Customer Reviews for

The Hungry Ocean: A Swordboat Captain's Journey

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    EXCELLENT

    finished the whole book in a day, couldnt put it down!!!! .....felt as if i was on the boat!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Fascinating stories.

    Linda's book is well-written, explains every facet of life on a commercial fishing boat and gives the reader an appreciation of the dangers and excitement involved in going to sea for 30 days or more at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Phenominal

    Fantastic! I coulnt put it down. She packs a powerful puch to every sentice. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Very good book

    I remember hearing and learning about the perfect storm. This book is great for a little more background on people who knew the sailors of The Adrea Gail. Over all a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    She writes well about the Hungary Sea

    Linda Greenlaw amazingly enough has turned out a compelling story based on a true longliner run to the Grand Banks or thereabouts. This is not "The Perfect Storm" but Greenlaw knows her fishing and knows people as well. You get a real feel for the tension between Captain, crew and owner. You also get a good feel of the danger of longlining. This book is about a trip, late in the season that faces things most people don't face at their office, many not pleasant at all. Quite different from Perfect Storm as this is about an average long lining trip

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    LOVED IT

    This is my favorite book by my favorite author. I really enjoy her language and way of telling things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Incredible Journey

    I have had some experience in commercial fishing from the other side of the perspective, the production side. It is a keenly written journey into the life of a Glochestman and the hardships of an offshore fisherman. Would highly reccomend it to anyone. BTW I have been on both the Hannah Boden and the Andrea Gail when my father was their broker for stops in Newfoundland in the mid 80's. A recent visit (July 04) to Cape Ann saw me revisit the days of yore and seek out some info on Linda Greenlaw and the NE US commercial fish business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    LET'S GO SWORDFISHING...

    Linda Greenlaw's cutting honesty and personal sense of humor really carry this book. Although it's a well-told sea story about commercial longlining, I most enjoyed Ms. Greenlaw's insights into everything from relationships to the difficulties in finding swordfish. She tells it like it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    AVENTURA EXTRAORDINARIA

    Facinante historia que hace sentir el deseo de ir a correr el curso de hannah boden, y el deseo de conocer a la Capitana Linda, me encanta el mar, y me identifico con el valor de estas personas , es imprecionante.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    The Hungry Ocean

    The Hungry Ocean takes you on a journey to Gloucester, Maine. While there, you hop on board a sword fishing boat. It was an interesating book about the many hardships that can occur during a fishing expedition. The book also centered in on it's captian and author, Linda Greenlaw. There are basically 3 main characters, Linda, her crew, and her boss Bob. Bob is her main motivation to keep going even when times aboard the boat are rough. The book also looks at events in her life before she became a fishing captain. The main conflict is man verses nature because they were trying to out smart the weather and the fish in order to make a profit. The main plot talks about Linda's last fishing expedition. There is no real message in the book, just how whatever you want to do with your life, you should do it. The American Dream is portrayed through this book because Linda and her crew work hard doing something that they love and they get paid for it. If you are at all interested in fishing or just a woman captain's struggle, I highly advise you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    The Big Catch

    The book, 'The Hungry Ocean' by Linda Greenlaw was a great depiction of the life of a Swordboat Captain and her journeys in the Grand Banks. Set in a small town of Gloucester, Massachusetts in August of 1998, the Protagonist Linda Greenlaw and her crew prepare for their long work-filled journey. The excitement builds as the first swordfish is yanked aboard the best-outfitted boats in the East, the Hannah Boden, until the last one is packed into the saltwater ice for the return home. The realities where told through the experience of a swordboat Captain of several years of successful fishing. The Hanah Boden was the sister ship of the Andgrea Gail was had a starring role in the recent thriller, 'The Perfect Storm'. From the excitement of the open sea to the fears of the great mother nature this book kept me reading and wondering what was going to happen next. I recommend this book for anyone looking for adventure and who is interest in the ocean life of commercial fishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2001

