Customer Reviews for

Hungry Girl to the Max!: The Ultimate Guilt-Free Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I am a huge fan of Hungry Girl. I have lost 75 pounds over the

I am a huge fan of Hungry Girl. I have lost 75 pounds over the past year and a half, and she deserves much credit for helping me along my journey. Her recipes taught me that I can eat many foods that I would have otherwise written off because I didn't think they could...
I am a huge fan of Hungry Girl. I have lost 75 pounds over the past year and a half, and she deserves much credit for helping me along my journey. Her recipes taught me that I can eat many foods that I would have otherwise written off because I didn't think they could be made low calorie and still taste wonderful. I highly recommend any Hungry Girl book to anyone who is trying to watch calories and still eat very well! Thank you, Lisa Lillien!

posted by Julie_B1 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Too many artificial sweeteners

Any cookbook that relies on artificial sweeteners is an automatic bad cookbook. That crap is poison.

posted by Bijou1313 on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Hungry Girl. I have lost 75 pounds over the

    I am a huge fan of Hungry Girl. I have lost 75 pounds over the past year and a half, and she deserves much credit for helping me along my journey. Her recipes taught me that I can eat many foods that I would have otherwise written off because I didn't think they could be made low calorie and still taste wonderful. I highly recommend any Hungry Girl book to anyone who is trying to watch calories and still eat very well! Thank you, Lisa Lillien!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Too many artificial sweeteners

    Any cookbook that relies on artificial sweeteners is an automatic bad cookbook. That crap is poison.

    10 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This would be the perfect cookbook IF you do not own any of her

    This would be the perfect cookbook IF you do not own any of her others. most of the recipes in the book are from the 300 under 300 book. i was not aware of that until i started reading through it. I will keep this book for the new recipes but now i wish i could return all the other books i have. alot of wasted paper space in this book because of all the repeat recipes!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Hi

    Awsome book

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I love, love, looooove this book, as well as Lisa Lillien's othe

    I love, love, looooove this book, as well as Lisa Lillien's other cookbooks (I am a faithful watcher of her program, to boot.). "To The Max" has a bazillion of her dishes, which is great to have in one place. I own three HG cookbooks, two of which are on my Nook. I'm not a fan of artifical sweeteners, which is often called for in Lisa's recipes. However, one could easily substitute regular sugar, or omit it all-together. The beauty of these recipes is, they're so healthy! :-) I need to watch my sodium intake, and tweak all recipes however I can. THANKS, Lisa and B&N for having this and the other Hungry Girl books online for Nook readers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Weight Watcher's Dream

    Bought this one for myself, since I love to cook but am well aware of what my waistline ought to be. The recipes I've used to date are great. Well recommended - Love the Crock Pot (slow cooker) recipes in particular.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great book, check it out

    I love all of the Hungry Girl books. Lisa has a great handle on creating recipes that follow Weight Watchers. What a great tool for cooking and doing it on a healthy and low in fat way. Thank you Healthy Girl.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Easy to prepare recipes, lots of variety

    I enjoy the "Hungry Girl" books and have purchased most of the series. This is a very large book with a great variety of recipes in all categories. Almost all of these recipes are very easy to prepare and each of them has an interesting combination of ingredients. Since I live alone, I appreciate the many single serving or two serving recipes. Hungry Girl uses a lot of sugar-free and fat-free products and some artificial sweeteners. I don't have a problem with that, but it is easy enough to substitute sugar or a low fat product as long as you add those extra calories to the total calories listed in the book. This is not a gourmet cookbook, but it's fun to use.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    I wanted to like this book, but I couldn't. I don't like books t

    I wanted to like this book, but I couldn't. I don't like books that leave me feeling hungry. One book that I will recommend is the Hungry Chick Dieting Solution. I just finished the first seven days and I feel ten times better.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    This book is not what I wanted or thought it was going to be. I

    This book is not what I wanted or thought it was going to be. I got this book confused with another book that my friend told me about, "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." My friend has already lost 14 pounds using "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." I am sending this book back and waiting on the book I wanted.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Guessimg

    Guessing by the reveiws this isnt a good book

    2 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Hungry girl to the max.

    Was not worth 14.99 will not let me pull up the recipes that i wanted to recheck ingedience.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Yum!!!!!!

    For eaters, I want you to read this cookbook. If you are on a diet or are a health feak, they include the ingerdints and calories, sugars, and all that, so do not worry. Read this book, test the recipes, taste test them, and your taste buds will thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Awesome

    Make single serve item, per each person. Easy. You will love her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great Cookbook - Healthy Swaps for Junky Foods

    I ordered this book just after I started Weight Watchers. Hungry Girl offers tons of awesome ideas for people who aren't quite ready to give up sweets and cheese and creamy pasta. All of the recipes have the PointsPlus values posted online, so it makes it easy to fit into the program. She has recipes for everything from fried comfort foods to alfredos and swap outs for frappucinos. I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Good Book

    This is another great book for making better food choices in general. I find reading cookbooks some what difficult on the Nook. Even though I have two Hungry Girl books and one Indian cookbook on my Nook. Some may prefer this in book form. Still happy with my purchase though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Love, Love , Love it!

    Amazing cookbook! So many easy delicious recipes! So happy I own it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Arena's end

    Do not post further than this result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Greatest Cookbook Ive Had

    I borrowed this book from a friend and had to turn around and buy it. I have made at least ten of the meals and have loved all of the so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I love this book! Has ingredients that I have in the house, fil

    I love this book! Has ingredients that I have in the house, fills me so I am not hungry all the time, I have started to lose a few pounds already and it has only been a couple of weeks.... I am just happy I like all the suggestions she has and I will be using this cookbook for a long time..... I do recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3