Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl 300 Under 300: 300 Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner Dishes Under 300 Calories

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Lo-Cal and Tasty, But Not Always Healthy

This is actually my first HG book. I'd heard alot of hype about the website/show/books, but didn't know much about them until I happened across the show one evening. I liked that the recipes she was making seemed quick and easy, but appealed to the not-so-healthy cravin...
This is actually my first HG book. I'd heard alot of hype about the website/show/books, but didn't know much about them until I happened across the show one evening. I liked that the recipes she was making seemed quick and easy, but appealed to the not-so-healthy cravings we all get sometimes. I signed up for the mailing list and friended on FB...hence how I found out about the new cookbook. I preordered it the day before release and got the download early yesterday morning. Having spent a good portion of yesterday and this morning perusing the recipes, I have mixed feelings about this cookbook. While I love that they are all under 300 calories and they look like they would be tasty, alot of them don't seem all that healthy. Artificial sweeteners are used ALOT (as a caveat, she does add as a tip more than once that you can use Truvia or regular sugar instead), and while the calories are low, the sodium and carb levels on several recipes I saw were pretty dang high. Another little nit-picky thing that bugs me in cookbooks that is also in this one is brand-name dropping. There's alot of brand names used and in a good majority of the recipes (Laughing Cow, Pillsbury, Fiber One, etc). I realize that the author is probably getting kickbacks to endorse particular brands in their cookbook, but if I wanted constant advertisements for brands, I'd buy that brand's cookbook or a magazine. There is a "Recommended Products" list at the back of the book and I like that...just wish all the name-dropping could have been confined to there. On the plus side, there is good website support for the book. The ebook version doesn't include any pictures, but there are pictures of every dish on the website, along with WW point values for those using the WW system. The WW points doesn't matter to me, but any cookbook I buy absolutely has to have pictures. Not having them right there on my ereader with the recipe is kind of a bummer, but there are very few cookbooks that have pictures for every single recipe...so it comes out a win. Also the sheer volume of recipes insures that there is something here for everyone. There are also lots of good tips scattered throughout the book. Overall, I think this looks to be a pretty decent cookbook. I'll probably tweak some of the recipes to suit my own tastes/standards, but most of them look pretty tasty...and the fact that they're lo-cal is a bonus.

posted by Ravendas on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fabulous, but with formatting errors

I have 3 HG cookbooks and am a big fan of the how. However, this Nook version as many formatting issues on the Simple Touch. Seems as if "1/3" just never wants to show up in the recipe measurements. I used a library copy of this book to demystify the errors I got on my ...
I have 3 HG cookbooks and am a big fan of the how. However, this Nook version as many formatting issues on the Simple Touch. Seems as if "1/3" just never wants to show up in the recipe measurements. I used a library copy of this book to demystify the errors I got on my Nook. I suggest that B & N ensure al of the Nooks can successfully and totally support books across all platforms, before publishing goes live. Despite the publishing gaffes, I loooooove these recipes. I am not a fan of artifical sweetener, nor soy crumbles. But still, I think that I could eat healthy while slightly tweaking these to my preferences.

posted by KLuvsBooks_87 on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Lo-Cal and Tasty, But Not Always Healthy

    This is actually my first HG book. I'd heard alot of hype about the website/show/books, but didn't know much about them until I happened across the show one evening. I liked that the recipes she was making seemed quick and easy, but appealed to the not-so-healthy cravings we all get sometimes. I signed up for the mailing list and friended on FB...hence how I found out about the new cookbook. I preordered it the day before release and got the download early yesterday morning. Having spent a good portion of yesterday and this morning perusing the recipes, I have mixed feelings about this cookbook. While I love that they are all under 300 calories and they look like they would be tasty, alot of them don't seem all that healthy. Artificial sweeteners are used ALOT (as a caveat, she does add as a tip more than once that you can use Truvia or regular sugar instead), and while the calories are low, the sodium and carb levels on several recipes I saw were pretty dang high. Another little nit-picky thing that bugs me in cookbooks that is also in this one is brand-name dropping. There's alot of brand names used and in a good majority of the recipes (Laughing Cow, Pillsbury, Fiber One, etc). I realize that the author is probably getting kickbacks to endorse particular brands in their cookbook, but if I wanted constant advertisements for brands, I'd buy that brand's cookbook or a magazine. There is a "Recommended Products" list at the back of the book and I like that...just wish all the name-dropping could have been confined to there. On the plus side, there is good website support for the book. The ebook version doesn't include any pictures, but there are pictures of every dish on the website, along with WW point values for those using the WW system. The WW points doesn't matter to me, but any cookbook I buy absolutely has to have pictures. Not having them right there on my ereader with the recipe is kind of a bummer, but there are very few cookbooks that have pictures for every single recipe...so it comes out a win. Also the sheer volume of recipes insures that there is something here for everyone. There are also lots of good tips scattered throughout the book. Overall, I think this looks to be a pretty decent cookbook. I'll probably tweak some of the recipes to suit my own tastes/standards, but most of them look pretty tasty...and the fact that they're lo-cal is a bonus.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    a must def

    i love 200 under 200 i can only imagine what this book is going to bring. i pre-ordered mines and cant wait.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Love Hungry Girl!! Great Book!!

