Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl 1-2-3: The Easiest, Most Delicious, Guilt-Free Recipes on the Planet

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Best Cookbook Ever!

I have a pretty busy schedule between work and home life so I don't have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen cooking up meals. Plus I've also never been much of a cook so that doesn't help. When I saw this cookbook it seemed pretty appealing and fun to use. From the...
I have a pretty busy schedule between work and home life so I don't have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen cooking up meals. Plus I've also never been much of a cook so that doesn't help. When I saw this cookbook it seemed pretty appealing and fun to use. From the first page I realized that it also contained recipes that help one watch their calories. I thought that was such a added bonus. The recipes are easy to put together and are so delicious. The best part is that they do not take a lot of time to put together. You do not have to hunt down the ingredients you'll need to put together a meal. The book contains plenty of options for appetizers, main dishes and everyone's favorite desserts. You'll want to try each and every one.

posted by DiamondD73 on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat Disappointing

I am on Weight Watchers and bought this book after I began subscribing to the Hungry Girl daily newsletter because the recipes, etc. had WW points. The book refers you back to the website for points and pictures of all recipes. Why then did I purchase the book if I co...
I am on Weight Watchers and bought this book after I began subscribing to the Hungry Girl daily newsletter because the recipes, etc. had WW points. The book refers you back to the website for points and pictures of all recipes. Why then did I purchase the book if I could get the same information from the website? Because the website isn't organized in a user friendly way and quite frankly, the book isn't either. I would recommend saving your money and just look for recipes on the website. The one advantage to the book is you don't waste your own printer supplies....

posted by JacksonvilleReader on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Best Cookbook Ever!

    I have a pretty busy schedule between work and home life so I don't have a lot of time to spend in the kitchen cooking up meals. Plus I've also never been much of a cook so that doesn't help. When I saw this cookbook it seemed pretty appealing and fun to use. From the first page I realized that it also contained recipes that help one watch their calories. I thought that was such a added bonus. The recipes are easy to put together and are so delicious. The best part is that they do not take a lot of time to put together. You do not have to hunt down the ingredients you'll need to put together a meal. The book contains plenty of options for appetizers, main dishes and everyone's favorite desserts. You'll want to try each and every one.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat Disappointing

    I am on Weight Watchers and bought this book after I began subscribing to the Hungry Girl daily newsletter because the recipes, etc. had WW points. The book refers you back to the website for points and pictures of all recipes. Why then did I purchase the book if I could get the same information from the website? Because the website isn't organized in a user friendly way and quite frankly, the book isn't either. I would recommend saving your money and just look for recipes on the website. The one advantage to the book is you don't waste your own printer supplies....

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    a total waste of my money

    bought for my nook - I cannot navigate using the index - so need to scroll to the recipe you want - if it is on page 600(703pages) your sunk- I like her recipe books but cannot use this one - who ever heard of a recipe book you have to read cover to cover

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I loved the book. I also gave a copy to a friend for her birthday. Tomorrow night I am using one of the foil receipes but will increase the ingredients for the whole family. Looking forward to trying my first receipe.

    Since I live alone, I really like the fact that a lot of the receipes are geared for a single serving. I loved the crock pot chapter. I use my crock pot a great deal and the book has given me some new ideas. Overall, I really enjoy the book. I read it from cover to cover and will definitely put it to good use.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's mostly a Duh! moment cookbook

    Lisa Lillien's latest is full of recipes that are just like her other cookbooks. "Recipes" like Giant Bowl of Cereal, Cinnamon Toast (made on english muffins) and Chili Dogs (using canned chili). Haven't we all been making these things since we were 6 years old?

    Why do I keep buying these books? WHY??

    Because she makes eating healthy fun, and I wouldn't know how to make low calorie pancakes without her.

    The recipes are full of "Duh": Use a light hot dog bun, a fat free hot dog, nuke it and top with canned fat free chili! Look at that amazing recipe I came up with!!

    But some really will become part of your weekly meal routine so they're worth it for that.

