book I've read on the subject

    I will not lie, this is the first book I've read on the subject that actually seems smart, natural, makes a lot of sense, and seems like something I could do for the rest of my life! Her research is very solid. I wish I'd known what is in this book years ago. The supermarket piece is a real eye opener. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    This book is worth every last penny. Great book. Great tips. Gre

    This book is worth every last penny. Great book. Great tips. Great ideas. A real weight loss solution. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    My name is Ann. I thought that I had heard it all when it came t

    My name is Ann. I thought that I had heard it all when it came to dieting. But, then, I found this book. This is the first book that not only tells you what to eat, but actually explains the how and why. In the end, it is the first book to really show me how to lose weight. I love it. Thanks! 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5