Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl: Recipes and Survival Strategies for Guilt-Free Eating in the Real World

Average Rating 3.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun Cook Book

This is a fun and informative cook book. When I want a change in my diet or feel the need to cheat, without paying a price for it, I use this book. I have tried a few recipes from each section and they are all delicious. My families current favorite is the egg burrito. ...
This is a fun and informative cook book. When I want a change in my diet or feel the need to cheat, without paying a price for it, I use this book. I have tried a few recipes from each section and they are all delicious. My families current favorite is the egg burrito. All the recipes are quick and most have easy to find ingredients. I would recommend this book.

posted by RuthCM on May 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's title could be Eat Non-Fat No-Sugar Food

The idea behind the book is good. The execution is not so good. Basically, the author suggests you use only non-fat and no-sugar products in place of regular food. If you are used to eating normal food, the processed foods she suggested are quite lacking.

posted by jacksonae75 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, common-sense way to reduce calories

    Hungry Girl, based on the website of the same name, compiles common-sense approaches to cutting fat and calories through smart substitutions. Useful sidebars offer comparisons of similar commercial fast-food versions showing fat and calories. <BR/><BR/>In the beginning, Hungry Girl (Lisa Lillien) offers up a useful list of recommended products designed to save fat/calories, including light soymilks, numerous fat-free products, and light bread products. She also includes Top ATE kitchen essentials (measuring cups, blender, etc.). Beginning with breakfast, HG offers up low-fat versions of Egg McMuffins (184 cal, 2g fat), burritos (239 cal, 3g fat), French toast (195 cal, 1g fat), smoothies and oatmeal (with pumpkin and cinnamon...yum!). <BR/><BR/>Other chapters embrace salads, soups, pastas, Guy Foods, desserts, and holiday dishes. Normally gut-busting items like chili dogs (109 cal, 1g fat), onion rings (153 cal, 1g fat), spicy crispy chicken sandwich (313 cal, 4.5 g fat), eggnog (98 cal, 2g fat), mint mocha freeze (55 cal, 0.5 g fat), and more are given low-fat makeovers courtesy of secret ingredients such as Eggbeaters, Fiber One bran cereal, and fat-free swaps like fat-free cheese, fat-free sour cream, etc. Cute drawings spice up the chapters. <BR/><BR/>Generally, the recipes are nutritionally sound and easy to prepare, but a word of warning: low-fat and fat-free products are plumped up with sodium, so the sodium counts are *insanely* high for many items (upwards of a day's worth of sodium in a single recipe), and excess sodium consumption can result in water retention, bloating, and high blood pressure. Also, the numerous sugar-free products such as sweeteners and sugar-free mixes can cause a laxative effect in sensitive people. <BR/><BR/>Also, the chapter on low-cal alcoholic beverages is suspect, since a recent study showed that mixing alcohol with diet sodas actually resulted in becoming intoxicated more quickly (21 minutes for absorption of diet soda mix versus 36 minutes for regular soda and alcohol). Of course, if you do choose to drink (these recipes can be made virgin), it's always a good idea to eat something first, which slows absorption into the bloodstream. <BR/><BR/>But for stressed-out working moms (and dads), Hungry Girl offers many palatable swaps of popular food from major chains that are markedly lower in calories, fat, and sugar, including kid-friendly recipes, that may be a good way for families to eat more healthfully.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    Interesting title

    The recipes are very helpful in cooking reduced calorie and carb meals! Way to go!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great for the dieting hungry!

    this book is a wonderful collection of recipes (which include some for just 1 person, which is great if you are the only dieter in the house) that are tasty and healthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    this is a really good book its much bigger than i thought it would be..it has pictures and it has everything from breakfast to cocktails. id recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Yum

    You'd never believe these were diet recipes. They are super low in calories (or Points if you're counting) and they taste delicious. I just wish she had more pictures in there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    VERY EASY RECIPES

    MOST RECIPES ARE VERY EASY WITH EVERYDAY INGREDIENTS. WILL BE TRYING MORE OF THEM SOON.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1