    I bought the first two, I bought this one, and I bought them for my mom and sister also. And I'll buy the next one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    The Best So Far

    This is my favorite of the Hungry Girl cookbooks so far. The recipes are healthy, low-fat, low calorie and taste great. Hungry Girl Lisa Lillien does use some unusual ingredients in her recipes which can send one scurrying around the grocery store; but it is a fabulous opportunity to try some new foods. This cookbook is not for the "natural food" purists; Hungry Girl does use artificial sweeteners and other substitutes for high calorie ingredients. But these recipes overall are full of fiber, fruit, vegetables, and lean meats, and, just in general, healthy. The amazing thing is how great they taste...losing weight can actually be a pleasant experience! Lisa's over-the-top enthusiasm adds to the fun of reading the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    this is the best Hungry Girl yet

    I have all of Lisa's Hungry Girl cookbooks and find the most recent one the best. It is easy to use and the recipes are more practical. Have used it a lot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Awesome cookbook!

    I own two other hungry girl cookbooks but this one is by far the best. It has slow cooker receipes, serving sizes of 1 or more, and is easy to read. I especially like how it gives you other receipes using the same key ingredients so a whole can of pumpkin puree, for example, doesn't go to waste.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    More pictures please

    I was at FedEx Kinkos and saw this book (for the first time) and while I was waiting (for 15 minutes) looked it over. First look I wanted to buy it, then I looked at it more and thought, I shouldn't because I like cookbooks with the pictures on the page so you can see what it looks like. Yes, there are color photos of some of the dishes but they're in the middle of the book and you have to check the recipe page to see what page the picture is on. I did not buy it for that reason. Just turned me off.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    best hungry girl yet

    I like this one the best. I think it gives more options as far as things to cook for dinner. It has recipes for one or two, which is great as I am not very good when it comes to downsizing of ingredients. Has a wide range of recipes using a variety of ingredients. And the best, the recipes use ingredients that are suppose to be better for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Hungry Girls Rocks!!!

    Hungry Girls Cookbooks are the greatest. They enable someone who likes to eat to start to lose weight. I have so far lost 38.4 pounds by just watching what I eat and using these recipes... These books are the greatest resource you can give to yourself. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Addition to my Cookbook Library!

    I have the other two Hungry Girl cookbooks and I was so excited to buy this new one! It certainly did not disappoint! In addition to the yummy and healthy recipes are some new features such as: a list of supplies in addition to the ingredients at the top of each recipe and suggestions for what to do with leftover food after you make the recipe (like a half a can of fruit, etc). She also suggests substituions for specific ingredients, noting the chance in nutritional info if you chose to do so! I feel like this cookbook contains more simple recipes than the other two, which is great. It also has whole chapters for crockpots and foil packs! My only complaint is that I wish there were more pictures in the book! However, you can always go to the hungry girl website to see a picture of each recipe! Definitely a great book for anyone who is on a diet, trying to maintain a weight loss, or just looking to cook some healthier meals and snacks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoy this amzing quick and healthy cookbook

    I picked up this book when I started to diet, it has alot of quick and easy recipies and also tells you the calorie content and when you eat the food it doesn't taste low fat-low cal!In the first few weeks after I bought this book I shared it with EVERYONE I knew that loves to cook my best friend was so so jealous that I had to buy her this amazing book for her birthday. I only have one more book out of the series to buy and with the way my fiancee is eating this food even he can't wait for me to go get it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A must have cookbook

    This book is truly awesome. It contains a lot of substitutes for favorite take out meals as well as numerous low cal meals, snacks and drinks. This book makes it super easy to maintain a low cal diet without sacrificing the awesome taste of food we all love. The recipes are easy to follow and the calories counting is done for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You'll See Food in a New Way!

    I found Hungry Girl on her website and have enjoyed her newsletter, but had not tried her recipes until buying the book. Let's just say her website is a great platform for selling her books!

