BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl: Recipes and Survival Strategies for Guilt-Free Eating in the Real World

Average Rating 3.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun Cook Book

This is a fun and informative cook book. When I want a change in my diet or feel the need to cheat, without paying a price for it, I use this book. I have tried a few recipes from each section and they are all delicious. My families current favorite is the egg burrito. ...
This is a fun and informative cook book. When I want a change in my diet or feel the need to cheat, without paying a price for it, I use this book. I have tried a few recipes from each section and they are all delicious. My families current favorite is the egg burrito. All the recipes are quick and most have easy to find ingredients. I would recommend this book.

posted by RuthCM on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's title could be Eat Non-Fat No-Sugar Food

The idea behind the book is good. The execution is not so good. Basically, the author suggests you use only non-fat and no-sugar products in place of regular food. If you are used to eating normal food, the processed foods she suggested are quite lacking.

posted by jacksonae75 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Fun Cook Book

    This is a fun and informative cook book. When I want a change in my diet or feel the need to cheat, without paying a price for it, I use this book. I have tried a few recipes from each section and they are all delicious. My families current favorite is the egg burrito. All the recipes are quick and most have easy to find ingredients. I would recommend this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, common-sense way to reduce calories

    Hungry Girl, based on the website of the same name, compiles common-sense approaches to cutting fat and calories through smart substitutions. Useful sidebars offer comparisons of similar commercial fast-food versions showing fat and calories. <BR/><BR/>In the beginning, Hungry Girl (Lisa Lillien) offers up a useful list of recommended products designed to save fat/calories, including light soymilks, numerous fat-free products, and light bread products. She also includes Top ATE kitchen essentials (measuring cups, blender, etc.). Beginning with breakfast, HG offers up low-fat versions of Egg McMuffins (184 cal, 2g fat), burritos (239 cal, 3g fat), French toast (195 cal, 1g fat), smoothies and oatmeal (with pumpkin and cinnamon...yum!). <BR/><BR/>Other chapters embrace salads, soups, pastas, Guy Foods, desserts, and holiday dishes. Normally gut-busting items like chili dogs (109 cal, 1g fat), onion rings (153 cal, 1g fat), spicy crispy chicken sandwich (313 cal, 4.5 g fat), eggnog (98 cal, 2g fat), mint mocha freeze (55 cal, 0.5 g fat), and more are given low-fat makeovers courtesy of secret ingredients such as Eggbeaters, Fiber One bran cereal, and fat-free swaps like fat-free cheese, fat-free sour cream, etc. Cute drawings spice up the chapters. <BR/><BR/>Generally, the recipes are nutritionally sound and easy to prepare, but a word of warning: low-fat and fat-free products are plumped up with sodium, so the sodium counts are *insanely* high for many items (upwards of a day's worth of sodium in a single recipe), and excess sodium consumption can result in water retention, bloating, and high blood pressure. Also, the numerous sugar-free products such as sweeteners and sugar-free mixes can cause a laxative effect in sensitive people. <BR/><BR/>Also, the chapter on low-cal alcoholic beverages is suspect, since a recent study showed that mixing alcohol with diet sodas actually resulted in becoming intoxicated more quickly (21 minutes for absorption of diet soda mix versus 36 minutes for regular soda and alcohol). Of course, if you do choose to drink (these recipes can be made virgin), it's always a good idea to eat something first, which slows absorption into the bloodstream. <BR/><BR/>But for stressed-out working moms (and dads), Hungry Girl offers many palatable swaps of popular food from major chains that are markedly lower in calories, fat, and sugar, including kid-friendly recipes, that may be a good way for families to eat more healthfully.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Yum Yum for my Tum Tum

    I just bought this book and I love it! I am making my way through the meals and the recipies make me and my tummy smile. I like that the recipes are simple and tasty. I also like how it is only one serving and you can double or triple it however you like. I joined her email listing and really like the info she sends along with her witty writing style. Great Job!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Helpful Strategies

    Lisa Lillien's cookbooks get better with each new one. This, I think maybe her first, uses unusual ingredients in unusual combinations to achieve healthy, low-fat, low calorie foods that actually taste good. Since many of her recipes are for one person, it makes it easy when only one person in the house is "eating light". On the other hand, these dishes are so good that almost anyone would enjoy them. She includes strategies for surviving in a world where unhealthy foods in huge quantities have become the norm.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Great for singles!