    I have 3 Hungry Girl Books and can't say enough about all of them. You have to get 300 under 300, easy, delicious recipes. Between Weight Watchers and Hungry Girl my boyfriend and I have lost almost 50 pounds together. Hungry Girl's way of cooking really helps you lose weight and you can eat all your favorite foods, just in a more nutritious way.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A MUST HAVE FOR ALL KITCHENS!!!

    OK HG, I got your book here at Chapters in Whitby ONT, Canada and it cost me an arm and a leg! Should have ordered it from B&N, but by golly girl, you are worth it!!!! I can't stop making HG foods!! So many options and things I didn't know to do with with foods!! I love it and am recommending it to all my friends. I even joined a gym today! Wish me luck!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Outrageous!!!!!!!

    I have had it only 2 days. I tried to breakfast recipes and I am hooked. Love it. The family loves it. Can't wait to do dinner from it next. You guys out did yourselves. Thanks. Great. Great.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great recipes!

    I really like this cookbook for the recipes and tips. It has recipes for eveyone's tastes! I do NOT recommend it for the nook though if you plan on cooking straight from your nook. The pages are hard to navigate and one recipe is on more than one page. I don' t know why I didn't just get the paper book in the first place. Dah well. Still it's a great read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I really like this book! Lisa has some great ideas! I have all her books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    As usual the best!

    For anyone who is watching their weight, this book is awesome. It provides a HUGE amount of fantastic recipes that fill you up and taste great. And on top of that..they are easy! A plus, plus, plus in my book. How can you go wrong???!! Buy it...you wont regret it!

    Recipes are also husband approved! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend-- Awesome book -

    I purchased 2 of these books and gave one to a friend. I pointed hers with the new ww points as a bonus for her. Their are many great choices. Very easy to make , especially when you just can't think of what you want !!! I would suggest this to all. Great price as well !!!!I am now a Hungry Girl Too !!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Fabulous, but with formatting errors

    I have 3 HG cookbooks and am a big fan of the how. However, this Nook version as many formatting issues on the Simple Touch. Seems as if "1/3" just never wants to show up in the recipe measurements. I used a library copy of this book to demystify the errors I got on my Nook. I suggest that B & N ensure al of the Nooks can successfully and totally support books across all platforms, before publishing goes live. Despite the publishing gaffes, I loooooove these recipes. I am not a fan of artifical sweetener, nor soy crumbles. But still, I think that I could eat healthy while slightly tweaking these to my preferences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended by a Weight Watcher girl :0)

    This book is great. This is my second cook book by Hungry Girl. So far, the homemade baked beans and cherry cheese danish are my two favorite recipes. My friends (women and men) love the recipes I make from either cook book. I also have her recipe cards and I use HG'S website A LOT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Anonymous on anoymous

    This book is a must have book it inspired me to eat right i love seeing alltge different varieties of foods she creates Mmmmmm yummmmm i hope all of you try this book out its life changing its definitely more than 5 stars its worth 1000 stars thats how amazing the book. I hope all of you give this book a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    GUILTLESS Recipes for Real People!!

    As someone who is very conscientious of what goes into my body, I find 300 Under 300 (as all Hungry Girl Books) a fantastic collection of recipes that makes eating fun! These recipes are simple yet creative.and most importantly DELICIOUS!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    300 Hunger-ific Recipes

    Just got my copy and totally amazing! This is a must have. As a physician, I constantly recommend this and the other HG books and website to my patients. The food is amazing and healthy! Thank you Hungry Girl for giving my patient delicious food without the guilt, fat or calories. This book ROCKS!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    A must have!

    There are so many great recipes in this book. I only gave this 4 stars because I haven't actually tried any of the recipes yet but I can't wait to start using it! I just got the book a few days ago and have already dog-eared every page that has a recipe on it I want to try (which is almost all of them!) I have all of Lisa's books. You simply must have this book if you're trying to cut calories and lose weight but don't like being hungry!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Love Hungry Girl!

    I think I have all but one of the Hungry Girl collection, but still find myself surprised that they can come up with so many pretty quick and easy recipes. While less processed food is better for you, who now-a-days is going to take the time to make whipped cream? This helps those who want tasty meals take items they more than likely already have (or next time they can pick up the lower fat/calorie versions) and make them into the proper portioned sized, lower calorie meals they should be eating. It is a fabulous place to start for someone who is trying to lose a little or manage their weight and still wants to eat the things that everyone else is eating. Thanks Lisa & the Hungry Girl Crew!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I have all the Hungry Girl cookbooks and when mine was FINALLY delivered last week I couldn't wait to start cooking. I have tried 3 of the new recipes in the "300 under 300" cookbook and both my husband & I were very impressed. Not only did the dishes taste wonderful but for the most part all the ingredients were on-hand....nothing special needed to be purchased. Hungry Girl you have outdone yourself with this book! YOU ROCK!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Great goodies galore!

    Once again Lisa & her staff created a great cook book!! Lots of easy, fun, simple, recipes that are totally yummy and anyone can make!! Lisa ROCKS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Super De Duper Fantastic book

    I bought this book at B&N last week, I had to get two guys to help me find a copy b/c they were almost sold out! I just became lifetime memeber at WW and need to find healthy yummy recipes for my family. I love her show on the cooking channel, and went and bought the 1-2-3 book while I waited for this one to publish! Love Love Love her healthy spin on my favorite recipes!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No no no!

    I hate the recipes in this they are gross i do not recommend this for anyone.the only thing good about it is the pictures there super cute

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8