    First and foremost, the book delivers. The recipes are easy. They are nutritious and both my husband and I have been surprised and delighted by the flavor of all that we have tried. There were even some recipes that the kids loved. Turkey mini meatloafs loaded with hidden veggies, talk about feeling good about the food you serve your kids, especially in light of all the recent press about unhealthy school lunches!

    The best part is, through these recipes, you learn to incorporate her simple techniques, ingredient swaps to incorporate into your own recipes - making them healthier with less calories, thus seeing food in a whole new way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    When you are ready--this is a great book!

    So, I am a fitness trainer and nutritional consultant. Everyday I am asked about a dozen different books. "will this work?" "What do you think of this?". My clients and their fitness success is why I read as many diet, exercise and recipe books out there. Hungry 1-2-3 is a book that I recommend to many of my clients. This book provides MANY easy-to-make meals that, after testing them, really are pretty tasty as well as healthy! My only hesitation is that if you are not mentally ready to lead a healthy lifestyle, then this book may help you short-term, but not long-term. I encourage all of my clients to get in the right mindframe before they start with the healthy cookbooks promising healthy, tasty, easy-to-make meals. If it was THAT easy, we would ALL be thin. However, once you are in that mindspace, this book is GREAT!! The book that I highly recommend that you read before this is: Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow. It is a quick, easy and powerful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Hungry Girl 1-2-3

    Have been using this book for a few weeks now and have made several recipes from it. Each one has been really good and most have been awesome! The Shrimp and Grits and the Broccoli Slaw with Bacon are two standouts that my family raved about. The egg mugs are so easy you could prepare them to go and microwave at work. Thanks Lisa for another great book to help use all get or stay at a healthy weight!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Appealing, tasty, easy-to-make recipes... all low-calorie

    At 58, I suspect I am much older than the demographic this book is targeting, but I enjoy making (and eating) Hungry Girl's tasty and appealing foods without guilt. I've given this and other HG books as gifts many times because HG has such a practical approach to "diet" food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    The Life of Alex Sanchez~19

    (Camron's pov)" So you guys are brother and sister?", i said as we ran." Yep!", Erika said. The other guy, Nathen, wasn't paying any attention to us. He kept looking behind us." Hurry in these bushes.", he said as he shobed us into the bushes. We waited awhile. A couple of guards came past us. They had dogs. The dogs sniffed by the bush we were in and growled. The guards weren't paying attention to the dogs." Shutup, Rex! We're talkin'!", he turned to the other guard," If you twist your ankle ten more times while we're on this path, I get the slaves we're after, your wife, your children, and all your land and animals." " Deal! But if you hit your head on a tree twice, I get the slaves we're after, your land, and yourself as a slave.", the other one said." Agreed!", they shook hands and looked at the dogs." You think they found something.", the guards moved the bushes and saw us. They raised their guns and we held our hands up. We walked out of the bushes." We only got one picture of one of them.", said the first guard. Nathen shook his head. We al knew the picture was of him." Here it is!", the guard pulled out a picture of Nathen. They seized him and beat him. Erika started to cry. They chained Nathen's hands behind his back and threw him on the ground next to the dogs. The dogs looked hungry. The guards turned to us and looked at us. One of them came up to Erika and rubbed her cheek. She didn't do anything." I want this one.", the second guard said. The other one said," We don't know if these were the slaves we were looking for.", the guard looked at us," Are you with him?" Erika almost nodded her head. I saw Nathen shake his head. I shook my head." Well it was worth a try. Do you want to follow us to civilazation?", the second guard asked. I was about to answer when the guards walkie talkie's went off. The guard listened for awhile and then answered," Oh.. okay.", he turned the walkie talkie off." The master says he doesn't anymore slaves. So he told me to shoot this slave in the head." Erika gasped, quietly. The guards turned to us," You can watch us do it." I answered," No thanks.", i grabbed Erika around the waist and turned around. When we were 20yards away, we heard gun shots and flashes. We both knew Nathen was dead. Erika put her head on my shoulder and cryed.~~~~~~ Please post faster sword of poseidon guy. I love your stories. Next part at next res.~ Chris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great recipes that are mouth watering. But then again, it could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7