    I cook by myself all the time since I'm single and my roommate and I are on different schedules. This cookbook is full of simple, healthy recipes that use ingredients I keep on hand or can easily find in our local grocery store. I looked at this book at our local library and liked so many recipes that I couldn't resist buying it because I wanted to be able to always have it on hand!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Tool for Cutting Calories from your diet.

    i was given this cookbook by a friend after i joined Weight Watcher's last spring. The recipes are easy to follow, healthy, and delicious. I have shared these with friends and family. I am employed by a family as their personal cook and use many of these recipes when i cook for them. We allllll love that we are eating healthy. I have lost 40 lbs, dropped 5 dress sizes and am healthier than I have been in 15 years. it is easy to adapt old recipes following the tips in the book. I would recommend this cookbook to anyone wanting to eat healthier and more sensibly. i have pre-purchased the new Hungry Girl Cookbook scheduled for release in march for myself and am sending a niece two of the Hungry Girl Cookbooks to add to her collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Entertaining and informative. Inspires cooking adventures

    I enjoyed just thumbing through the book and reading about the different products, the different uses for food products that I had not thought of. I appreciate the list of favorite food items to have on hand and still need to go shopping with that list. Look forward to using the cookbook soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Great Food for Everyone!

    This is an excellent cookbook! No matter how much experience you have in the kitchen, not only will you enjoy making the recipes but you will also enjoy EATING them. I have thoroughly enjoyed the book, and I'm no longer afraid of cooking my own food. One of my favorites is the chicken pot pie, with under 250 calories per serving. The calorie count and nutritional information are helpful for planning your meals. I wish that there was a volume two!

    This is a keeper!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    HG Recipe Book just OK

    I was a little disappointed with this book. I would have liked to see more illustrations/pictures. The recipes are practical, but the few I've tried so far ( and I know they're low calorie dishes) still need additional help in the seasoning department. I typically try it their way the first time to see if I need to add anything the next time. So far I've had to add something to everything I've tried the second time. I don't believe this is for a novice cook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    It's title could be Eat Non-Fat No-Sugar Food

    The idea behind the book is good. The execution is not so good. Basically, the author suggests you use only non-fat and no-sugar products in place of regular food. If you are used to eating normal food, the processed foods she suggested are quite lacking.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Who are you kidding

    I bought this book and tried some recipes. I made the butternut squash fries. I love squash, but I think next time I can bake my potatoes in the oven for the same calories. I tried the fried onion rings. GROSS! It taste like cardboard box. Sorry but I can make low-fat foods taste better than these recipes. No wonder this book is call Hungry girl, you stay hungry after you try it. I do have to give her thanks for her effort.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Interesting title

    The recipes are very helpful in cooking reduced calorie and carb meals! Way to go!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good.

    If you're tired of dieting and just want to lose some weight without sacrificing taste on every single thing, then this is the book for you. I liked the strategies and the advice. It's really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Not what I expected

    It didn't really have a lot of main course meals, mostly desserts.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great for the dieting hungry!

    this book is a wonderful collection of recipes (which include some for just 1 person, which is great if you are the only dieter in the house) that are tasty and healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    Good Idea but not Good Food

    I tried making the peanut butter fudge recipe on page 171 and it was simply awful. I couldn't even feed it to my 19 year old brother. The only thing I can recommend to fix it would be to mix more peanut butter with the whole recipe so it's more of a peanut butter chocolate marble fudge, but then it isn't low calorie anymore. Not worth the $20.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    worth the money

    The recipe for Dan Good Chili is the best low-fat chili my husband and I have tried thus far. This recipe alone is worth the price of the book to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    One word: Repulsive.

    All of the recipies I've made form this book taste disgusting. The food looks good in the book but it tastes so bad. A lot of the recipes call for fake sweeteners which is utterly unhealthy, so if you're trying to lose weight healthily, this is NOT the book for you.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    this is a really good book its much bigger than i thought it would be..it has pictures and it has everything from breakfast to cocktails. id recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    Who doesn't want to eat those decadent things like brownies, or kick back with some comfort foods?! I do! And, I am working my way through this book with a positive mindset, trying these recipes. You should too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5