Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl 200 under 200: 200 Recipes under 200 Calories

Average Rating 3.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not only entertaining, but delicious!

I've been a loyal follower of the Hungry Girl daily e-mails for quite some time. I've used Lisa's first cookbook faithfully this past year as I've been on Weight Watchers. This new cookbook will be a welcome addition to my cookbook library. The recipes are easy, alig...
I've been a loyal follower of the Hungry Girl daily e-mails for quite some time. I've used Lisa's first cookbook faithfully this past year as I've been on Weight Watchers. This new cookbook will be a welcome addition to my cookbook library. The recipes are easy, align readily with WW and are delicious. Not only are the recipes great, but the quirky humor brings a smile to my face and helps make the weight loss journey that much more fun!

posted by MimiMF on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointed

I bought this as a gift for my daughter. She liked the idea but it called for too many "specialty" items. You could always substitute but then it is no longer under 200 calories recipe.

posted by NE_Grandma on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    disappointed...

    After reading through every page of this book, I have to say I am thoroughly disappointed. I think it's great that there are so many recipes that are low in calories, but it seems like it doesn't focus on being HEALTHY - the majority of the ingredients are processed foods/products, like the no-calorie sweeteners are used alot, and the low/no fat cool whip is also used quite a bit. Anybody that has done a little research knows that focusing on low-fat and low-calorie processed products is not the healthier way to go. We should be focusing more on the UNprocessed foods in order to really work on a healthier way of life.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OK but...

    Being on Weight Watchers I'm always looking for recipes low in calories, low in fat, high in fiber but with healthy choices. This book is good if you are willing to change up some of the ingredients. I don't use Cool Whip not even the Fat Free one because of the hydrogenated oils the manufacturer uses. Fat Free Cool Whip is used in numerous recipes in this book and I substituted low-fat whipped cream for the FF Cool Whip. Did you ever try to melt Cool Whip? I ran hot water over it and it doesn't melt! This author also uses Splenda in all recipes as a calorie free sugar substitute but it doesn't work for me. When I was a regular user of Splenda it caused major problems for me with stomach gas, when I stopped using it so stopped the gas. Other healthier choices are Stevia (0 calories), Sun Crystals (4 calories per packet) or whatever works for you. It was a little disappointing that the author used so many artificial products in her recipes to achieve the "under 200 calorie" status.

    I did like the choices for low fat substitutions and baking versus frying, yes...I found this to be a good feature. So if you don't mind doing a little research on your own and reworking some of the recipes to suit your healthy choices as I did, the book might be helpful to you.

    Am I sorry I bought it. No. Would I buy it again? No.

    Go to the library first and check out it for yourself. If it works for you, buy it. If not, there are plenty of books with healthier choices for low calorie cooking...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hungry Girl not what I expected

    I saw the author on a TV show and her ideas were innovative, so I ordered the book. Some of the recipes for entrees are great. Don't care for the desserts made with pumpkin as a fat substitute. I tried to substitute a lesser amount of unsweetend applesauce for the pumpkin in the fudge recipe. It tasted much better. I wish she would give instructions how to make a low cal, low fat cake. She has lots of cupcake recipes which only call for 1/2 box of cake mix. I'd rather make a whole cake when I'm having guests, but am not sure how to adjust the baking times for a large pan, and also whether the results would be satisfactory.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Just Okay

    Lots of good recipes, but for things I wouldn't normally make or keep in the house (i.e., cupcakes). If you're a junk food junkie, then lots of healthier versions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Good cookbook

    I like this cookbook and got some good ideas from it and some nice receipes. The only thing that might be difficult for some is many of the receipes have specialty ingredients that you only need a little of and might not use again and that can be expensive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Under 200 but lots of work

    Some of the recipes are ponderous - a lot of work for a little reward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    200 under 200

    i was dissappointed in the book. i loved the first hungry girl and based my purchase on the unseen 2nd book on that opinion. however had i reviewed 200 before i purchased it i would not have bought it for myself let alone for others. that being said, the friends that i gave it to that hadn't read the first one were delighted. so, i guess this is what is called a mixed review. bottom line, i would not have bought four copies if i saw it first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    cook book for snackers who are cutting calories and fat

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2