    Descriptive but Plain

    The Hungry Ocean was a startling insight into the life of a Swordboat Captain and her crew. Many descriptive details helped to explain the hardships of this physically and mentally draining profession. The only thing that this book lacks is the excitement of a well-put together plot. Linda Greenlaw's adventure in the Atlantic on her last trip as a Swordboat captain was not only boring but also deserves the three stars that I gave it. For all of you future Swordboat Captains, this is the book to read to get your info. The Hannah Boden was the sister ship of the Andrea Gail, which had a starring role in the recent flick, 'The Perfect Storm'. Surely, the grueling task of steaming out into the Atlantic is a mind-blowing story for some people, but it just doesn't spark my interest. This book almost lost me while I was reading, but I decided to keep going for the informative side of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Misinformed

    I found Ms. Greenlaw's book informative reagrding the technical details of longlining and day-to-day life on a sword boat. I agree with several other reviewer's comments that the book lacked 'plot' or 'purpose.' She included little detail about her prey--which would have added quite a bit of interesting background information. What I found most disturbing was her apparent ignorance about the state of North Atlantic swordfish stocks. She stated (paraphrasing) that there was no evidence of swordfish depletion and chastised consumers for boycotting swordfish. Yet every credible scientific study has shown marked depletion of swordfish stocks. Average catch weight (per fish) has dropped something close to 70% in 40 years, and the majority of fish caught now are below spawning weight for females. I hope that readers of this book make the effort to obtain a nore complete picture of the industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    Great book

    I found the Hungry Ocean to be a gripping book. It was a good mix of the day to day (tough) life on a sword boat and other humorous and hard stories of life at sea. This book would appeal to most people, but if you are a lover of the ocean, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    The Hungry Ocean Review

    Reading the 'Hungry Ocean' was a thrill not often found in many books! True life adventure coupled with true life troubles, make this a book well worth the exciting moments reading. Loved the Mug-Ups Linda included in the book. Added a special spice to an already well written book. I am looking forward to the next book that she writes. Also I would add that in the back of the book where she breaks down the cost of the trip added something that most people wonder about. How much did the trip make as profit, crew shares, and the cost of making the trip. If you love true life adventure with lots of information you will love this book! You almost feel like you could captain a fishing boat when you get through with this book. Only lacking the experience, since Linda provides the information. But best to stay a couch captain and leave the dangers to Linda and her crew!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2000

    30 DAYS AT SEA

    IF YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT ITS LIKE AT SEA ON A FISHING BOAT FOR 30 DAYS. YOU WILL KNOW BY THE END OF THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Great Reading

    What a class act Linda Greenlaw is. She tells the story like it is. It was refreshing to read a book by a female about a female who is the best at what she does in what would normally be considered a mans world, yet does not have to exploit or whine about the ways of the world. I knew I was going to love her when she explained she was a fisherman, NOT a fisher person. My wife and my daughters have all read the book with the same enthusiasm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    Staying Power

    In The Hungry Ocean, I experienced descriptive adventure writing that lingered with me long after I finished the book. Truely, one cannot read this book without gaining an incredible amount of understanding and appreciation for the profession of swordfishing, its perils, and glories. If I have a problem with the book, it is with the seemingly overly zealous glorification of the killing of the swordfish. After all, although this is an industry, I think it is possible to combine earning money with a respect for all living things. I didn't experience anyone in the book giving thanks or describing the fish as sacred creatures. Knowing that our fisheries are in danger from being overfished, I WAS somewhat bothered by the cavalier attitude that the fish were overly plentiful and therefore reduced to mere dollars and cents. Putting my values aside was difficult, but one cannot expect others to share one's values. Certainly Linda Greenlaw is a caring and competent captain, worthy of my admiration, since I can't imagine having that much stamina and enjoying it! Her writing is elucidating, exciting, and to-the-point, coupled with just enough adventure and the reality of the repetition of the somewhat dull routines. It is a book that I will remember for a long time, particularly when I eat swordfish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    Still Have Questions After Reading the Perfect Storm?

    If you still had questions about what it was like to be aboard a longliner after reading The Perfect Storm, this book will definitely help! All the little particulars are here, from what a gangion looks like to how many and what size fish constitutes a good haul. The book is well written, oftentimes funny and gives you a definite love for the men and women who work in a profession that most of us fish-eaters take for granted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    The Holy Grail of Literature

    It is refreshing to read Linda Greenlaws book of regular hard working Americans doing an unconventional job because they chose 'A road less traveled'. Ms. Greenlaws insight and writing style definately sets a new high water mark in literature. We really hope to see more of Linda Greenlaw's writing in the not too distant future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2